We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of heaven which will leave u wordless”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Been here yest for one night stay over...as u step it u get the heavenly vibe...smiling welcome by emilien the concierge boy...ever smiling at throughout ur stay!!!staff very polite n helpfull.. wonderfull help from chef harrah at season tastes resto great food for vegetarian and gluten free preference.... feels sad to leave this paradise..good job team...

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 1,148 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic spot for a honeymoon. The all Inclusive package is a must though. The place is top class with plenty of variety. Rooms clean and well equipped with all anyone would need. Highly recommended for honeymooners

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Would highly recommend this hotel. The staff were incredibly hospitable and always looking to go the extra mile to ensure we were having a fantastic experience. We took out an all inclusive package and did not regret it. This included water sports such as water skiing and a host of other options. I am sure that this hotel is the best value for money on the whole island. The only reason I didn’t give it a 5 star review was the swimming pool was not heated (or at least not enough for me to feel quickly at ease).

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I have just returned from a wonderful 1 week stay at the Westin Turtle Bay, it lived up to our every expectation and more...please don’t take too much notice of recent more unfavourable comments! The hotel garden and grounds are beautiful and immaculately maintained, and from the moment we arrived to our departure we have nothing but praise for the wonderful staff, service and facilities. Throughout the week we were always greeted with a smile and hello from all staff, whether it be receptionists, housekeeping or gardeners. The main swimming pool close to our room was brilliant, with plenty of loungers, for a large hotel which was nearly fully booked we were surprised how quiet everywhere always seemed to be, total relaxation ensued, with a guarantee of sun loungers any time of day, no early morning towel placement needed!
We had booked a Junior Suite on half board basis, which gave us access to the Executive Lounge which was a real bonus. We could enjoy a lovely breakfast there every morning (including hot dishes) which we preferred to the main dining room, only because it was quieter with more personal service, (and the cappuccino coffee better!). Complimentary snacks were available throughout the day along with a lovely afternoon tea, and between 5 and 7pm complimentary sparkling wine, spirits, beer and red and white wine are served to your table. A club room or suite is a definite recommendation on half board with no need to go fully inclusive which is more expensive. Special thanks to Pamela although all the Club lounge staff were brilliant with nothing to much trouble for them. Our room was huge, well designed with twin sinks and and enormous outside balcony and lounging area, checkout the photos on the hotels excellent website. Everything worked as it should, a good powerful shower with overhead rain option also, and also a large separate bathtub. The bed was huge also, incredibly comfortable, we both agreed it was one of the most comfortable hotel beds we have ever slept in!
Food was all good, a high standard of buffet style dining in the main restaurant with different dishes every evening, with other a la carte dining options available in three other restaurants. The Indian restaurant Kanghan was really excellent and you could have a three course dinner with a good choice of dishes, with full waiter service as part of your meal plan, booking essential however at least a day or so in advance as it is so popular. Additional dishes also available at a supplement. The location is good also adjacent to the main hotel pool, providing a lovely romantic setting!
It’s worth noting one of the best fine dining restaurants in Mauritius, the Château Mon Desir is only a 5 minute taxi drive away in the grounds of the neighbouring Maritim resort. We enjoyed a fabulous fine dining culinary treat one evening and if you are a foodie type it is an absolute must. Of course it’s expensive but no more so than a top fine dining restaurant in the UK, expect £80-90 per head excluding wine.
The water sports and staff all good, we had absolutely no issue with anything, I can be particularly picky at times with anywhere I stay but I have nothing but praise for the hotel, staff and all it’s facilities.
In summary we had a wonderful time at the Westin and will definitely return, thank you to all the staff who helped to make our stay so memorable!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Buddyboyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

So this is my 2nd review after i removed my first one to edit it after the management of the resort met with myself and my wife. So i will include what happened and why i have edited my review. We booked our honeymoon through Trailfinders and booked for a safari in South Africa followed by shark diving in Cape town and then 7 nights at the Westin Turtle bay resort Mauritius. We booked all inclusive with transfers and a honeymoon package for it all. We had issues with the Safari and Shark diving but this is in a different review under Trailfinders if you wish to read it. So about the Westin Turtle Bay resort! We arrived only to discover that the hotel didn't have us down for the honeymoon package! We said we have paid for it etc and even bought along our marriage certificate to authenticate it, they responded with a 'we will look into it for you and let you know' by morning we had a phone call to our room saying they cant do anything and we therefore not give us what we had paid for! Then through out the week we were even more let down after discovering all inclusive does not mean all inclusive at all! We were told by Trailfinders that they have 4 good restaurants and all is inclusive with our package! Well 2 out of the 4 you only have an allowance of 1000 rupees per person, this covers starters pretty much so the rest you pay for! Then one of the others had an event on 4 nights out of the 7 so if you wanted to eat there you had to pay just over £20 per person which then only left the buffet restaurant to eat from! So out of the 7 nights we had room service, even on our last night of our honeymoon we had to settle for room service which for what is suppose to be a once in a lifetime trip as its a honeymoon was very sad! On our final full day i decided to write a review on here as i had enough by then by one thing after another falling below what we were told to expect and what we had paid for. Numerous other things were happening and nothing was done to rectify our disappointment so i felt i had to vent my frustration and anger and i posted my review! Then the next morning as we were checking out a manager called Shiv came to the front desk and asked to sit with us once we finished checking out. She came and met us and said she had seen our review and was so sorry that no one had tried to amend things for us and that it took to us checking out for a manager to see us, so we explained everything and our transfer was not till 6pm so still had 7hrs on the resort, so knowing this Shiv left us to have a think and that she will come and find us shortly. After 30-45mins she found us by the beach and apologised deeply and said that Trailfinders and all travel agents know what there all inclusive means and should have told us as if we would have know we would not have booked here but agreed that we had been let down by all involved and as an apology put on a special lunch for us and gave us access to a day room. She agreed this could never make up for all we endured and the mistakes but i felt that i had to change my review to include that Shiv at least tried to help us and apologise even if it was to late and our Honeymoon was not what we had dreamt off and nothing can ever change that memory. We are currently trying to get compensation from Trailfinders and answers to why all this happened! Checked that review for more. Thank you.

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Chalain T, Manager at The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Colin H

Thank you so much for your review.

Allow me to sincerely apologise for the shortfalls experienced during your stay. We have taken good note of your recommendations pertaining to the areas where you felt we still have room for improvement. Rest assured that we will further evaluate as to how we can enhance these experiences in the future. We have already cascade all the information down to the teams and we will surely use them to provide a better service to our guests.

I am pleased to note that Shiv was helpful and was able to assist you. We will surely thank her for going the extra mile.

Regards

Tristan de chalain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
0.9 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,548 reviews
0.5 km away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
28 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,159 reviews
0.8 km away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
7.6 km away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius

Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius (Formerly The Grand Mauritian Resort & Spa)
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#3 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range: €273 - €771 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embraced by the gently swaying sugar cane fields and the warm turquoise water of the Indian Ocean, The Westin Mauritius Turtle Bay Resort & Spa invites you to experience the magic of Mauritian hospitality in a truly luxurious setting. The resort boasts 190 guest rooms and suites, all of them offering stunning views over the ocean, a kids club, luxury Mandara spa and a fine selection of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Mauritian Resort And Spa
The Grand Mauritian Hotel Balaclava
The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing