We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
TripadvisorUS$162
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (313)
Filter reviews
313 results
Traveller rating
178
95
18
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
178
95
18
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub cooked to perfection tea and coffee full english excellent stay sunday lunch suffolk pubs break adnams
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 313 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2017

One night stay at the Angel Inn near Southwold (8 minute drive from coast). First class hospitality - attentive staff, a spotless room, comfortable bed and a lovely breakfast. Above all - true value for money and we shall have no hesitation returning.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank keithlee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

Just back from a four night break at The Angel Inn......and so pleased we found it.
From the moment we stepped through the door Peter and Christine were the perfect hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them. The room was lovely and the food was delicious......all the staff were more than attentive, hard working and very friendly.
Well done all of you for making our stay so enjoyable. Roman, Bev and Lulu were fab.
Head of security also deserves a special mention.
Thoroughly recommend this place.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank B2013TRjaneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Stopped here on the offchance on August bank holiday weekend for lunch.
Food was excellent, best sunday roast (chicken and pork) ever had that wasn't cooked at home. Vegetables very well cooked and seasoned as well as was the proper home made yorkshire pudding. My wife had the liver and bacon which was also excellent and main courses were only £10.95 so excellent value for the quality of the food.
Service was friendly and food was quick to arrive.
Nice pub and atmosphere with traditional old fashioned pub games in one area of the pub which was great fun.
Lacks a bear garden which is probably why it wasn't that busy on a nice day, but other than that hard to fault.
Definitely will be going again, after a morning on the beach and pier at Southwold it is excellent place to go for lunch (much less crowded and better value than anywhere in Southwold I would imagine)

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JohnnyA_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelWangford, Owner at The Angel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

So glad you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch! Thanks for taking the time to review us. Just to let you know we do have a lovely beer garden behind the Pub. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

We had a meal here last night for 6 of us. It was a Monday night so fairly quiet. Comfortable surroundings, looks like a nice beer garden but we sat inside. The meals were all really good and very good value but the service let us down just a bit. I'm sure the waitress was new and very unsure of herself and got some of the order wrong, kept coming back to check on something. Not too long to wait for food considering our table of 6 and there was nothing that was not up to standard really. We will definitely go again.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

We booked a table to eat here for my Birthday. On arriving we were told there would be a delay of 15 mins before the waitress could take our order. 15 minutes later she told us it would be 10 more minutes. The waitress finally took our order and told us the chef was off sick and the owner was cooking. We had arrived at 6.30 pm and finally got our food at 8.15 pm !!! Two of us had ordered fish pie and veg. The mashed potato was a very thick layer and the fish underneath was dry and still had bits of skin sticking to it. Very disappointing after such a long wait. When the owner came to take payment we told him that the food was just about ok and detailed what was wrong. He didn't apologise and just said he would pass it on to the kitchen. We asked when the chef was returning to work and he said he was returning from holiday in Thailand next Friday, so the waitress had lied to us about him being off sick. The whole experience was not good at all.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Jilly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelWangford, Owner at The Angel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

We are sincerely sorry for what was certainly a very unfortunate experience. It doesn't really help to be told that we agree your evening was less than satisfactory; you were here on what was, for us as well as you, a horrible time. Although my wife did her best under unexpected and trying circumstances we agree your meal was not well handled. There is a silver membrane on roasted fish which can appear to be skin.

However, it is fair to correct you on one impression. Our regular chef has a Thai wife and a business in Thailand, and he was in Thailand on the night in question. The relief chef, expensively engaged to cover for our regular chef, had indeed gone home with a severe migraine. Thus, our bar manager spoke of one chef and I spoke of the other.

For the meal however, I unreservedly apologise.

Peter White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews