We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Saranac Lake(Saranac Lake)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel(Saranac Lake)(Great Value!)
US$241
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SaraPlacid Inn & Suites(Saranac Lake)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Saranac, Curio Collection by Hilton(Saranac Lake)(Great Value!)
US$267
US$256
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Point(Saranac Lake)
US$2,576
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
31
5
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
5
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskitchen utensilshot showerthe ownerheleninletcampdockporchouthousewaterfrontlakescanoehostspicnic
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2015

We have been going to Cochran's for 20 years, and look forward to getting back there every summer. The cabins are clean,well equipped and located in a wooded area with a dock on Kiwassa Inlet. We canoe, fish, bird watch, and enjoy the Perseid Meteor Shower at night. If you love the outdoors, this is the place for you. You are only 10 minutes from the town of Saranac and about 20 minutes from Lake Placid if you want more tourist activity. For us, it is the best of all worlds.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank dfitzgerald1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdirondackCabinsBB, Owner at Cochran's Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2015

Thanks for your kind words. Having repeat guests come year after year is one of the best compliments we get. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2015

Let me start by saying having lived in Saranac Lake NY that I know what the true Adirondack experience is and can be. No doubt Cochran's Cabins takes my hi-5 for friendly and comfy accommodations. Been there and are repeat customers of Margie and Cliff's since 1996.I like to kinda rough it so if you do too check them out.
Maggie A in NY, NY

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Maggie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2014

For the past eight years a group of us have rented Camp MaryAnne (Cochran Cabins) during the fall season. Our rustic cabin was situated in a lovely forest setting next to the water with a dock and was conveniently located a short distance from the town of Saranac Lake. We enjoyed the screened-in porch and found the appliances/cookware in the kitchen/living area to be more than sufficient for meal preparation. The cabin was also equipped with a wood stove which kept it cozy in the fall season. For those campers looking for a private, rustic setting that contains many of the conveniences of civilization, the Cochran Cabins provide an ideal vacation or get-away location. more

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2014

We have stayed at Cochran's many times and have always had a great experience. The cabins are clean and tidy with everything you need for a true Adirondack experience. The Cochrans are very accommodating to your needs and welcome pets. This was important to us as we like to include our dogs in our family getaways.
Cabins are child friendly and ours especially enjoyed fishing off the dock.
Always a pleasure staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigerlilys4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2014

This was our first year at Camp Jenny – and we immediately rebooked for the following year. Marjorie runs a very tight ship for you US Navy veterans out there. The cabin was presented as clean and spacious containing all items that were necessary to cook for and house my family for two weeks away from our home in San Diego. Marjorie graciously made some accommodations for us, as we were traveling so far and checked periodically in to ensure all was well.

The views are spectacular, I really enjoyed being on the inlet to Kiwassa, as we were isolated from the “goings on” on the lake. Every day we were able to enjoy some form of wild life, a family of ducks, minks crossing the channel and the sounds of the loons were amazing. It was a pleasure to watch and wave at the boaters passing in front of our cabin and most of them were very respectful of 5 knot limit on the inlet. Be careful driving to the properties in the evenings, every single day there were deer either on the road, or alongside – you need meander home, don’t be in a rush….

It is a ‘camp’ so it is important to understand that these cabins are just that. Not a five star hotel where you are coddled to every moment of the day – but a clean and dry place to keep your family out of the elements, a home base for all the ADK has to offer. Traditional, functional, spacious, well maintained, clean and very peaceful. Marjorie is fairly particular about who she allows to stay on the property and we found all our neighbors to be respectful of our little piece of the ADK and we were respectful of theirs.

When you take in all the property has to offer, the size of the cabins, the different levels and sizes of accommodations, the pricing is reasonable for a cabin with direct access to the Saranac chain of lakes, and a road into town.

My family (an annual reunion of sorts) has stayed on Lower Saranac for well over 60 years. It was unfortunate that we needed to make a move this year, creating a new place for our tradition to take place. As we packed to head home, I believe all of us wish we had made this move a few years ago.

Please read the other reviews, bring flashlights for moving around at night and a two wheeled cart if you have a bunch of stuff to get down to the cabins - generally about 50 yards from your parking spot to your cabin, the refers are camp size so if you have a big family, a cooler on the porch will help for drinks.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1Lainey, Owner at Cochran's Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2014

Thank you for your kind words, Greg! It was great meeting you and your family while you were here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews