We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (313)
Filter reviews
313 results
Traveller rating
178
95
18
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
178
95
18
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub cooked to perfection tea and coffee full english excellent stay sunday lunch suffolk pubs break
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 313 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2020

Arrived Sunday for 3 nights. Wonderfully pleasant welcome and we were given room 1 which was great, very roomy with a large bathroom with jacuzzi bath and separate shower. The whole place was refurbished recently and nothing has been spared on the fixtures and fittings.
We had a light lunch and later had an evening meal. The food was excellent and we also ate there on Monday. An excellent breakfast is included in the price.
The staff are brilliant and could not do enough for us.
The bar/ restaurant area is cosy yet quite large with a few rooms running into each other, and all COVID precautions are adhered to.
The village is only 3/4 miles from Southwold and takes about 7/8 minutes, a very handy location.
All in all we had a great time and would recommend this Inn to anyone visiting the area.
We would definitely return in the future.
Try it you will not be disappointed.

Room tip: Room 1 is the largest and we were told the best room in the house, however, other rooms look great.
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bubbenhall_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth Fisk, Marketing at The Angel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

It really does mean the world to us that you felt safe in these strange times!

We do hope to see you again soon.

The Angel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2020

Four of us ate here on a Monday night in September to take advantage of Moss & Co's discounted food offer, so this review applies to the restaurant only. The surroundings are pleasant, the staff were personable and the food good, although the portions were not over-generous. Definitely not a fan of frozen grapes with the cheese board!

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bagabargain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth Fisk, Marketing at The Angel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2020

Thank you for leaving us a lovely review!

We're glad you enjoyed your food.

We'll pass on the feedback regarding the frozen grapes!

We hope to see you again,

The Angel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2020 via mobile

Have recently had a couple of fantastic meals at The Village Maid we decided to try The Angel . We were not disappointed , venue great, staff great, felt Covid safe and lovely meal! We were out walking prior to booking and had to reroute making us late! I telephone Angel who were very helpful and said it was no problem arriving late

This group of pubs still offering 50% off and we were informed it’s going on through October ! Next stop Jolly Sailors next week

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth Fisk, Marketing at The Angel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2020

Steve!

Thank you so much for leaving us such a lovely review.

It really does mean the world to us that you felt safe during these odd times!

Enjoy your visit to the Jollies!

The Angel team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2020

When you arrive at The Angel Inn you might wonder: why am I here? It looks like a fairly ordinary village pub, but once inside you will start to feel - this was a good choice.

From the friendly greeting by the staff, to the neat modern bar and then the plush rooms you will know that you were right. Later after you eat here you will be further persuaded. This is a really good place to stay.

I stayed here for a couple of nights for a private celebration in September 2020. I was in Room 2 - very comfortable with a stylish shower room. One evening I had a Scotch egg starter and the seared Tuna with Chickpea Tabbouleh. Both dishes were superb. If you want to eat here, make sure you book a table - it is a popular local place to eat.

The Angel is a short ride to get away from the hustle and bustle of Southwold and the coast. If you looking for somewhere to stay in this part of Suffolk, The Angel Inn is a top choice.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirbythore42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth Fisk, Marketing at The Angel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2020

Thank you so much for leaving us such a lovely review.

We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay & your food.

Reviews like this really do mean the world to us.

We hope to see you again,

The Angel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2020

We booked to eat here whilst on holiday and staying in the village, so were able to walk to the Inn which was lovely.
All very pleasant staff and the meals were all great although one of our group thought his sea bass portion was rather small!
We finished off sharing the cheese platters but all of us found the frozen grapes rather unpleasant and certainly very cold to the mouth!

Date of stay: September 2020
Thank Annjesoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth Fisk, Marketing at The Angel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2020

Thank you so much for the lovely review!

We’re so glad you enjoyed your visit.

The Angel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews