We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice looking resort, slow service and in the middle of nowhere!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Balaclava
London, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Nice looking resort, slow service and in the middle of nowhere!”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Stayed here as part of our honeymoon. When we arrived we were asked to sit and wait at the foyer, they brought us refreshing towels and a welcome drink- nice thought, except 25 mins later it seemed like we were forgotten and were still waiting for someone to check us in! Once we got our 'seaview room' we realised we couldn't see the sea! The rooms on the ground and first floor you can only see palm trees and hear the waves! So we asked asked for a room on a higher floor... and we waited and waited for them to sort this out (think this took about 3-4 hours). Not the best start to our holiday.

The beach is full of large rocks and you can't really walk bare feet or swim. Was told beach is 'man-made'. Unfortunately, on the glossy brochures i was expecting soft sandy white beaches.

The food at the resort (if not on half or full board) was extortionate. As the resort is so remote you had no choice but to drink and eat at their restaurants. The variety at was fair but the taste was very average (specifically at the buffet restaurant). This resort appears to have lots of guests from the Indian continent and the variety of food seem to be reflect this. The waiting staff at the buffet restaurant seem to stand around a lot chatting with may be one or two staff member that was efficient and hard at work. What was very annoying was every morning at breakfast we had to pre-book which restaurant we wanted to eat that evening, it felt rather restrictive.

The staff at the pool bar had the worse table service ever, on our last afternoon it took them about 1.5 hours for our lunch to arrive and they just couldn't get our drink orders correct, favouring guests ordering drinks at the bar, we complained to the manager about the poor service but also because of their delay we almost missed our transfer to the airport. He apologised and said they were busy - that was it. The guests on the next table were so annoyed that they left mid-way during their lunch.

Go to the Asian fusion restaurant, the seafood restaurant and the curry house - better service and food!

My only positive point about this hotel is that it is beautifully presented. The bedrooms were beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean... and cleaning staff worked hard to keep it that way. But it felt like they had built this amazing-looking resort on some wasteland in a very remote area...

Room Tip: Chose a room on the first or second floor if you want views of the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller_HW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnaud E, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Thank you for having chosen the InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort for your visit to Mauritius.

Your comments have been brought to my attention and I wish to sincerely thank you for your constructive feedback. Guest expectations and needs continuously evolve and you sharing your experience with us is the most precious tool allowing us to always adapt and progress.

I deeply regret to learn about your unsatisfactory experience with us. I would like to present my apologies should you have felt that our staff had an uncaring attitude. All the elements you mentioned have been raised with our teams to ensure that immediate measures are taken in order to correct and avoid such issues in the future.

We still hope that you kept fond memories of your visit to Mauritius and wish to have the opportunity to welcome you again for your wedding Anniversary.

Yours sincerely,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,266
    779
    292
    108
    125
See reviews for
711
1,357
42
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We were in this hotel in October, 2011. for 10 days. After reading almost all the reviews of the same quality hotels of Mauritius in Tripadvisor, finally we chose Intercontinental and it was a very good decision. We just loved the hotel and did not want to move out of it :)
It has a very nice long beach, which is really clean and well maintained. It was a very important preference for us as we travelled together with our 2 years old son. There were no hard wind, but at this time of the year waves were quite high.
The cuisine is just fantastic (we had AI), and also the stuff: Dora, the restaurant manager is just the best at all !!!! Thanks for all the nice diners and all of your kindness with our little son !! And also the waiters and the ladys in the main restaurant and also in the Segala rest.
We had a normal room in the groundfloor, just 20m away from the beach, which made us very easy and comfortable to take our little son sleep during the day. While he was sleeping in the room we were in the beach with a baby monitor.
There were some weddings there during our stay but it was not disturbing at all. After 10 p.m. they went into the main building so we did not hear any voice of the party.
Free wifi at the lobby was also good.
We tried the free glass bottom boat trip. Nothing special, kids enjoyed it.
The only negative impression is that the walls are probably too thin, so sometimes it is a bit noisy.
We really enjoyed every minutes of our vacation, but frankly if you want to have some more entertainment, this is not your place. It is rather a quiet family hotel, with a professional stuff and service.

Tip: if you want to have an airport transfer, or want to make some excursions in the island we suggest the local company, called MauriClick at www.mauriclick.com. We were really satisfied with their service. They are reliable, professionals and have much better prices than the agencies at the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rajmonek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnaud E, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Thank you for having chosen the InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort for your visit to Mauritius.

I wish to sincerely thank you for your constructive feedback. Guest expectations and needs continuously evolve and you sharing your experience with us is the most precious tool allowing us to always adapt and progress.

I have shared your positive comments with Dora, our Restaurant Manager. We are very proud of our team.

We are delighted that you kept fond memories of your visit to Mauritius and wish to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Yours sincerely,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bombay
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Had our vacation here in the 3rd week of March,( 2nd one in Mauritius , a rarity) .to start with the location of the resort it is very much near to most happening places and right next to a private beach which is very clean and well maintained and free from all obstacles in the form of street vendors etc.

The entire package was booked with the help of Antilog Vacations , a Mauritius destination expert in India.They are definitely low cost & give excellent service for couples.In the end , it was a smart decision as other travel agents failed to do so while we had an interaction with fellow travellers at Intercontinental

Coming to the resort it is spread out across two storied building with leaf-like architectural ornament around it which is really impressive architectural work. One more impressive thing we observed while checking in is if there’s any delay in handling our suite to us they are arranging us some complimentary dinning arrangements on their beach bay, which is really impressive and would definitely take out our stress due to journey and for sure one would never mind the delay in checking in.

Folks at staff are very nice and friendly and always happy to serve, even they do give us knowledge on how to visit some places and advice us about hiring a two wheeler too, which is definitely a good option to explore the island with ease saving lot of our time, talking about the suites we booked, we booked 2 room family suite, they were large and spacious and laid across 2 levels, the furniture inside is well furnished and all the bedding arrangements and other interior arrangements are awesome, bath rooms are very spacious and had good arrangements for each and every activity such as individual showers, bath tubs etc… simply saying its like royal treatment, and the best part of the suite is its private terrace with a beach view which will definitely mesmerizes any one with its amazing views and will make one definitely forget about time.

The food we took ws included in our packages (half board), and we visited Indian, Thai, sea food and buffet restaurants, except for the buffet restaurant, food in all other restaurants is really very yummy and even the service is pretty fast. And as per our observation of the menu the prices are really expensive so we realized it’s good that we opted for all inclusive packages, their water sport activities are really refreshing and they do train in a professional manner which is really impressive.

Room Tip: Always look out for a room with beach view as the sunset scenery is worth a life time memory, and do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Armaan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnaud E, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Thank you for having chosen the InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort for your visit to Mauritius.

I wish to sincerely thank you for your constructive feedback. Guest expectations and needs continuously evolve and you sharing your experience with us is the most precious tool allowing us to always adapt and progress.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed this very special moment with us. We are very proud of our team and we have shared your comments with them.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again for your wedding Anniversaries !

Yours sincerely,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Mix review about this hotel, room service and concierge were fantastic, but service desk did not have a clue what is expected when a platinum member land on their door step (from the time I check in to the time I check out). No room upgrade given and late check out were not only not offered but was blankly refuse.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EPACY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnaud E, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Thank you for having chosen the InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort for your visit to Mauritius.

I wish to sincerely thank you for your constructive feedback. Guest expectations and needs continuously evolve and you sharing your experience with us is the most precious tool allowing us to always adapt and progress.

I deeply regret to learn about your unsatisfactory experience with us. All the elements you mentioned have been raised with our teams to ensure that immediate measures are taken in order to correct and avoid such issues in the future.

I would like to assure you that we have Preventive Maintenance Management system in place. Unfortunately being in a tropical environment makes it a little more challenging to keep all areas of the resort in optimal condition at all times.
We thank you for your loyalty to our Brands. As a valued Priority Club Platinum member, upgrade is extended upon availability and late check out is granted until 2 pm. As the hotel was running full occupancy, it was unfortunately not possible to extend those benefits during your stay.
Being a Resort, our Policy is to leave the Mini bar empty so that you can stock it with your own items. However there is a Mini bar Menu and our Room service staff would have been pleased to stock it to your liking.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our Veda restaurant. I also take this opportunity that further to your comments, we have changed the concept of the Segala restaurant, which is now serving Mauritian dishes for dinner.

I am glad to read that Raja, our Guest Relation, extended a warm welcome to you. I have shared your comments with him.

I kindly ask you to accept my most sincere apologies for the inconvenience this may have caused.

We still hope that you kept fond memories of your visit to Mauritius and wish to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Yours sincerely,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My wife and I arrived on the 22nd March 2012 after a 6 1/2 hr flight from Dubai arriving at the Hotel around 11-50am, tired after no sleep. We were greated by the Concierge called Raja a very pleasant man who sat us down and looked after all checking in formalities. At this point I must state I am a regular user of the Hotel chain and currently enjoy Platinum status through there reward scheme, which guarantees me upgrades and late check out options. The room was not ready so we relaxed on the beach for 2 hrs then showed to our room which was a standard room - no upgrade so I immediately complained to Raja who spoke to his duty Manger who confirmed no upgrades were available to me- not happy! The room had blood on the seat cover, some of the chair covers were torn, chipped wood work and worst of all nothing absolutely nothing in the Mini Bar?? What kind of 5 star hotel has mini bars with nothing inside? we could only deduce people could not be trusted.
Regarding the Hotels restaurants we visited Veda twice which is the Indian restaurant, excellent service along with superb food, well worth a visit but around £90 per couple - not cheap. Dont bother with the seafood and steak restaurant as its tucked away, offering expensively priced mediocre, bland food.
As we had a late night flight back to Dubai I requested a late check out and remember this should be free as part of the reward scheme I was amazed when I was informed the charge would be for a 5 hour extension of £100 this just about apitimises this hotel. Aparently opened in 2009 which when you see the poor condition of the paint work, chipped work work peeling pint in the corridors all I can state is the Inspector must have been blind!!

The best thing about this hotel was when the taxi arrived to take us away from Hi de Hi or Faulty Towers what ever you want to call this Hotel, please do not waste your money here its not worth it. Customer service is nil!!

Room Tip: Stay away go to other hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SOMBYSTEFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
SOMBYSTEFF,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service and accommodations that were less than expected. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
2.8 km away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,890 reviews
27.4 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 17 in Flic En Flac
2,277 reviews
1.1 km away
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#4 of 5 in Balaclava
1,063 reviews
1.3 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,396 reviews
1.3 km away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Property: InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Address: Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most pristine stretches of beach overlooking Balaclava, Mauritius. Offering 210 well-appointed rooms including 10 presidential suites, 40 family-type, 20 Jacuzzi rooms, 20 Executive rooms with free WiFi and 120 standard rooms. Facilities include: 3 bars, 5 restaurants, 2 swimming pools including one heated pool, 8 massage rooms, a unique private island, Planet Trekkers kids club, recreational activities, tennis court, 4 meeting rooms & 1 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Expedia, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort Hotel Balaclava
Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius
Intercontinental Hotel Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing