We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$200
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$661
US$364
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$418
US$380
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$418
US$275
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$170
bedfinder
View Deal
The Oberoi, Mauritius(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$980
US$667
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$333
US$252
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$282/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Le Meridien Ile Maurice(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$308
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$323/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sea View Villas(Balaclava)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,384)
Filter reviews
3,384 results
Traveller rating
1,811
944
348
138
143
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,811
944
348
138
143
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnoble housesenso restaurantharsh manichief conciergejacuzzi roompresidential suiteheated poolindian foodthe resort managerjean pierrefamily roomour honeymoonmain restaurantocean viewspecial thanksguest relationsport louis
Filter
Updating list...
1,882 - 1,887 of 3,384 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We spent 5 nights at the InterContinental Hotel in Mauritius... we were made to feel comfortable by the hotel staff from the moment we stepped into the grand lobby of the hotel...

Checkin process was easy and there were no issues.. we had opted for the Ocean View Jaccuzzi room.. and were literrally blessed to get the room with the best ocean view... Try for room no 1025 if any of you opt for the same room type....

Overall a great experience.. with great food.. excellent bar services on the beach.. variety of restaurants within the hotel premise to pamper your taste buds..

Be careful about the mineral water prices in the hotel.. its a whopping 100 MRU for a 1ltr bottle!!! you can pick up mineral water from stores in the city...

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricky2701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Dear Ricky2701,

Thank you very much for your great feedback on your experience in our Resort.
We are delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay and I have already shared your comments with all our Management team and colleagues.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My stay was great. Food was good and environment was wonderful.
Spent only two nights for a conference and had a good time.
The food was great , but i could not get enough variety to satisfy my African taste buds..
I will definitely come back to this hotel and the beautiful island of Mauritius.

Room Tip: Choose high floors if you can manage the stairs.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Dear Ike A,

Thank you for choosing our Resort to run your conference. We are delighted to read that you were able to balance work and leisure while staying with us even if it was only a short stay.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again for a longer break!

Kind regards,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

My wife, daughter and another related family spent 6 nights at this hotel from 16th to 22nd June for holiday.
Before deciding on this hotel, I had searched tripadvisor for reviews, etc. and I have to say some of them were bang on pertaining to both the negatives and the positives.
Having been fortunate to stay at some of the best resorts across the world, specially the majestic Indian 'Taj' chain-which pretty much treats you like royalty-obviously our hopes were high to have a long stay at a new property in the beautiful and picturesque Mauritius.

The postives first:

Excellent breakfast and dinner buffet. Some of the desserts we tasted, especially at dinner buffets...outstanding! Better to have buffet at Senso than have it at Veda, inspite of being a truly 'Indian' retaurant-the food, service, location etc. mean you are better off at dinner buffet at Senso. You will find excellent Indian stuff at the buffet.
There is considerable ease of finding a table if you arrive early.
Good, comfy rooms; well menicured gardens; huge, airy lobby; well laid out buffets; immaculate tennis court; large quantity of staff are some of the other plusses.

However, there are some glaring negatives the hotel must resolve-and pronto- to be competitive with so much competition not even with other hotels, but also other destinations.

The improvement points:

Some of the the staff pretty much lacks the discipline, grace and urgency which one expects with a five star chain of such repute. I won't go into much detail-suffice it to say they need to be better trained to let go of this lax attitude-specially in restaurants.
Ants, birds, and mosquitoes every where...what's up with that? Once I ordered a cocktail, which came with 3 ants on the coconut container! On refusing to have it, another 'senior' staff member came to me with a request to have it because 'now the ants have been removed and the bill has been punched'!! I did give him a piece of my mind, and though he relented-he shouldn't have insisted to begin with.
Also the pool needs better cleaning due to insects.
Towels and another shower need to be near the pool, an attendant would be nice.
The small stuff- no newspapers in rooms (to be fair we didnt ask for any but expected nevetheless); really stingy with mineral water (2 small bottles per day? Really, couldn't we be a little bit more flexible even after requests?)
Our A.C. didnt work for two full days and nights. After various calls and requests -it was finally resolved from 3rd day onwards.
Even with the knowledge that two families with children were travelling together, they chose to put us in rooms really afar; and after repeated requests for a room change, we just gave up.

To summarise- it is a very good property. Just needs some more guidance to be aggressive with solving the the loose ends and really stand out. With leaders such as the very pleasing Mr. Arnaud Esnaul, who I feel has the sense and humility to run a five star well- they could be a great hotel. Would I come back to this hotel if I went to Mauritius again? Well, probably yes!

And finally a word of appreciation for some of the staff who did stand out-Neel from Guest relations; Manish(I think) the Indian chef who made 'upma', a South Indian delicacy for breakfast when I requested for it; and Meera who made pretty much the best omelletes you could eat and with perfect poise!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adityamittalsae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Dear adityamittalsae,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor.
Your valuable comments have been shared with our Management team so that we can improve our level of service and train our staff in terms of attitude and sense of urgency in order to make your stay Unique, Authentic and Enriching.
We are very proud of our colleagues and I will make sure we share your positive comments with the people you mentioned in your review, i.e. Neel, Manish and Neera.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon in Mauritius.

Best regards,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Spent 9 nights at this hotel on the 2nd part of our honeymoon and were very disappointed.

Food - The food is of a poor standard. The Breakfast buffet, while varied, is left out far too long and as a result is often cold (including the baked beans!). We were on a half board basis so for evening meals had to stick to a limted fixed menu (the alternative being to pay a significant amount to choose from the A la Carte menu). The quality of meals was average and again often served luke warm at best. After 4 evenings we complained and after that saw an improvement for the next 2/3 nights but this didn't last. Also be warmed you get NO drinks included on a half board basis, again we thought this was poor.

Service - There's far too many staff working and as such you never get a personal service and so issues take a while to get resolved. This is evident both at reception and in the restaurants. For example, getting asked 3 times if you'd like tea with your breakfast and then not getting any. Another example was our Honeymoon dinner on the beach. We booked our dinner for our last night but just an hour before we were due to have it were told it had been moved to Monday (when we'd be back in England!). After complaining it got sorted but completely ruined the experience for us.

Hotel Facilities- The rooms are very nice and probably the best bit of the hotel with comfy beds and big TV's. The grounds are also very well kept and the private beach always had sun loungers available, though the beach is artificial and the sea is rocky.

Location - The hotel is in the middle of nowhere and taxi's are very expensive if taken from the hotel so if you like to explore a bit on an evening either rent a car or stay somewhere else.

Overall our experience of this hotel had a negative impact on our view of Mauritius as a whole and didn't give us the Honeymoon experienced we hoped for.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joperks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

Dear joperks,

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your experience in our resort.
I have already shared your valuable comments with our Management team so that they can action in their respective areas.
Our Half board package includes breakfast and dinner. For breakfast you have 2 venues available. The Senso which is our Main restaurant with the buffet option where all items are kept warm in chaffen dishes and the Segala where you have the cold buffet set up and A la carte options for all cooked items (eggs, pancakes...). For dinner you have the choice between our 4 restaurants. The Senso with the themed buffet changing every night or a Set menu in one of our 3 themed restaurants (Segala for The Mauritian Cuisine, Noble House for the Asian Fusion Cuisine and Veda for the contemporary Indian Cuisine). The set Menu is different every night in each venue. The last option is to use your credit of 600 Rs per adult and choose from the Menu. Drinks are only included in our All Inclusive package.
I would like to extend my apologies for the lack of follow up and communication from our team.

As far as location is concerned we are located in a secluded area to offer a relaxing atmosphere to our guests. However we are only 15 minutes away from Port Louis and Grand Baie. The government has assigned taxis to the hotels and set prices have been agreed with the taxi association to guarantee the quality of service provided.

We trust you still brought special memories from your honeymoon back home and hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again in the near future to provide you with a Unique, Authentic and Enriching experience.

Best regards,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Loved the hotel due to five star luxury, private pool area for newly web couples and an amazing scenic beauty due to private beach of the hotel...it was so photogenic!! Just loved the place! Beware some of the hotel staff steals, my husbands Guess watch was stolen from the hotel keep everything under lock and key or use the locker facility! The name of the staff was sunita! over sweet but a thief! Hotel is nice! We booked it through d pauls as a package! The site seeing packages are awful! Go for private transfers if you can spend and avoid seat in coach! Also, places to visit only includes the riverside mall rest are a waste of time! Rather stay in the hotel and enjoy, its a beautiful hotel so why go out! The cruise in the package is disastrous and they ask for a bomb and everyone pays for the experience..but its really shabby!!! Water sports are good..! Overall hotel was great with great views and great comfort!!! Good indian buffet dinner and lunch!!! So u can enjoy food too!!!

Room Tip: God for a personal jacuzzi room!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NB_1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

Dear NB_1213,

Thank you for choosing to stay at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort during your visit to Mauritius.
We are delighted to read that you had a wonderful experience in our Resort.

We have strict recruitment processes and we always ensure our staff had no issues in previous work experiences before hiring them.
I would like to inform you as well that whenever a guest claims that something has been stolen from their room, both our Chief Security and the Police will be investigating the matter. We check all entries in guest rooms and interview each person appearing on the listing. As far as I am aware nothing proved that the watch was stolen from your room by one of our staff members.
We are proud of our staff dedication and professionalism and putting the name of one our staff members on a social media support is not the right thing to do as you are accusing without any proof.

Kind regards,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews