We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“And to all, a good night!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Syracuse
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Reviewed 13 October 2015

The lady who greeted us at the front desk was an absolute gem! What a sense of humor. As we were finishing the check-in process, she said, "If you need anything (other than money), call anytime day or night. If you need money, call 1-800-Obama."

Our room was well cleaned and well-lit. The entire Red Roof Inn is non-smoking. Why doesn't every hotel adopt this policy? There are plenty of fluffy white towels, of both hand and bath sizes. Spacious room to hang clothes, a rack on which to put my bag, and blessed, blessed heat on this chilly night. Plenty of outlets that can be reached without moving furniture and free, unsecured wifi make this a pleasant stopping place.

The shower has one of those silly convex curtains that are supposed to make the shower seem more spacious. Is anyone out there fooled by that? I hope not! The sink is in a separate alcove outside the toilet/shower room. Again, why doesn't every hotel adopt this practice?

There is no breakfast included, continental or otherwise. A "Room Service" menu is in the room, but don't be fooled -- it is from "Order Inn" a private company which delivers to hotels in a given area. Take careful note of the prices -- some are rather cheap but some are outrageous. Also, pay attention to the $3.50 "packaging fee" added to each order. Further, the service is not available on "Most Major Holidays." Believe it or not, this is National Work Zone Awareness Month. Is that considered a "Major Holiday"?

I am most happy and satisfied with the balance of quality received and room rent paid. I would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Talk real nice to the lady up front and you, too, may get a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red157, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Syracuse, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2015

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Cam at the front desk is the person that checked your in, and she is a real asset to our company. We love to hear feedback like yours. It serves as a reminder to our staff, that their hard work is appreciated. We do hope that you will come back and visit us again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 118 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2015 via mobile

I honestly can't believe I'm currently staying in the same hotel as in these reviews. Yes, they refurbished the room, but this non smoking room I'm in reeks like an ashtray. They need to bring in ionizers or something, it's pervasive. The beds are like cement slabs. We've hardly slept all night and I have to drive 3 hours home tomorrow. Trip Advisor, you failed me on this one.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
2  Thank jennz_id
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red157, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Syracuse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2015

We are very disappointed to hear your feedback on your recent stay with us. Comments like yours are not always nice to hear, however they are important in helping us to improve our business. At the present time, all of our rooms are non-smoking. At times, our guests do take it upon themselves to smoke in them anyway. However, it is very disappointing to learn that my housekeeping staff did not address this prior to your arrival. As for the beds in the rooms, they have all been recently replaced with new mattresses and box springs. They are a little on the firmer side, so that they last longer with all of the usage that they get. I am very sorry that this did not meet your expectations. We do hope that you will reconsider and give us another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2015

Other reviews are accurate. The hotel appears to have been renovated and the rooms are nice. Staff was very friendly. Price was unbeatable. And it is right off the NYS Thruway and easy to find. However, I honestly can't imagine getting a quiet (or really even not noisy) room. One side of the hotel is hard up against the Thruway access road and the other is adjacent to a truck parking/transfer lot. I am not a light sleeper, and much of the noise was close enough to white noise as not to be bothersome. But when the truck's reversing beeper goes off, it's pretty bad. I think your best choice would be to try for a room on the same side and at the same end as the office. Because of the angle of the property, you'd at least be a little farther from the trucks.

Room Tip: See above. Try for near the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank bflohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red157, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Syracuse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2015

We are very happy to hear that you were pleased with your room during your stay with us. We are set in a very trying location as far as environmental noise. We are very sorry to learn that it was bothersome during your stay. Unfortunately, that is a private lot next door and it is beyond our control. We do hope that you will at least consider us during your next visit to the Syracuse area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2015 via mobile

I stayed for two nights in September in a superior king room. I had one issue with room cleanliness that was addressed promptly by management. Room was very comfortable and spacious. Love that the sink is outside of the bathroom. Great amenities for the cost. Staff very helpful and friendly. We will be staying here when we go back to Syracuse.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brandie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red157, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Syracuse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2015

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are very pleased to hear that your concerns were addressed immediately. We always have staff on 24 hours a day just for this purpose. We want to be sure that your stay is clean, comfortable and care free. We look forward to your next visit to the Syracuse Area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2015

I stayed for one night in early October. Check-in was fine and the staff was personable. I had a room on the second floor in the rear of the building. You are very close to Route 90 and road noise was an issue. I cranked the AC all night long which actually made the highway noise barely percetible. The AC did not get the room cool and had it been a warm night I would not have been happy. Room was clean

Stayed: October 2015
1  Thank dave d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red157, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Syracuse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2015

Thank you for the feedback on your stay with us in Syracuse. Clean and comfortable rooms is what we strive for, and it appears that we hit the mark here. However, when they build our inns, they do place us close to the interstates for easy access. I am not sure if the road noise is really taken into consideration. I do apologize for that. The next time that you visit, be sure to request a room on the front side of the building. This will help reduce the noise from the highway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.7 km away
Comfort Inn Carrier Circle
Comfort Inn Carrier Circle
#22 of 31 in Syracuse
318 reviews
5 km away
Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport
3.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Aloft Syracuse Inner Harbor
6.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel
Crowne Plaza Hotel
#13 of 31 in Syracuse
720 reviews
11.1 km away
Best Western The Inn At The Fairgrounds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Syracuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Syracuse

Address: 6614 Thompson Rd, Syracuse, NY 13206-1318
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Syracuse
#10 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: €41 - €77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Syracuse 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Syracuse is the commercial and cultural hub of central New York State, and Red Roof Syracuse is convenient to so many Syracuse attractions! LeMoyne College, Hancock International Airport, and SUNY Health Sciences are within 10 minutes; the Amtrak Station and Carousel Center are 10 miles from the hotel, and Rosamond Gifford Zoo, Syracuse University, and the Carrier Dome are all within 15 miles. Red Roof Syracuse is within minutes of a shopping mall and many restaurants. The friendly staff ensures guests feel confident, significant, and delighted. Red Roof Syracuse is renovated with all new rooms, contemporary furniture, new bathrooms with granite countertops, a comfortable easy chair and more. All rooms offer free WiFi and a flat screen TV.. Experience our coffeehouse-style coffee and tea. This location offers “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, and movies, as well as music and games. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Syracuse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Syracuse Hotel Syracuse
Syracuse Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing