We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,443)
Filter reviews
3,443 results
Traveller rating
1,852
958
351
138
144
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,852
958
351
138
144
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnoble housesenso restaurantharsh manichief conciergejacuzzi roompresidential suiteindian foodheated poolthe resort managerjean pierrefamily roommain restaurantour honeymoonocean viewspecial thanksguest relationsport louis
Filter
Updating list...
1,984 - 1,989 of 3,443 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The hotel does not deliver on the expected Interncontinental standard..service is not great. Food is OK but not what you would expect from this type of hotel.
Housekeeping always forgot to replace some towels,they have not done a thorough cleaning job.
It was also noisy at nigh due to party noise in the restaurant.
I have been in several IC around the world (Manila, Delhi, Germany) but this is the worst.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThorstenHoltfurth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear ThornstenHoltfurth,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments on your stay.
We have taken good note of your comments on the service and you can rest assured that we shall do all that is needed to improve things.
Your feedback definitely helps us in challenging ourselves and finding better ways to do things, to ensure that our guests can enjoy an effortless stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back at InterContinental Mauritius Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

From the beginning nothing seemed 5 star in the hotel. They were unfriendly, uninterested and uncaring. to serve water took more than 10 minutes. The food well over and hour. The quality of food was probably on par with a food shelter. Even street food was better than what they served. Health and hygiene was completely lacking. Torn and dirty bath towels. Mosquitoes and other pests in the rooms. Overall a bad hotel

Room Tip: not sure if they have any good rooms as friends of our changed rooms but it was the same.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Niraj73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Niraj73,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us.

We are genuinely sorry that the service did not live up to your expectations and have taken good note of your comments on the service. You can rest assured that we shall do all that is needed to improve things.
We look forward to welcoming you back at InterContinental Mauritius Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

i stayed at this resort for my honeymoon.and just loved the place..so helpful staff.but only thing made me disappointed was VEDA restaurant.vary slow service.and also they give u limited food to eat.disgusting.....

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sachin_patel_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear sachin_patel_n,

Thank you for your constructive feedback, which we have shared with our various departments.

We are sorry about your disappointment with Veda restaurant and we have also noted your positive feedback on the hotel and the helpful staff.
Your feedback definitely helps us in challenging ourselves and finding better ways to do things, to ensure that our guests can enjoy an effortless stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back at InterContinental Mauritius Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I stayed at this hotel for my Honeymoon. Was my first trip abroad and i just loved the property. it has its own beach. Stayed in a beach view room and hence had an unrestricted view of the beach. The property is a very nice place to stay for honeymooners. The staff is also very polite and helpful.The place Balaclava Fort though is a little cut off from the city, but thats ok, once you get into the hotel there is lots to do.Thw water sports is good!

Room Tip: beach view room
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rajarshi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear RajarshiC,

Thank you for your pleasant review.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us and we look forward to welcoming you back at InterContinental Mauritius Resort for your future holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We had a great holiday staff so helpful. the people help to make it a wounderful one Oliver, Ved.Lobeen, Patrick ,Vinesh in the Segala restaurant.Also the pool Sugar Cane bar was Ballah,Ravi Kumar Poomiah.Would like to return very soon Food good.Pool bed and towels Keep clean you could alway get a sunbed by the pool or on the beach.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays
Thank jeannett_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews