We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still excellent”

Kampai Japanese Steak House
Ranked #11 of 103 Restaurants in Vestal
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Kampai has been around for a long time and maintains it's place as the go to Hibachi grill in the area!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Glenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2018

We’re visiting from North Carolina. Were asked if anyone was celebrating a birthday and also if we wanted our pictures taken. I asked how much the pictures were and she said free. We did not ask for a cake but it CD and anyways. When we got the bill we were charged $14.00 for photos and cake. Total bill over $200.00 for only 4 people. I feel we were lied to. Unfortunate. Food was good but not any better than north carolina.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank opinionman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

We have visited this restaurant before, it has traditional table, hibachi and sushi bar. We have only tried "traditional table". Food is good and staff is friendly.
Food is good and every tome the place is overflow with people, either dinning or having a celebration.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank droppingnewz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

One of my favorite restaurants! Service is always excellent and food is delicious. It is pricey but a great place to go for any type of celebration. Kids love the hibachi experience, but may not eat all the courses.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank MissingNirvana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

Kampai has existed in the same location for as long as I can remember - which means since at least 1975. That is a long time so that tells me they must be doing something (perhaps even a lot) right. The staff are wonderful, the food is excellent, the decor is looking a bit tired, the menu is extensive and the prices are not for the faint of heart. My sense is that this is a "special occasion" restaurant for many people. Go and enjoy the food. It's delicious. And don't be surprised by the ample bill at the end of your dinner.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kampai Japanese Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing