We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient place to stay while shopping in the Buffalo area!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Tonawanda
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Tonawanda
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Convenient place to stay while shopping in the Buffalo area!”
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We (myself along with family members and friends) always stay at this hotel when we travel to Buffalo. Although we live in Toronto, Canada, we shop in the Buffalo area at least four or five times a year.

The location of this hotel is fantastic! It is right off the 290W highway, within 10 minutes of Walden Galleria mall and the Fashion Outlets mall. It's relatively close to the US/Canada Border as well. There is also the Boulevard Mall close by, as well as other restaurants and stores along Niagara Falls Blvd.

The best thing about this place, other than the location, has to be the price. We hardly spend time in the room so really, all we need is a bed and a working bathroom! This hotel can provide that. There are no frills, but there is a flat screen TV in each room with cable and free wi-fi internet. There is also a small continental breakfast offered in the mornings, consisting of toast, muffins, cereal, juice, and coffee (sometimes they bring out the waffle maker and you can have do-it-yourself fresh waffles!).

Overall, this place is decent for the price, good value, and awesome location.

However, please beware of the cleanliness factor. After several years of staying here, we did see a cockroach on our second last visit. We notified the front desk and they assured us they would fix the problem. The next time we went, we did not see anything, so it appears that it was fixed I guess. We also bring our own pillow cases, etc.

If you just need a bed to sleep in, on a budget, and you're not overly picky about decor and amenities, then this is the right place for you! :)

Room Tip: Call ahead or check in early to get the best room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trini_traveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Owner at Econo Lodge Tonawanda, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Hotel is under new managment ,
hotel just had a update
new lobby area new breakfast area (full free hot breakfast )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    11
    14
    8
    28
See reviews for
23
17
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
201 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

All we wanted was a place to stay over Black Friday that wouldn't bust the bank. We got what we paid for and actually stayed an extra unplanned night. Desk staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Torontax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tonawanda hotels

Jonestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2010

It was my first time expiriencing the Choice Hotel brand "Econo Lodge", and it was a great stay. The front desk staff were friendly people. the room was convienient, with a fridge, microwave, and LCD HDTV!!. The beds were comfortable as well. I was skeptical on staying here because of the horrible reviews, but I gave it a chance and it turned out great this hotel seemed to have went through a transformation and now it just needs customers to give it another chance!! =)

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRooney92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2010

I stayed Sept.13 - 26, room 131 then 114. I really enjoyed the stay. Very clean and the staff was very attentive including the housekeepers and the whole staff. I checked out at 4:30 am and was greeted by I believe by the owner. There is a doorbell in the office and I rang it and was tended to in seconds. The stories about bed bugs, welts and smell, sound like nonsense perhaps bitten during the day. I am sure I will be back there within a year. Thanks to all of you...

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceasar1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2010

This motel is rated by AAA as 2-star, but I would give it 0. The woman at the desk asked my name (for reservation), end of conversation. The towels were small, thin and ragged; no extra toilet paper, no Kleenex, bed was okay and it seemed clean enough. The next morning we were ready to go and the office was still locked - no access to ice or coffee or checkout. We waited until 6:50 and left. It was also the most expensive place we stayed in on a 3000 mile trip. AAA needs to review them again!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorwegianStPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
econolodgetonawanda, Webmaster at Econo Lodge Tonawanda, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Let me thank you for choosing the Econo Lodge, for your recent stay.

We thank and appreciate your review and take it quite seriously.

This is to inform you that based on your review, the following actions were taken:

The hotel front desk staffs have received effective training for better communication and to avoid similar situations, ensuring a guest friendly hospitality and service.

The Management and housekeeping were spoken to about the quality and scarcity of linens and toiletries .Steps has been taken to ensure a high level of cleanliness and hygiene.

We request you to make a note of these and hope that the next time you visit our area, you will certainly feel the changes and once again choose to stay with us.

We expect you back soon!

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tonawanda
0.2 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#12 of 16 in Amherst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
3.7 km away
CenterWay Hotel
CenterWay Hotel
#1 of 13 in Tonawanda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.5 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#9 of 16 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Extended Stay America - Buffalo - Amherst
3.3 km away
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
6.9 km away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Tonawanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Tonawanda

Property: Econo Lodge Tonawanda
Address: 2000 Niagara Falls Blvd, Tonawanda, NY 14150-5545 (Formerly Grand Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Tonawanda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Tonawanda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Tonawanda 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT - We offer the following NEWLY UPDATED areas include Lobby, Breakfast Area and Guest Rooms. We offer a FREE Deluxe continental breakfast including Hot waffles with each and every stay. We also have FREE WiFi throughout our property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and TripOnline SA so you can book your Econo Lodge Tonawanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonawanda Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing