We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Road trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Binghamton
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Vestal
Reviewed 1 October 2017

The hotel was hard to find. We spent one night here and on the surface it looked like a great place. Check in was easy and Lisabeth was very helpful. We were in building 9, right next to the main entrance. Things looked nice for the most part in the studio. There was a full kitchen with stainless steel appliances, along with a granite table and counters. In the living room was a desk with a chair, a sofa, a side table with an ottoman, a tv on a stand, and a small coat closet. Then there was a bed right before the two closets. The toilet and tub were in the bathroom together. The sink and vanity were in an open area next to the bathroom. There was a full length mirror by the vanity as well as a wide mirror above it

My friend slept in the bed and said the mattress was hard as a rock. I slept on the sofa bed and the mattress was so thin, I could feel the metal bars through the mattress. When the sofa bed was open we had to move the couch back and it blocked the walkway from the bed area to the kitchen. The bathroom was very tiny and caulking was needed around the tub. We found dead bugs in two corners and a spider in the tub.

A complimentary breakfast was offered from 7-10 am. It was the average breakfast offering - scrambled eggs and pork or turkey sausage patties were the hot entree. There were bagels, toast, various cold cereals, oatmeal, boiled eggs, yogurt, bananas, cut up pineapple and cantaloupe and make it yourself waffles. The timer on the waffle iron wasn't working properly and my waffle overcooked. I saw numerous discarded burnt waffles. They had apple and orange juice and three kinds of coffee. There was hot and ice water available for tea and hot chocolate. There was plenty of seating.

We used the exercise room. There were various free weights , two treadmills, and an elliptical. Towels and cold water were supplied. There were wipes to clean off the equipment. I was told there was a partnership with a local fitness facility that was available for use by hotel guests.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 143jacquelinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 October 2017

Dear 143jacquelinen,

We appreciate the detailed review you gave of our property. Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. I've informed the necessary department heads regarding your concerns. I'm not sure if you heard , but we are scheduled for renovation this coming January! I hope you can make it out here again to see our new look!

Many Thanks!

Carlos Gonzalez
General Manager
Residence Inn Binghamton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2017

If you come here in the dark, be ready to drive back and forth to find the real entrance. Nothing is lit near the front. Next, be ready for an AC system that turns on and off, creating the sensation of "quiet and noise." I need one or the other - not both. When I tried to change the thermostat to "fan on" I realized that there is no light near the wall holding the thermostat. I finally turned on my laptop to use it as a "beacon" to change the setting. The tub shower drained slowly - very slowly. All four pillows seemed to be constructed from the same reinforced concrete. Usually there is at least ONE soft pillow among the group. Just annoying.

Finally, at 1:30 am, some jerk pulled up on his 3 wheel motorcycle with the radio blaring. Left it on for 20 seconds. Proceeded to storm up the steps to the room next to me. And slammed the door as hard as possible. This is certainly not the hotel's fault. But it just added to the aggravation of picking the wrong location. I saved $34 over the price of another Marriott, but paid for it in annoyance.

Breakfast was typical Marriott. Frozen cantaloupe segments - when it is IN season. Overcooked pork sausage, and bland and watery eggs.

The staff here is fine. They are dealing with a outdated physical plant as well as a outmoded design. I would tear it down and start again.

Room Tip: Two floor layout. Go for the top floor so you don't have to listen to the guy above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb_Davern, Manager at Residence Inn Binghamton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Hello John I:
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for maintenance issues you encountered. Thanks to comments such as yours, our company has heard what our guests are saying and we are set up for renovation this winter. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will consider us again when your travels bring you back to the Binghamton/Vestal area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Being the half way point between Niagara Falls and NYC, we stayed here for a night. First, we showed up at night and there seems to be only 1 little tiny sign on the side of Vestal Pkwy to how to get to this place as the entrance road is around the corner, took us a couple of U-turns to find, but we eventually did. We stayed in the 2 room suite. Check in was quick and easy. Our room was nice, well appointed. Stayed for just the night and didn't really utilize the hotel's amenities, just a place to crash for the night with the family. Beds were comfy, I would come again. Price was right.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wolfman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb_Davern, Manager at Residence Inn Binghamton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Hello wolfman2014:
Thank you for the nice review. I am sorry it was so difficult for you to find us, we are rather tucked "around the corner". Now that you know where we are, hopefully we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

I am not sure where those other people stayed at, but the Residence inn at Marriott,was wonderful. We stayed for a night to visit Binghamton university, the room was spacious, modern kitchen with all the modern updates and utensils, you can think of. Nice confortable bed, fire place, small bathroom and adequate vanity area. It has a nice pool, and great breakfast. If my son decides to go to Binghamton, it will definitely be our place to stay for college visits.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank eunicehb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb_Davern, Manager at Residence Inn Binghamton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Hello eunicehb:
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate you taking the time to give us such a nice review of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

I chose this hotel last month for one night because it allows dogs (for a pricey $75) and because it is supposedly convenient to I-81. I did not find it particularly convenient to I-81 and I did not particularly enjoy my stay. While the front desk staff was nice enough, the hotel just seemed so old, our room was somewhat icky, and it seemed like the guest in the room above us lived at the hotel and spent the whole night pacing back and forth from room to room. It was not a great Residence Inn experience.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank sarahthemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb_Davern, Manager at Residence Inn Binghamton, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear sarathemom:
Please accept our apology that your recent stay did not meet your expectations; in regards to I-81 accessibility and that your room seemed "icky". We are looking forward to our room renovations that are scheduled to begin January 2018 and hope that you will try us again if your travels bring you back to the Binghamton/Vestal area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vestal
2.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Binghamton / Vestal
2.5 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Binghamton/Vestal
1.4 km away
Quality Inn & Suites at Binghamton University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Binghamton
3.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton
3.5 km away
Holiday Inn Binghamton - Hawley St/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Binghamton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Binghamton

Address: 4610 Vestal Pkwy E, Vestal, NY 13850-3674
Region: United States > New York > Vestal
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Vestal
Price Range: €94 - €366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Binghamton 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Binghamton Hotel is an all-suite upscale hotel that provides overnight hotel reservations in the Greater Binghamton New York area. Located just 1 mile from Binghamton University in scenic, lively Broome County, the hotel is situated perfectly for a visit to the area. Conveniently located between Syracuse and Scranton and only 15 miles from the Greater Binghamton Airport, the hotel is easily accessible for all travelers.Our Residence Inn by Marriott® Binghamton hotel is the perfect place to stay while visiting attractions like the Roberson Museum & Science Center, Discovery Center and Broome County Forum. Shuttle service is provided to some nearby businesses and attractions.We are difficult to find! Please see the directions below! A GPS will not always guide you to us. The Residence Inn by Marriott® Binghamton Hotel is an all-suite upscale hotel providing overnight hotel reservations in the Greater Binghamton New York area. Located just 1 mile from Binghamton University in scenic, lively Broome County, the hotel is situated perfectly for a visit to the area. Conveniently located between Syracuse and Scranton and only 13 miles from the Greater Binghamton Airport, the hotel is easily accessible for all travelers. Directions from the Greater Binghamton Airport (BGM):13 miles. Exit the airport on Airport Rd toward Dawes Dr. Make a slight right to merge onto RT-17 W and then take Exit 70S to merge onto RT-201S toward Johnson City. Take the ramp onto RT-434 E/Vestal Pkwy E. The hotel will be on the right.Directions from Syracuse, NY to the North:75 miles. From Syracuse, take I-81S and exit onto RT-17 W toward Owego/Elmira. Take exit 70S to merge onto RT-201 S toward Johnson City. Take the ramp onto RT-434 E/Vestal Pkwy E. The hotel will be on the right.Directions from Scranton, PA to the South:65 miles. From Scranton, travel I-81N to RT-17 W toward Owego/Elmira. Take exit 70S to merge onto RT-201 S toward Johnson City. Take the ramp onto RT-434 E/Vestal Pkwy E. The hotel will be on the right. We look forward to seeing you in the Binghamton area of New York! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Inn Binghamton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Binghamton Hotel Vestal
Residence Inn Vestal
Vestal Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing