We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like the Terminator... "We'll be back!"”
Review of Cochran's Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saranac Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cochran's Cabins
Reviewed 15 July 2015

My friend and I were looking for an affordable Labor Day weekend getaway and after combing through overpriced AirBNB cottages we had just about given up until we somehow stumbled upon the Cochran's Cabins website. "Modest pricing, incredibly close proximity to a body of water, and the option to bring along our dog?! There must be a catch," we thought. Well, turns out we thought wrong. No catches at Cochran's. What you see in the website is exactly what you get. Truth in advertising is so rare to come by these days! The website accurately describes each cabin in detail and provides pictures so we knew that we obviously wouldn't be walking into a luxury resort, but rather a rustic waterfront chalet. Our home for the weekend, Camp Maryanne, was quaintly furnished, clean, and at night was lit primarily by gas burning lights. The screened in porch that overlooks the Kiwassa Outlet was a perfect place to enjoy a cup of coffee in the morning and regroup with a candlelit meal at night. The trees that shrouded Camp Maryanne made the site incredibly private as well.

Upon arrival we were greeted by the Cochran family dog, Lainey, and soon after we were given a tour of our rental cabin, Camp Maryanne. Marjorie, our host, was not only gracious, but knowledgeable about great places to visit in the area/what activities were available to us. We ended up taking advantage of renting a Cochran's canoe and paddling a few miles through Kiwassa out to Saranac Lake. Later in the day we tipped our canoe, submerging our food, clothing, phones, and pug (Whoops! She's ok, don't worry.) in the lake. Although a traumatic experience for a quick minute, we couldn't help but be in complete awe by the beautiful scenery that surrounded us, which made that soggy iPhone situation not so bad!

Speaking of, cell service is VERY limited out at Cochran's (such was the case at Camp Maryanne, at least.) So, if you're someone who can't handle that sort of thing, then maybe opt out of this trip. I thought of this as a bonus, a little extra incentive to shut myself off from the rest of the world and relax.

The great thing about Cochran's is that you have the means to do as much or as little as you like. From exploring the quaint downtown area of Saranac Lake to enjoying the sunset on your own private dock in complete silence, Cochran's has it all! Overall, the simplicity of Cochran's was incredibly charming and proved to be exactly the kind of break from the chaos of NYC that we needed. We so look forward to bringing more friends to Cochran's this upcoming Labor Day weekend and sharing what makes this place so special!

Room Tip: Make sure to bring flashlights! Walking from your car to the cabins at night can be dark!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1Lainey, Owner at Cochran's Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2015

Thanks so much for your kind words. See you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2015

We have been going to Cochran's for 20 years, and look forward to getting back there every summer. The cabins are clean,well equipped and located in a wooded area with a dock on Kiwassa Inlet. We canoe, fish, bird watch, and enjoy the Perseid Meteor Shower at night. If you love the outdoors, this is the place for you. You are only 10 minutes from the town of Saranac and about 20 minutes from Lake Placid if you want more tourist activity. For us, it is the best of all worlds.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank dfitzgerald1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdirondackCabinsBB, Owner at Cochran's Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2015

Thanks for your kind words. Having repeat guests come year after year is one of the best compliments we get. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2015

Let me start by saying having lived in Saranac Lake NY that I know what the true Adirondack experience is and can be. No doubt Cochran's Cabins takes my hi-5 for friendly and comfy accommodations. Been there and are repeat customers of Margie and Cliff's since 1996.I like to kinda rough it so if you do too check them out.
Maggie A in NY, NY

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Maggie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2014

For the past eight years a group of us have rented Camp MaryAnne (Cochran Cabins) during the fall season. Our rustic cabin was situated in a lovely forest setting next to the water with a dock and was conveniently located a short distance from the town of Saranac Lake. We enjoyed the screened-in porch and found the appliances/cookware in the kitchen/living area to be more than sufficient for meal preparation. The cabin was also equipped with a wood stove which kept it cozy in the fall season. For those campers looking for a private, rustic setting that contains many of the conveniences of civilization, the Cochran Cabins provide an ideal vacation or get-away location. more

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2014

We have stayed at Cochran's many times and have always had a great experience. The cabins are clean and tidy with everything you need for a true Adirondack experience. The Cochrans are very accommodating to your needs and welcome pets. This was important to us as we like to include our dogs in our family getaways.
Cabins are child friendly and ours especially enjoyed fishing off the dock.
Always a pleasure staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigerlilys4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saranac Lake hotels
4.4 km away
Best Western Saranac Lake
Best Western Saranac Lake
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
499 reviews
4.3 km away
Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel
0.2 km away
Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast
Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Adirondack Motel
Adirondack Motel
#3 of 9 in Saranac Lake
161 reviews
4.8 km away
Lake Flower Inn
Lake Flower Inn
#6 of 9 in Saranac Lake
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cochran's Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cochran's Cabins

Address: 1150 Kiwassa Lake Rd, Saranac Lake, NY 12983-8314
Region: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Saranac Lake
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located among the Kiwassa maples on Lake Kiwassa and Kiwassa Outlet, Cochran's Cabins are just three miles from the Village of Saranac Lake in the Adirondack Mountains. The property is nestled on over twenty wooded acres at the end of the road, on the water's edge of Lake Kiwassa. Offering 12 cabins, 1 lean-to, boat rentals and camping logistics. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing