We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (515)
Filter reviews
515 results
Traveller rating
465
37
6
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
465
37
6
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshudson valleywest pointthe main housestorm king art centerbrotherhood winerybreakfast was deliciouswonderful hostshill roomother guestsmodern conveniencesgas fireplacebridal suiteperfect weekendb bsevery amenitybear mountainbeautiful property
Filter
Updating list...
491 - 496 of 515 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2008

Traveled to West Point for the Air Force/Army football game and needed a place to stay post game for 1 night. The wife researched and found the Caldwell Bed and Breakfast, made the call and soon had reservations. The fall colors were in full bloom, and the short ride from West Point to Salisbury Mills was beautiful and scenic. The house was easy to find, and Carmella happily greeted us at the door. This 200 year plus home is immaculate and very quiet. There were 3 other nice couples there, but did not know that until the next morning. There were home made cookies, snacks and drinks available for the munchies, and a grand homemade breakfast the next morning consisting of poached pears, homemade muffins and awesome homemade French toast. Fresh cider and bottomless coffee made for an extremely satisfying start to the day. Gene and Carmella are gracious hosts. They greeted us by name and are extremely knowledgeable of the history of not only their home, but the surrounding area. A real treat and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rock615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2008

My wife and I have stayed at dozens of B & B's. This was the very best one, hands down. Caldwell has been named the Best B & B in the Hudson River Valley more than once. I can see why. The decor is authentic but not cluttered. The rooms are spotless and meticulously cleaned and kept up. You couldn't hope for a more delicious breakfast. (Carmela is an award-winning chef.) And the service? Gene & Carmela were helpful when you needed them to be, out-of-the-way when you needed them to be. They were enormously helpful with anything we needed ... and then they seemed to vanish when we needed privacy. They are as talented as they are kind. The house and the setting are gorgeous. And this area of the Hudson River Valley is one of the most beautiful in the State of New York. It was an unforgettable and [----]-near-perfect experience.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CambridgeSept2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2008

If you would like to experience a little bit of heaven, spend some time at the Caldwell House in Salisbury Mills, New York. The Caldwell House is a charming Bed and Breakfast near West Point and not far from Hyde Park, the home of Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt. Your hosts, Carmela Turco and Gene Sheridan, are the type of people that you feel you have known forever; and if you are an animal lover, their pet pooch Buffy will steal your heart. Our room was beautifully appointed with historically appropriate furnishings in this 200-year old home. The bed was very comfortable. There was nothing more fun than opening our door each morning and smelling the aroma of warm coffee and one of Carmela's delectable breakfast delights. Gene can help you plan a fun day of sightseeing, and he is a gourmet's delight as he can recommend a restaurant for whatever you might want for dinner complete with directions of exactly how to get there. We had such a good time, and we do hope that these Oklahomans will get another opportunity to revisit the Caldwell House.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank agdrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2008

My husband and I with our best friends just spent 3 wonderful nights at the Caldwell House. It was our first experience at a Bed and Breakfast. What a wonderful first start!
First of all this 200 year old house was beautifully preserved and modernized and yet kept with the period of the house. My husband and I shared the Queen bedroom, the Trestle Room. This room was named after a nearby historic landmark. It was furnished with a rope style bed, which was very comfortable, and had a matching 1820 sheraton rope style burear. All of the bedrooms had their own private bath and shower. The entire house was beautifully furnished with antiques.
The house is run by Carmela Turco and Eugene Sheridan, a very nice and friendly married couple. Carmela went to culinary school after retiring from teaching and besides being a fabulous cook, even has her own cookbook, which she will sell.
We had a variety of different delicious homemade breakfast items each morning and homemade cookies all during the day for snacking.
We spent one morning at the dining table in conversation with this lovely couple. It seemed we had known them for years. They have a variety of pamplets on places to visit and eat.
I would certainly recommend this B & B to anyone lucky enough to get the opportunity to visit the area.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OklahomaTrickyDick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2008

Great place! My fiance and I stayed there for the weekend as a celebration weekend right after we got engaged. The inn keepers were very nice and thoughtful - they even printed a special congratulations to us on their morning menu. The location is very peaceful, and the breakfast was tasty. There is also a lot of good food nearby. I'd recommend this place as a great weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rograce_ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews