We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (559)
Filter reviews
559 results
Traveller rating
309
160
49
27
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
309
160
49
27
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdinosaur bbqwestern hotelsbest westernshudson riverwedding venuerestaurants within walking distancedirectly across the streetstayed one nightgreat place to stayvisiting rpibreakfast buffetyogurtwould stay here againvery nice hotelhotel staffexcellent staypleasant stay
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 559 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Clean, fresh entrance with great rooms. Offered a perfect balance of value and cost. German bar 1/2 block away for a quick drink and a great BBQ restaurant across the street. Convenience all the way with very helpful staff!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimothyP1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitknee39, Manager at Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are so very pleased you enjoyed your stay and were also able to explore some of the wonderful and unique restaurants and pubs in Downtown Troy.

Please come again soon - there are some other great places to check out. Our front desk staff is always happy to share their favorites.

Regards,
Whitney P., AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

Very clean, contemporary rooms, excellent staff especially housekeeping, good location, good breakfast. The only complaint I have is that the parking lot is very small and tight for the size of the hotel, however there is free parking at the garage across the street but there are no signs posted telling you so. You have to go inside and check in to find out which can be messy b/c there is so little parking in the lot or on the street.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank TheDuck129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitknee39, Manager at Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for your comments about our parking lot - we have just completed our renovations and are adding more signage to direct people where to park.

We hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us again in the future.

Best Regards,
Whitney P., AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017

When I made the original reservations for the wedding party family members, I was told a given room wasn't available, but when I called and talked to a manager, the rooms were in fact already saved, and the reservations went off without a hitch. Everything was perfect. With 5 adults and two children in three consecutive rooms, we were able to group and separate at will. We were within walking distance of all the wedding day activities, food sites, and jogging along the river. So convenient!!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 2barbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitknee39, Manager at Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We really enjoyed having your family with us and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope you and all your family enjoyed the wedding and that you will stay with us again the next time you are in Troy, NY!

Regards,
Whitney P., AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed overnight with husband. Our room had pictures from the wall missing. Bed was worn and sunk in. Carpeting old. Room needs updating. It was also very noisy(hear traffic outside and people talking outside rooms. We paid 199.00 for this 2 maybe 3 star room( we checked with 4-5 star hotels all Full do we had to take this room!) the breakfast the next morning was enjoyable. Clean areas with a nice variety of foods. Don't know if I would stay again.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank peachkoblerpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitknee39, Manager at Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We sincerely apologize you experienced noise while at our hotel. If at any time there is an issue with your room, please call down to the front desk and we will happily move you away from the cause.

We are currently undergoing a complete renovation and addition to our property. In a matter of 4 days we replaced all the artwork in all the rooms with commissioned work from a local photographer highlighting the area architecture. We apologize that you stayed in the middle of that transition and were not able to enjoy these new pieces.

In this renovation all carpeting, doors and windows are being replaced which will greatly decrease noise issues as well as update the facility.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with the comfort and hospitality we take pride in giving to our guests. Please contact me directly in order to make your next reservation. wgrey@franklinsquareinn.com

Best Regards,
Whitney P. AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017

Stayed here one night while we visited RPI. After checking in, we went to our room. Nothing fancy. We immediately could hear the people in the next room talking. It was as if they were IN our room. The walls between the rooms were SO thin that we could clearly hear every word they said, and they were talking in normal voices. When we heard the lady in the next room pass gas (loudly) then say to her companion "oh, excuse me, you don't want to come over here" we were a bit unsure if we wanted to stay, but we heard a small child's voice, so we figured they would be in bed early. Boy were we wrong. From 3:30AM on-wards, we could clearly hear EVERY word they said all night. Called the front desk but there was little to no sleep that night. The next morning at checkout, we told the front desk, but this could NOT have been the first complaint. It was a horrible night. Won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Chose a room at another hotel
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank elenashana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitknee39, Manager at Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Dear Guest,

We are so sorry to hear you were unable to sleep comfortably on your previous stay with us. We know that when you stay at a hotel sleep is so very important!

We are just completing a brand new addition on our hotel that includes many sound proofing features. We are also replacing all doors and windows in our current building to insure even more solid sound proofing.

Please also know that if you ever have a loud neighbor we will happily move you to a room away from them for your comfort and convenience.

We hope that you will consider returning and staying in our new renovated and upgraded rooms. Please contact me directly for your next stay - wgrey@franklinsquareinn.com.

Best Regards,
Whitney P, AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews