We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for price and location ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited the hotel for 3 nights in Oct

So my comments:

1: location , Mauritius is small so doesn't matter where u are , it is 40-50 mins from anywhere to anywhere in Mauritis

So it is ok as a location

2: beach wise it is so so , not that great if u are looking at being at the beach , I moved over to Shangri-La for 4 nights and much nicer beach

3: concierge : could be improved and I asked for information ahead of time and the information was not given as well as I wanted , the information could have been prepared , like going to the movie theater and finding out it was french only and not in English could be improved . Some of the tours like the north island tour was terrible and not worth it , they could have recommended better

4: breakfast: was ok but could have been better . Compared too Shangri-La no comparison in selection

5: rooms : were ok , they upgraded me to a suite which was nice , conditions were quite nice and room was comfortable

6: executive lounge : no English newspaper or magazines and the happy hour food was terrible selection , needs to be upgraded in terms of environment and selection of food and drinks

7: other facilities were nice , gym and spa were great

Overall would recommend this hotel

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank themanthemyth1688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 1,145 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wow what a place..the Westin Turtle Bay did not disappoint.

We stayed here for 8 days and after a long journey to get here we checked in to the hotel with no problems what so ever.

Room: stunning, ground floor right opposite the spa, massive Queen size bed, so comfortable, his and her sinks, iPad docking station, TV, double bath, patio area, inside and outside shower and a view over the pool of the hotel which was gorgeous to wake up too.

Pools: were beautiful, both were a depth that was walkable but enough of the pool so people could not suffocate you when swimming and infinity pool which is adults only, a lot quieter but still very enjoyable. The pool areas always had sun beds available and pool bar/food service was very good. Sunny at the pool always knew you what wanted and was very attentive and provided towels each day and drinks.

Beach and Water-sports: Good, a number of sun beds on the beach and the water sports that were included were good. The glass bottom boat was nice as went out quite far, saw a number of coloured fish about hour round trip and free. My husband did water skiing which was free as well but had a few trips out on the boat and they were helpful to help teach him how to do it.

Food and Drinks: Breakfast was amazing you could have anything you wanted to eat, pancakes, waffles, bread, croissants, cooked breakfast, cereal, fruit, yoghurts, eggs (made anyway), curry, cheeses, smoothies. The choice was incredible and the staff were very helpful and attentive during our stay just mind the little birds as with any hot destination the little birds wanted to sample some breakfast too so kept invading the tables trying to get food.

Evening: there are a number of restaurants including a buffet and being HB basis you generally need to reserve the tables and may need to pay a little more but not normally a problem in doing so, the buffet had a good choice of food but they have Mystique, Fusion, Kangan, Beach Bar and Grill. Kangan has one of the best curries we’ve ever eaten proper Indian curries like you get in India and one of the best waitresses Renoo who was so helpful and friendly, saw Renoo a couple of times during our stay and she remembered us and what we wanted to drink and made it so personal for us. Such a lovely lady.
Fusion, was again a great restaurant the steak was incredible.
Overall there was always something on the menu that we could eat and the food did not disappoint, it tasted amazing.

Bar..The Retreat: spent a lot of time here during our holiday and the atmosphere was great they had different entertainment on each night which was really good. The Mauritian dancers were good to see and they entertained everyone..again this entertainment was included. Nadeem and Girish made the nights enjoyable as again they remembered us from the night before and always accommodated our requests.

The only down side was the cost of the drinks, now we except to pay hotel cost for drinks but when it came to ordering and G and T to be charged 10 for Gin is one thing but then to be charged another 4 for a splash of tonic was something else as this was the cost of a whole tonic bottle and every night they was a different pricing strategy it was a bit unfair.

The hotel was exceptional and the staff were amazing, each and everyone is an asset to the hotel. We would like to say thank you for making our holiday so amazing, would recommend Westin Turtle Bay to anyone x will be coming back x





Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Beckiebubbles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Been here yest for one night stay over...as u step it u get the heavenly vibe...smiling welcome by emilien the concierge boy...ever smiling at throughout ur stay!!!staff very polite n helpfull.. wonderfull help from chef harrah at season tastes resto great food for vegetarian and gluten free preference.... feels sad to leave this paradise..good job team...

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic spot for a honeymoon. The all Inclusive package is a must though. The place is top class with plenty of variety. Rooms clean and well equipped with all anyone would need. Highly recommended for honeymooners

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Would highly recommend this hotel. The staff were incredibly hospitable and always looking to go the extra mile to ensure we were having a fantastic experience. We took out an all inclusive package and did not regret it. This included water sports such as water skiing and a host of other options. I am sure that this hotel is the best value for money on the whole island. The only reason I didn’t give it a 5 star review was the swimming pool was not heated (or at least not enough for me to feel quickly at ease).

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
0.9 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,547 reviews
0.5 km away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
28 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,155 reviews
0.8 km away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
7.6 km away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius

Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius (Formerly The Grand Mauritian Resort & Spa)
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#3 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range: €270 - €748 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embraced by the gently swaying sugar cane fields and the warm turquoise water of the Indian Ocean, The Westin Mauritius Turtle Bay Resort & Spa invites you to experience the magic of Mauritian hospitality in a truly luxurious setting. The resort boasts 190 guest rooms and suites, all of them offering stunning views over the ocean, a kids club, luxury Mandara spa and a fine selection of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda, TravelUp and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Mauritian Resort And Spa
The Grand Mauritian Hotel Balaclava
The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing