We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”
Review of Cochran's Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saranac Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cochran's Cabins
Reviewed 5 July 2017

Couldn't have been more pleased with the friendly greeting by the lean-to's namesake, and also with how easy it was to re-book with a credit I had from a year and a half ago! Access to the site was simple, but could use a little bit more of a dry/mitigated path with all the rain that has been coming down, causing tons of mud. Biggest plus was the hot shower, which was pure bliss after a tough day of hiking in the area. Biggest minus was not having any dry wood to start a fire after a rainy day, which would have been a nice touch given the high price for such a basic accommodation. overall, it was an enjoyable experience for a one-night, easy stay on our way to a backpacking trip.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yankeepride20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KiwassaLakeBB, Manager at Cochran's Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Sorry you had to endure the mud! Bad timing for your camping trip, during our monsoon rains!! We had historically high amounts of rain recently. I wish you had asked for dry wood, as we have plenty of dry wood in the campers woodshed! Glad you could come and enjoyed the shower!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2017

The Cochran Folks are wonderful people. We stayed in the Lean-to last year and it was great. Place for an outdoors fire, picnic table, outhouse, hot shower and sink to wash up in. Nice clean campsite next looking out on the lake with a dock for our canoe. Better than perfect!!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moose777134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KiwassaLakeBB, Owner at Cochran's Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

So glad you enjoyed your stay at Mackenzie's Lean-to! Thanks for coming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

My friends and I were trying to find a nice little getaway for the memorial weekend when we came upon the Cochran's Cabins while searching the internet. We were drawn by the nice pictures and the beautiful sunset.
Getting reservations was really easy and we never had a hard time finding the place since the owner gave us very clear instructions about the place.

The cabin is rustic. It is totally not fancy which is what we like! (SHOUTOUT to those people complaining about how it looks old or whatever, you are renting a CABIN, not a 5-star Hotel room.)

The cabin is definitely homey! We stayed at camp adelle which I think has the best view of the sunset. They have hot and cold water and the kitchen is well stocked with pans and kitchen utensils.

There's no cellphone signal but they do have a wifi porch if ever you want to upload pictures or check your email.

The hosts were really nice and even suggested some activities that we can do and restaurants nearby.
We did the canoe and kayaking which is really fun! It is also cheap and the owners even taught us how to use it!
We also did barbecue and of course, made smores from the campfire!

We had a really nice and fun weekend! We will definitely come back and would highly recommend it to everyone!

To Marjorie, Cliff and Lainey, thank you so much for the hospitality and for the milk. (yeah, we run out of milk for coffee and you gave us some of yours) See you guys soon!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Leacee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KiwassaLakeBB, Owner at Cochran's Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Thank you for visiting Cochran's Cabins! We are glad you enjoyed your accommodations, the awesome LakeView and outside camprfire! We were happy to help with your canoe and kayak adventure!
Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

The Cochran Cabins are the perfect spot for a retreat away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Nestled within miles of surrounding forest, this waterfront B&B on Kiwassa Lake, enabled me to relax and unwind while taking in the breathtaking views from my room. This would not have been possible without the amazing hospitality of the owners, Margie and Cliff. Breakfast was delicious and Margie went out of her way to be accommodating to my dietary restrictions. The accommodations in the Adele cabin were impeccable. You can tell great care is taken on the upkeep and maintenance of the cabins. I am definately returning to this this spot and recommend it to anyone in need of some R&R.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jengramm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

We were looking for a rustic cabin, on the water where we could fish and kayak. That is exactly what we found here. Great place. Nice owner. We had a wonderful weekend. Limited cell service in this area allowed us to truly unplug! Would definitely go again!!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Sebrajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saranac Lake hotels
4.4 km away
Best Western Saranac Lake
Best Western Saranac Lake
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
500 reviews
4.3 km away
Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel
13.8 km away
The Point
The Point
#3 of 9 in Saranac Lake
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast
Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 9 in Saranac Lake
109 reviews
4.7 km away
Adirondack Motel
Adirondack Motel
#2 of 9 in Saranac Lake
161 reviews
4.8 km away
Lake Flower Inn
Lake Flower Inn
#6 of 9 in Saranac Lake
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cochran's Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cochran's Cabins

Address: 1150 Kiwassa Lake Rd, Saranac Lake, NY 12983-8314
Region: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Saranac Lake
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located among the Kiwassa maples on Lake Kiwassa and Kiwassa Outlet, Cochran's Cabins are just three miles from the Village of Saranac Lake in the Adirondack Mountains. The property is nestled on over twenty wooded acres at the end of the road, on the water's edge of Lake Kiwassa. Offering 12 cabins, 1 lean-to, boat rentals and camping logistics. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing