We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gobsmacking ocean view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Spent the day there with my husband and 2 young kids.

Stunning infinity pool, beautiful beach and awesome 180 degree ocean view...

Lunch (a la carte) was delicious and service was very good - friendly and helpful staff.

Added to my regular go-to list for a family day out on the island.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rs08082014t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear SG_13479,

Thank you for such a superb review!

We are delighted to note that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,975)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,676 - 1,680 of 2,975 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

The hotel does not deliver on the expected Interncontinental standard..service is not great. Food is OK but not what you would expect from this type of hotel.
Housekeeping always forgot to replace some towels,they have not done a thorough cleaning job.
It was also noisy at nigh due to party noise in the restaurant.
I have been in several IC around the world (Manila, Delhi, Germany) but this is the worst.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThorstenHoltfurth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear ThornstenHoltfurth,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments on your stay.
We have taken good note of your comments on the service and you can rest assured that we shall do all that is needed to improve things.
Your feedback definitely helps us in challenging ourselves and finding better ways to do things, to ensure that our guests can enjoy an effortless stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back at InterContinental Mauritius Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

From the beginning nothing seemed 5 star in the hotel. They were unfriendly, uninterested and uncaring. to serve water took more than 10 minutes. The food well over and hour. The quality of food was probably on par with a food shelter. Even street food was better than what they served. Health and hygiene was completely lacking. Torn and dirty bath towels. Mosquitoes and other pests in the rooms. Overall a bad hotel

Room Tip: not sure if they have any good rooms as friends of our changed rooms but it was the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Niraj73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Niraj73,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us.

We are genuinely sorry that the service did not live up to your expectations and have taken good note of your comments on the service. You can rest assured that we shall do all that is needed to improve things.
We look forward to welcoming you back at InterContinental Mauritius Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

i stayed at this resort for my honeymoon.and just loved the place..so helpful staff.but only thing made me disappointed was VEDA restaurant.vary slow service.and also they give u limited food to eat.disgusting.....

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sachin_patel_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear sachin_patel_n,

Thank you for your constructive feedback, which we have shared with our various departments.

We are sorry about your disappointment with Veda restaurant and we have also noted your positive feedback on the hotel and the helpful staff.
Your feedback definitely helps us in challenging ourselves and finding better ways to do things, to ensure that our guests can enjoy an effortless stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back at InterContinental Mauritius Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I stayed at this hotel for my Honeymoon. Was my first trip abroad and i just loved the property. it has its own beach. Stayed in a beach view room and hence had an unrestricted view of the beach. The property is a very nice place to stay for honeymooners. The staff is also very polite and helpful.The place Balaclava Fort though is a little cut off from the city, but thats ok, once you get into the hotel there is lots to do.Thw water sports is good!

Room Tip: beach view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rajarshi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear RajarshiC,

Thank you for your pleasant review.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us and we look forward to welcoming you back at InterContinental Mauritius Resort for your future holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
2.8 km away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,159 reviews
27.4 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,586 reviews
1.3 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
1.3 km away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
1.1 km away
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Address: Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range: €252 - €529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most pristine stretches of beach overlooking Balaclava, Mauritius. Offering 210 well-appointed rooms including 10 presidential suites, 40 family-type, 20 Jacuzzi rooms and 140 Deluxe rooms. Facilities include: 3 bars, 5 restaurants, 2 swimming pools ( all heated in winter ), 8 massage rooms, a unique private island, Planet Trekkers kids club, recreational activities, tennis court, 4 meeting rooms & 1 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort Hotel Balaclava
Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius
Intercontinental Hotel Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing