We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Perfect & Fantastic place to spend vacations with family. Natural sceans, underwater activities & other facilities available. Rooms are very good. Higeine level is excellent. For vegetarians nice food is available......
For indians....really good place to visit..Plan to visit in a group of 2~3 families. Perfect enjoyement.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are very good choice. If afford, take suite.....Ultimate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank umesh_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Dear umesh_12

We would like to thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your positive experience with our resort.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed every moment of your stay and hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,978)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,613 - 1,617 of 2,979 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2012

We spent 5 nights at the InterContinental Hotel in Mauritius... we were made to feel comfortable by the hotel staff from the moment we stepped into the grand lobby of the hotel...

Checkin process was easy and there were no issues.. we had opted for the Ocean View Jaccuzzi room.. and were literrally blessed to get the room with the best ocean view... Try for room no 1025 if any of you opt for the same room type....

Overall a great experience.. with great food.. excellent bar services on the beach.. variety of restaurants within the hotel premise to pamper your taste buds..

Be careful about the mineral water prices in the hotel.. its a whopping 100 MRU for a 1ltr bottle!!! you can pick up mineral water from stores in the city...

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricky2701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Dear Ricky2701,

Thank you very much for your great feedback on your experience in our Resort.
We are delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay and I have already shared your comments with all our Management team and colleagues.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My stay was great. Food was good and environment was wonderful.
Spent only two nights for a conference and had a good time.
The food was great , but i could not get enough variety to satisfy my African taste buds..
I will definitely come back to this hotel and the beautiful island of Mauritius.

Room Tip: Choose high floors if you can manage the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Dear Ike A,

Thank you for choosing our Resort to run your conference. We are delighted to read that you were able to balance work and leisure while staying with us even if it was only a short stay.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again for a longer break!

Kind regards,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

My wife, daughter and another related family spent 6 nights at this hotel from 16th to 22nd June for holiday.
Before deciding on this hotel, I had searched tripadvisor for reviews, etc. and I have to say some of them were bang on pertaining to both the negatives and the positives.
Having been fortunate to stay at some of the best resorts across the world, specially the majestic Indian 'Taj' chain-which pretty much treats you like royalty-obviously our hopes were high to have a long stay at a new property in the beautiful and picturesque Mauritius.

The postives first:

Excellent breakfast and dinner buffet. Some of the desserts we tasted, especially at dinner buffets...outstanding! Better to have buffet at Senso than have it at Veda, inspite of being a truly 'Indian' retaurant-the food, service, location etc. mean you are better off at dinner buffet at Senso. You will find excellent Indian stuff at the buffet.
There is considerable ease of finding a table if you arrive early.
Good, comfy rooms; well menicured gardens; huge, airy lobby; well laid out buffets; immaculate tennis court; large quantity of staff are some of the other plusses.

However, there are some glaring negatives the hotel must resolve-and pronto- to be competitive with so much competition not even with other hotels, but also other destinations.

The improvement points:

Some of the the staff pretty much lacks the discipline, grace and urgency which one expects with a five star chain of such repute. I won't go into much detail-suffice it to say they need to be better trained to let go of this lax attitude-specially in restaurants.
Ants, birds, and mosquitoes every where...what's up with that? Once I ordered a cocktail, which came with 3 ants on the coconut container! On refusing to have it, another 'senior' staff member came to me with a request to have it because 'now the ants have been removed and the bill has been punched'!! I did give him a piece of my mind, and though he relented-he shouldn't have insisted to begin with.
Also the pool needs better cleaning due to insects.
Towels and another shower need to be near the pool, an attendant would be nice.
The small stuff- no newspapers in rooms (to be fair we didnt ask for any but expected nevetheless); really stingy with mineral water (2 small bottles per day? Really, couldn't we be a little bit more flexible even after requests?)
Our A.C. didnt work for two full days and nights. After various calls and requests -it was finally resolved from 3rd day onwards.
Even with the knowledge that two families with children were travelling together, they chose to put us in rooms really afar; and after repeated requests for a room change, we just gave up.

To summarise- it is a very good property. Just needs some more guidance to be aggressive with solving the the loose ends and really stand out. With leaders such as the very pleasing Mr. Arnaud Esnaul, who I feel has the sense and humility to run a five star well- they could be a great hotel. Would I come back to this hotel if I went to Mauritius again? Well, probably yes!

And finally a word of appreciation for some of the staff who did stand out-Neel from Guest relations; Manish(I think) the Indian chef who made 'upma', a South Indian delicacy for breakfast when I requested for it; and Meera who made pretty much the best omelletes you could eat and with perfect poise!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adityamittalsae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Dear adityamittalsae,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor.
Your valuable comments have been shared with our Management team so that we can improve our level of service and train our staff in terms of attitude and sense of urgency in order to make your stay Unique, Authentic and Enriching.
We are very proud of our colleagues and I will make sure we share your positive comments with the people you mentioned in your review, i.e. Neel, Manish and Neera.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon in Mauritius.

Best regards,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Spent 9 nights at this hotel on the 2nd part of our honeymoon and were very disappointed.

Food - The food is of a poor standard. The Breakfast buffet, while varied, is left out far too long and as a result is often cold (including the baked beans!). We were on a half board basis so for evening meals had to stick to a limted fixed menu (the alternative being to pay a significant amount to choose from the A la Carte menu). The quality of meals was average and again often served luke warm at best. After 4 evenings we complained and after that saw an improvement for the next 2/3 nights but this didn't last. Also be warmed you get NO drinks included on a half board basis, again we thought this was poor.

Service - There's far too many staff working and as such you never get a personal service and so issues take a while to get resolved. This is evident both at reception and in the restaurants. For example, getting asked 3 times if you'd like tea with your breakfast and then not getting any. Another example was our Honeymoon dinner on the beach. We booked our dinner for our last night but just an hour before we were due to have it were told it had been moved to Monday (when we'd be back in England!). After complaining it got sorted but completely ruined the experience for us.

Hotel Facilities- The rooms are very nice and probably the best bit of the hotel with comfy beds and big TV's. The grounds are also very well kept and the private beach always had sun loungers available, though the beach is artificial and the sea is rocky.

Location - The hotel is in the middle of nowhere and taxi's are very expensive if taken from the hotel so if you like to explore a bit on an evening either rent a car or stay somewhere else.

Overall our experience of this hotel had a negative impact on our view of Mauritius as a whole and didn't give us the Honeymoon experienced we hoped for.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joperks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

Dear joperks,

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your experience in our resort.
I have already shared your valuable comments with our Management team so that they can action in their respective areas.
Our Half board package includes breakfast and dinner. For breakfast you have 2 venues available. The Senso which is our Main restaurant with the buffet option where all items are kept warm in chaffen dishes and the Segala where you have the cold buffet set up and A la carte options for all cooked items (eggs, pancakes...). For dinner you have the choice between our 4 restaurants. The Senso with the themed buffet changing every night or a Set menu in one of our 3 themed restaurants (Segala for The Mauritian Cuisine, Noble House for the Asian Fusion Cuisine and Veda for the contemporary Indian Cuisine). The set Menu is different every night in each venue. The last option is to use your credit of 600 Rs per adult and choose from the Menu. Drinks are only included in our All Inclusive package.
I would like to extend my apologies for the lack of follow up and communication from our team.

As far as location is concerned we are located in a secluded area to offer a relaxing atmosphere to our guests. However we are only 15 minutes away from Port Louis and Grand Baie. The government has assigned taxis to the hotels and set prices have been agreed with the taxi association to guarantee the quality of service provided.

We trust you still brought special memories from your honeymoon back home and hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again in the near future to provide you with a Unique, Authentic and Enriching experience.

Best regards,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
2.8 km away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,162 reviews
27.4 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,587 reviews
1.3 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
1.3 km away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
1.1 km away
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Address: Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range: €252 - €548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most pristine stretches of beach overlooking Balaclava, Mauritius. Offering 210 well-appointed rooms including 10 presidential suites, 40 family-type, 20 Jacuzzi rooms and 140 Deluxe rooms. Facilities include: 3 bars, 5 restaurants, 2 swimming pools ( all heated in winter ), 8 massage rooms, a unique private island, Planet Trekkers kids club, recreational activities, tennis court, 4 meeting rooms & 1 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TravelUp, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort Hotel Balaclava
Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius
Intercontinental Hotel Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing