We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation and facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2017

This is a very nice and comfortable facility set in a beautiful bay. The rooms are large and luxurious. Ours was a ground floor room with patio onto a lawn which fell away to the palm tree lined beach. We ate in all of the available restaurants and while the food was excellent in some the service was very slow. None of us like to rush meals but there is a point at which tardiness becomes a bit wearing. We found the choices at the buffet restaurant catered for all tastes and nationalities and was very good. We did not enjoy the benefit of an all-inclusive package and with hindsight we would recommend this when choosing this venue as the prices of beverages and wines are very steep. The concierge facility and front desk staff are extremely helpful but do be prepared to seek a better rate for the taxi services and car hire.

Room Tip: Ground floor with patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotbrit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 89 of 1,219 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

We visited for 6 nights in October and had an awesome holiday. The resort is beautiful, literally on the beach. Our room had a stunning view of the beach which was a lovely surprise in the morning as we arrived late at night.
Although the resort does have a kids club I felt it was perfect for adults as the food choices and evening entertainment were all aimed at adults and far more sophisticated than I've experienced else where.
Every night the entertainment was provided at the Retreat bar and lasted until closing at around 11.30. It was mainly singers and musicians who were incredibly talented. I particularly enjoyed the Sweet Ladies. The entertainment was more classy and not at all cheesy like in other resorts.
Food was lovely, Kangan for dinner is a must as is Mystique for a lazy lunch in the sun. I personally would not recommend Fusion. Very expensive, the all inclusive credits do not cover a meal and I didn't think the extra expense was worth it.
The beach night however is a definite must for the extra money. Food, entertainment and staff were all amazing.
Buffet was also lovely, more asian/Indian inspired which was delicious.
The water sports were such a great add on. We made the most of waterskiing and did the snorkel trip. Not much sea life to see though on our trip.
Staff were all a major credit to this resort. Niv was the first of many friendly faces who helped make our holiday extra special.
There was 1 negative and that was the flies. They were literally everywhere. This needs to be dealt with and should not occur in such a lovely resort.
I would however 100% return both to Mauritius and this resort.
Thank you Westin Turtle Bay!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

we opted for the Westin for our second visit to Mauritius. Following a very smooth check in and a welcome drink we were offered a ground floor room affording less privacy and and no views. I requested to be moved to a higher floor, we were readily offered a first floor room which we were happy with. The staff were smiley and helpful and made us feel very welcome where ever we went.
the white sandy beach photos on the website are not reflected in reality apart from the colour! the sand is very gritty and uncomfortable to walk on.
the pools were lovely and spacious however and the serving staff (Keven, Sunny, Jerome) were very friendly, helpful, and engaging.
we had an issue with the quality of the food (beautifully presented but stone cold) at Fusion Restaurant but following a chat with the F & B assistant Manager, our comments were appreciated and taken on board. We were invited to go back as his guests for a complimentary meal at Fusion confirming that our issues were dealt with and addressed. This turned a negative into a positive.
On arrival we were encouraged to use the hotel app to check menus and make restaurant bookings, etc. unfortunately menus on the app were not up to date. this was pointed out more than once.
house keeping was OK but not consistent. sometimes bath towels, sometime not. some time not cleaning till after 4pm, not replenishing amenity items or mini bar. whether this was a result of poor house keeping management or poor training, only the hotel senior management know but you would expect better from a 5 star establishment of the Westin standing.

overall all it was a relaxing holiday. Would I come back? may be.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myworld52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

We are just on our last day of a two week holiday here and don't want to leave. After a 36 hour journey we finally arrived and immediate felt relaxed. We were checked in and taken to our room which was a beachfront deluxe, we didn't realise until the next morning how beachfront it was as we arrived in the dark! What a view and to hear the sea constantly was amazing. The room was huge and had a zen garden and outdoor shower as well as freestanding bathtub. I dont think the pictures truly get across how nice it is. Everything has been excellent and all the staff wonderful. There are ones who stand out like Girish in the retreat bar who remember our orders and refreshed our glasses when he saw they were low. Also Kevin in seasonal tastes who was lovely. There are many more staff who made our stay very enjoyable. The food and drinks have been great and theres always something you can find although i did think the buffet suited the asian guests tastes better. Kangan restaurant was excellent food and service wonderful. We did the all inclusive package and glad we did, you get a three course meal in Kangan and a credit towards Fusion but we never ate in there, also most drinks are covered its more premium ones that they charge for.Mystique and beach grill were our haunts for lunch with Mystique been our favourite as you can sit with your feet in the sand listening to the waves.There is a lot of space here so you don't feel crammed in with other guests and plenty of sun loungers by the pools and on the beach so no need to worry bout getting one. Our only regret is were not staying longer but i think we will definitely return.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

Nothing but excellent thoughts, memories and comments to recall our stay at the Westin. The staff from start to finish were extremely helpful, friendly and willing to go the extra mile for us. The room was outstanding with a particularly good outside area. The outside areas were just stunning, two very good pools and a lovely beach packed with sunbuds, activities. The restaurants were all of top quality, not one thing went amiss. Would 100% stay here again when the time comes to return to Mauritius.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite is well worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
0.5 km away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
28 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,670 reviews
0.9 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,237 reviews
7.6 km away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
1.6 km away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius

Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius (Formerly The Grand Mauritian Resort & Spa)
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#3 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range: €250 - €453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embraced by the gently swaying sugar cane fields and the warm turquoise water of the Indian Ocean, The Westin Mauritius Turtle Bay Resort & Spa invites you to experience the magic of Mauritian hospitality in a truly luxurious setting. The resort boasts 190 guest rooms and suites, all of them offering stunning views over the ocean, a kids club, luxury Mandara spa and a fine selection of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Mauritian Hotel Balaclava
The Grand Mauritian Resort And Spa
The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing