We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$296
US$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$389
US$318
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sea View Villas(Balaclava)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
bedfinder
View Deal
US$657
US$510
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oberoi, Mauritius(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$980
US$650
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$348
US$266
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$301/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Le Meridien Ile Maurice(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$313
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$310/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (3,377)
Filter reviews
3,377 results
Traveller rating
1,809
940
348
137
143
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,809
940
348
137
143
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnoble housesenso restaurantharsh manichief conciergejacuzzi roompresidential suiteheated poolindian foodthe resort managerjean pierrefamily roomour honeymoonmain restaurantocean viewspecial thanksguest relationsport louis
Filter
Updating list...
1,924 - 1,929 of 3,377 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed at the IC for 11 nights in October 2011. As a family we generally enjoy a 5 star hotel and this was no different. Check in was fine, although we did have a 3 hour flight delay - obviously to no fault of the hotel - and we would never fly with Air Mauritius again! for an 11 hour flight it is really worth the extra of booking with either BA or Emirates who both seem to have a higher standard of seating and comfort. Anyway, we booked a 2 room family suite. First impressions were nice, rooms were large and spacious and was nice to have a separate room for 2 daughters. Comfy beds, clean, good AC and a large family bathroom - with bath and separate shower which was nice, and a fairly large balcony with sea view. We had the all inclusive package, which from other reviews and looking at the menu prices was a wise move as the costs for drinks and lunches were quite expensive. The restaurant choice was very good, you could choose from an Indian, Thai or a seafood or the buffet restaurant. We didn't go in the buffet restaurant for dinner as we prefer to sit down and be waited on. We were very impressed at the quality and service we received at all 3 of the restaurants and the food was excellent. I would definitely make sure that you choose to eat at one of these restaurants rather than the buffet, and make sure you book them in the morning at breakfast. Breakfast in the buffet restaurant was average, the variety and choice could be improved upon, especially seeing as this is meant to be a 5 star resort. However the food was cooked to a high standard and again the staff in the restaurant were attentive and friendly. Overall the hotel grounds were looked after well, the beach was good there were always deck chairs available and the water sports are a must! Warren and his team were very friendly and good teachers!! We went on the snorkelling trips that they provided, they were good - however we booked the trips outside the hotel which were much better for snorkelling and made a nice day out. We hired a taxi for a few days and were able to explore the island a bit more, it was nice to be able to see more of the towns and we also went to pout louis, although it was quite pricey.
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday, Mauritius is a completely stunning island and is a nice get away from the package holiday types. We would definitely go back, and would stay at the IC again - although there are so many other nice hotels that it would be nice to try it would be a hard choice!
And a special thank you to all the staff at the hotel, who were exceptionally brilliant and made our stay just that bit better!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thailandlover22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear thailandlover22,

Thank you for such a wonderful feedback!
We are pleased to see that you enjoyed all aspects of your vacation with us and have taken good memories with you.
It would be our greatest pleasure to welcome you back to InterContinental Mauritius Resort. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly; we would be delighted to assist you in planning your next vacation with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Travelled during Chinese New Year, the hotels are usually busy and full during that period, but we expect the service and quality to be constant whatever ....

Room Tip: If you go in winter, you have a heated pool. So if you wish to be near that pool request a room on the far left side.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l3w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear l3w,

Thank you for your feedback on our property, which will be shared with our team.
We are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations and we shall do all that is required to ensure that these comments do not reoccur.
We would be pleased to have the opportunity to welcome you back at InterContinental Mauritius Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We stayed at IC hotel for 3 nights last September. All was pleasant and the staff was very friendly. We even rented a scooter and went to the nearest town for some sightseeing (I do recommend the scooter in order to sight see on one hand and it is much cheaper than the on the other hand).
I loved how the room is decorated!! And the Bathroom is huge!

One more thing to be objective: we found a cockroach in our room, so we had to change rooms.

All in all, if I go to Mauritius again and IC was an option I would not mind.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReemDoughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear ReemJ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on InterContinental Mauritius Resort.

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused by the insect but are pleased to note that all other aspects of your vacation went well and you had a great time here!
It would be our greatest pleasure to welcome you back to InterContinental Mauritius Resort. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly; we would be delighted to assist you in planning your next vacation with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed here for a week as part of our Honeymoon. It was not peak tourist season.
Stayed in a Suite room which had its own private Jacuzzi area.

The rooms were of good size and laid out across 2 levels. Excellent sleeping area with comfy bed, good bedside lights, plenty of plugs etc. Beatiful views across the bay.

The resort was spread out across 2 story buildings with plenty of foliage sorrounding the buildings. There were excellent pool areas and some water features. This made it all the better for relaxation.

The resort is in peaceful sorroundings right next to an excellent stretch of private beach.
The beach was clean, devoid of touts and a haven for relaxation.


Service was generally consistent (with the IC brand) but this depended on who was manning the front desk.

Breakfast buffet was excellent. Good variety of food and of good quality.

The only irritation was the daily invasion of birds into the eating area in the morning. On the first day this was exotic for us, but by the 3rd day it became an irritation.This was all the more so as the birds helped themselves to food on the buffet tables (we didnt touch anything that was not kept closed) as well as on the eating tables. This meant 1 of us had to stay "guarding" the table whilst the other refilled/served. The birds regularly pooped on the tables/chairs which was not plesant.

Lunch and dinner at the hotel restaurants was a major dissapointment in terms of choice, quality, taste and speed of service. This is something the hotel management must address. Furthermore, it all came at a "price". They even charged for warm water which was quite cheeky! The restaurant staff made a big deal of insisting that prior reservations were required, eventhough the restaurants were empty.

A good resort experience, let down by the poor quality of dining options.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adi-Bandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Adi-Bandi,

Thank you for feedback.

We have taken good note of your observations and suggestions regarding the food and our restaurants and will share same with our teams. Your feedback definitely helps us in challenging ourselves and finding a better way to do things, to ensure that our guests can enjoy an effortless stay.
We would be delighted to welcome you back to InterContinental Mauritius Resort for your next vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed at the IC for 9 nights and whilst there are some positives there are numerous negative fundamental issues that need addressing to make this a 5 star establishment.
Positives-
Excellent staff at the pool bar who were always attentive and helpful, reasonable lunch/snack menu that is sufficiently varied. House wine very drinkable.
Noble House restaurant, Segala restaurant and Veda restaurant- excellent food and staff very attentive with attention to detail. Noble House- I would suggest is the best option and embraces a fine dining experience more than the other 2 restaurants; this is partly due to the time taken to serve and you do not feel rushed. Whilst the food at Veda is good, you are served the starter and main on the same plate (almost like a taster menu) and this seems to complete the meal rather quickly. These eateries must be booked in advance as the other option is the buffet which we personally don’t enjoy.
Rooms- are nicely furnished and a decent size.
Negatives.
The taxi service provided is VERY expensive and is a total rip off- you will be told that the taxi is yours for 4 hours, but the driver will want to know what time you want picking up- this is difficult to estimate especially when you do not know an area. Be aware that there is a potential scam whereby you get dropped off at a restaurant and it is clear that there is some deal between the driver and restaurant owner re the supply of customers. In our case this venue was far removed from the main area of Grand Bay but fortunately we did not stay at the first place and requested to be taken to the main area. We did complain on our return and the staff were supposed to get back to us but this never happened.
The reception staff are generally disinterested and do not portray a 5 star image as I would expect, this is evidenced by the above complaint as we were not informed of any outcome.
Be careful when booking your evening meals as on 2 occasions our bookings were incorrect. 1 night we were booked into 2 restaurants and 1 night we had no booking at all. There seems to be a lack of coordination with this system as they rely on hand written bookings which I find strange in this the 21st century. You will be informed that the restaurant reservation desk will be manned until 8pm, but this is not so.
There is little attention to detail in the rooms- frequently we had towels/ bed linen that were grey and marked as opposed to white and clean. Towels were of a quality I would use on the dog. I did expect fluffy white towels and white bed linen in what is supposed to be a 5 star resort. Sometimes we got 2 bath sheets sometimes only 1. There were a couple of occasions we had no hot water and whilst there was a quick response to our issue it wasn’t always resolved to a satisfactory standard.
All inclusive package seems a little unfair-on arrival the package does not start until your first evening meal and drinks commence at 2pm. On checkout drinks finish at 12md and you can have your lunch until 2pm then all beverages/food have to be paid for. Our previous experience of AI is that food/beverages are free for the entire stay until you leave the resort.
Whilst there are a lot of negatives here it did not spoil our holiday and the issues identified were communicated to resort staff.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tomboy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear tomboy11,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

Your observations and comments will be shared with our various departments, and as our aim is continuous improvement and service excellence, you can rest assured that we shall do all we can to look into the issues raised by you and ensure that they are not repeated.
We would be delighted to welcome you back to InterContinental Mauritius Resort for your next vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews