We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre food, excellent service ”

Canali's Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 326 Restaurants in Schenectady
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We went to Canali’s based on all the reviews. The food is mediocre and average. The portions are large and each entree can feed two. The ambiance is in between a restaurant and a dinner. The strange thing was that they charge extra for blue cheese dressing on the salad that comes with your entree. Overall it was edible, but maybe coming from NY, we are spoiled by the great cuisine of our area. The staff is friendly and they seem to have their regulars. I don’t think I’ll go back, there are more options in Schenectady to explore on our next trip.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank mosaferNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2018

Canali's has been in business for many years, and based on my most recent visit, it should be able to remain so for many more. Opening at 4:00 PM, the parking lot was well on the way to being full by 4:30. The menu, which features primarily Italian fare, has options to suit most, and portions are ample. Homemade pasta dishes are a definite plus. Make a reservation.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PattyR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

We recently had a banquet here, and they were so accommodating. The food was excellent, just as good as when we eat in the restaurant or get their takeout. Highly recommend for functions, as the price was reasonable and a great value, given the quantity and quality.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018 via mobile

I am ashamed. We were just passing through and found them online. The reviews do not lie. Everything was delicious and plentiful (think dinner with enough leftovers for a full lunch). The manicotti was amazing. The fresh ricotta and the homemade meatballs were delicious. The red sauce has a slight tomatoey sweetness. The lemon garlic chicken was crispy and tender with just the right zing. The service was excellent. The strawberry shortcake looked yummy, but we had no room, so we'll find out tomorrow. If you are passing through, it is worth the winding detour from the throughway. If you live here, I am so jealous!!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank KHolce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

We visited with another family. The food was very good, especially the meatballs. We had reservations, but had to wait longer than I expected. The staff seemed a bit overwhelmed for the crowd, so they were not overly friendly on this occasion. Our waitress was good and responsive though. We will certainly go back.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WallingfordNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canali's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Canali's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing