We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
SaraPlacid Inn & Suites(Saranac Lake)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Saranac Lake(Saranac Lake)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$237
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel(Saranac Lake)(Great Value!)
US$241
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Saranac, Curio Collection by Hilton(Saranac Lake)(Great Value!)
US$243
US$233
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Point(Saranac Lake)
US$2,576
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$254
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
31
5
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
5
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskitchen utensilshot showerthe ownerheleninletcampdockporchouthousewaterfrontlakescanoehostspicnic
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2017

The Cochran Folks are wonderful people. We stayed in the Lean-to last year and it was great. Place for an outdoors fire, picnic table, outhouse, hot shower and sink to wash up in. Nice clean campsite next looking out on the lake with a dock for our canoe. Better than perfect!!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moose777134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KiwassaLakeBB, Owner at Cochran's Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

So glad you enjoyed your stay at Mackenzie's Lean-to! Thanks for coming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

My friends and I were trying to find a nice little getaway for the memorial weekend when we came upon the Cochran's Cabins while searching the internet. We were drawn by the nice pictures and the beautiful sunset.
Getting reservations was really easy and we never had a hard time finding the place since the owner gave us very clear instructions about the place.

The cabin is rustic. It is totally not fancy which is what we like! (SHOUTOUT to those people complaining about how it looks old or whatever, you are renting a CABIN, not a 5-star Hotel room.)

The cabin is definitely homey! We stayed at camp adelle which I think has the best view of the sunset. They have hot and cold water and the kitchen is well stocked with pans and kitchen utensils.

There's no cellphone signal but they do have a wifi porch if ever you want to upload pictures or check your email.

The hosts were really nice and even suggested some activities that we can do and restaurants nearby.
We did the canoe and kayaking which is really fun! It is also cheap and the owners even taught us how to use it!
We also did barbecue and of course, made smores from the campfire!

We had a really nice and fun weekend! We will definitely come back and would highly recommend it to everyone!

To Marjorie, Cliff and Lainey, thank you so much for the hospitality and for the milk. (yeah, we run out of milk for coffee and you gave us some of yours) See you guys soon!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Leacee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KiwassaLakeBB, Owner at Cochran's Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Thank you for visiting Cochran's Cabins! We are glad you enjoyed your accommodations, the awesome LakeView and outside camprfire! We were happy to help with your canoe and kayak adventure!
Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

The Cochran Cabins are the perfect spot for a retreat away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Nestled within miles of surrounding forest, this waterfront B&B on Kiwassa Lake, enabled me to relax and unwind while taking in the breathtaking views from my room. This would not have been possible without the amazing hospitality of the owners, Margie and Cliff. Breakfast was delicious and Margie went out of her way to be accommodating to my dietary restrictions. The accommodations in the Adele cabin were impeccable. You can tell great care is taken on the upkeep and maintenance of the cabins. I am definately returning to this this spot and recommend it to anyone in need of some R&R.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jengramm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

We were looking for a rustic cabin, on the water where we could fish and kayak. That is exactly what we found here. Great place. Nice owner. We had a wonderful weekend. Limited cell service in this area allowed us to truly unplug! Would definitely go again!!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Sebrajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016

Cochran's Cabins is a true gem quaintly located on Kiwassa Lake in Saranac Lake, New York. I visited here for a girls weekend getaway and had a fantastic stay! A secluded property with beautiful views of the lake and a delightful host family. Delicious breakfast, cheery demeanor, cozy fireplace. The hosts give a lot of attention to detail from small notes posted in the rooms to the room name plaques to the adorable tiny pitcher for syrup with my breakfast. Delightful!

The Pike room is phenomenal with breathtaking views of the lake all from the comfort of your warm bed. Camp Adelle is one of my favorite cabins available on the property and I couldn't say enough great things about it. Private, cozy, comfortable deck for reading a book and gazing at the lake. You even have access to your own fishing dock! You won't regret a weekend getaway at Cochran's Cabins. Book your stay now!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews