We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2017

We were at the hotel for 10 nights. Even though we arrived before the formal check-in time this was not a problem for the hotel and we were given our room straight away. The room was clean tidy and well decorated with it being kept this way throughout our stay by the friendly, helpful staff. No matter where we went we found the staff to be helpful, friendly and willing to help. For us the stand out people were David in the bar and his team, Laura in Seasons and Keshav at the Beach Grill. The selection and quality of food and drink was good. For those wanting to maintain a level of fitness the gym is good with modern equipment and air con. The spa is good. There were plenty of sunbeds either by the pool(s) or on the beach and we always managed to find a quiet spot. A great holiday at a hotel that we would definitely return to.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the beach are great as you get to watch the sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 30 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2017

We had 8 people check in on the first day and then 2 others at a later stage during our 10 night stay. We had half board, club rooms.

We had major issues when we first arrived to the hotel. From arriving at 10am and a request for early check in, we received our rooms later than 3pm. Was really frustrating as we had been travelling for over 18 hours.

On arrival our one of our rooms had a bad smell and one was unclean - this was raised with the hotel and housekeeping cleaned our room once again. Rooms overall were nice but need updating. I found the design of the room a little inconvenient as there was no privacy from the bathroom and the room, it was all open plan and there was no option for curtains. This was ok for couples but was very inconvenient for my siblings who had to share a room. The hotel had put very thin and small towels to cover but this was insufficient.

Later on in the day we found that the hotel had a lot of stray dogs on the premises. One of which was quite aggressive and nearly attacked us on the beach. He came in a few times to bite and after several complaints, he was still found to be on the premises and pool area. The dog nearly went in to bite my disabled sister - was shocking and unexpected.
Many other stray dogs on the premises but they were harmless but very annoying.

Next morning I found a dead bird outside on my terrace but was too afraid to complain as we had complained about the dogs and the room, and did not do anything but instead made us feel silly for the constant complaints. We had a meeting with Krishna who was the duty manager, and he was very good. He was calming and listened to our problems, and tried his best to rectify the problems. He also arranged a meeting with Tristan who was the assistant manager the following day.
I am sorry to say but Tristan was very rude, did not listen, talked over us, impatient and patronizing. He also tried to go out of his way to prove that we were in the wrong. One of the things that annoyed me is he said 'there are 170,000 stray dogs in Mauritius and i cannot get my team to watch all of them'. I told him i was not concerned about any dog outside the hotel premises but instead would expect you to try and control those that are on the hotel premises as the hotel would be liable if anything happened whilst we were in the hotel. It was truly shocking to hear his response and him being so patronising - any good and normal manager would APOLOGISE and say they would try to ensure that this doesn't happen again.

We had spent a lot of money for this trip for the whole family, and the last thing we wanted was to have to complain or feel small. So this was a real let down. I will admit that after, we chose to forget about everything that happened so far and to enjoy the rest of the hotel. Another weird issue we found on our trips is that some of our underwear and socks went missing. Due to the issues we encountered before, we did not complain and also felt silly complaining about missing underwear.

On a better note, Krishna, had gone out of his way to try his best to turn this trip around. He arranged for a dinner on the ocean front and made extra effort to say hello and ask us how our day was. It was these little things that made the difference. He also gave us complimentary massage for half an hour which was very lovely of him.

The spa was not very good in all honesty, massages were mediocre, even though we had upgraded the massages and paid for longer, it really wasn't the best. Sauna and steam room could be hotter. When we called for a buggy, the receptionist told us that the wait would be 20 mins however we followed this up at reception who said this was untrue and they were all available to take us to the room. They also made appointments for 8 of us which took half an hour to find that the lady was looking at the wrong sheet and there was no availability - very very frustrating and time wasting.

Restaurant: Buffet was ok, but there could be more choices for food. It was more or less the same thing everyday. Some dishes were good such as the lamb.
The thing I would change about this hotel is that I would make the buffet more relaxed in terms of dress code and then make the other restaurants more smart like most hotels. I don't see the point in getting dressed up for the buffet, men should be allowed to wear smart shorts.

Kangana was not very good - did not enjoy the food.
Ocean front dinner was very good - the food was delicious made by Ashley. Service from Lovenesh and Kevin was very good.

The pool area was nice, is good for families. I spent more time in the kids area pool as the whisper zone pool area was a little too quiet and lifeless for me.

I think improvements that could be made is the hotel communicating better with you. I wasn't aware that there was a games room or that our half board had £50 per room to spend. The water and coffee charged in the room so i went to the supermarket to buy my own.

The club lounge access was a great touch. I enjoyed this as you had drinks served from 4-7.30. I think this is worth opting for. Could be more options for finger food but nevertheless this was good.
I think the buggy service could be more receptive, and reception could be a little friendlier.

The fishing trip was a real let down as we paid 7000 rupees for all of us to go fishing for 2 hours and they provided us with a water bottle and string to fish with!! A complete con. You can find better deals for excursions outside the hotel.

Overall, our trip to mauritius was fantastic, however the hotel did let us down a few times. I have stayed a the Lux belle mare in mauritius prior to this for me that hotel was better. I have also stayed at many luxury resorts around the world and the Westin Turtle Bay was disappointing. Hotel has great potential to excel but really needs to make improvements. Many members of staff were helpful and friendly, but in general, we do not believe that our stay was worth the money we spent on it and we would not consider returning to this resort.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank G4R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Chalain T, Manager at The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear G4R

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure meeting you personally and your family whilst you stayed with us and yes you did have some issues on arrival which the Management took note of and rectified as best we could. We have cascaded all your points down to the teams and we will use them to better our services to our guests. We would also like to thank you for the positive comments and we will pass them on to the teams and the individual associates named. It was very pleasing to speak to your family on departure and know that we where able to turn your holiday around and that they all had a great time and enjoyed the extra surprises we did for you all. What was vital and very important to us was that you left happy and rejuvenated.

Regards

Tristan de Chalain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

Visited the Westin Turtle Bay over October half term with our 9 year old son. From the moment we arrived we we made to feel welcome and staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel never seemed busy (although it was at capacity) - easy to find sun bed and tables for dining generally no issue. You have to make reservations for the better restaurants a couple of days in advance. Our room (upgraded to club room on arrival - thank you SPG) was spacious, well equipped and cleaned spotlessly throughout, in fact it is quite hard to find fault, the whole property is well laid out and has a luxurious feel to it - so just to say, visit the Westin in Mauritius and you will not be disappointed.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank AndySpyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Good service. People are very nice. There is good choice of Vegetarian food. Overall a very good experience. Highly recommended. The Manager - Mr. Jamil and all other staff very caring and accommodating. - Mahendra Shah

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mahendra1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

We spent 10 nights here on an all inclusive deal. It was great. There are five restaurants and two pools. There is a main buffet style restaurant with a large choice of staters, mains and deserts. Really good.. a great Indian restaurant and a high end fine dining restaurant which was good but a bit rich for our taste. A couple of Italian style beach restaurants were excellent for lunch. Our room was large and comfortable with a balcony. I would recommend the hotel complex.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthamptonStarlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
0.9 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,549 reviews
0.5 km away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
28 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,158 reviews
0.8 km away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
7.6 km away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius

Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius (Formerly The Grand Mauritian Resort & Spa)
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#3 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range: €273 - €771 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embraced by the gently swaying sugar cane fields and the warm turquoise water of the Indian Ocean, The Westin Mauritius Turtle Bay Resort & Spa invites you to experience the magic of Mauritian hospitality in a truly luxurious setting. The resort boasts 190 guest rooms and suites, all of them offering stunning views over the ocean, a kids club, luxury Mandara spa and a fine selection of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TravelUp and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Mauritian Resort And Spa
The Grand Mauritian Hotel Balaclava
The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing