We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
13
12
2
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
12
2
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews german music hiking trails meal times outdoor pool golf driving range basketball court beer garden german style great family hot tub playground pools internet tennis game fixtures woods
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2018

Easy to find. Not too far outside the NYC metro area. Picturesque area of the Catskills. Clean pools and hot tubs, both indoor and outdoor. We didn't use the workout room but it also looked clean and functional.

You can buy an all-inclusive plan or you can buy meals as needed and the drinks at the bar are very reasonably priced. Food is German style so the of meat-and-potato type of fare. It's not a menu that you choose from; it's like when Mom cooks at home: one of the same meal served to everyone. Kid-friendly organized group activity after dinner. Rooms have all the basics you could need.

This is not some frilly spa so please don't come here if you're high maintenance. But if you want clean lodging with pools, and a family-friendly environment, this a very nice, authentic mountain lodge.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

Fantastic place! What I loved most about it was the true retro atmosphere that this place has. Founded in the 1930's, in the heart of a Bavarian community in the Catskills, it feels like not much has changed. The location is not far from NYC, in the foot of the Catskills, with many paths and trails actually starting at the resort. Amenities include a tennis court, basketball court, indoor heated pool and jacuzzi, outdoor pool and a couple of children playground fixtures. There is a lot of grass and space to run around. In the main office building there a a few sitting rooms with a couple of fireplaces, some board games and a game room with fußball and pool tables. Service is fantastic. Staff is very friendly and casual, bar is lively and cheap. Food is traditional Bavarian, cheap, tasty and very hearty. Meal times are the same for everyone every day. A staff member will ring the bell throughout the resort and all guests will come and eat. There's no choice of courses, but the food is heavy and fantastic (ex. half chicken roasted with mashed potatoes and apfeltorte with ice cream for dessert). Rooms are the only thing that could use a little bit of a facelift. Didn't feel like they were the cleanest or best kept, but also it's a lot of rooms. Overall highly recommended!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 196gals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

Each year, the week prior to Superbowl, we go up to Riedlbauer's for a gathering with friends and family. The family-owned property offers skiing, hiking trails, a great bar, a Saturday night DJ dance party, as well as indoor pool and hot tub. Breakfast is served daily, buffet style (eggs, bacon, waffles, cereal, juices, coffee/tea included with room). Dinner menu is available at night with both German and American dishes, salads, etc. The family that owns and runs the place is warm and accommodating and always recognize us when we return each year. Only negative was they ran out of steak on Sat. night since they had a larger attendance than expected, but other items were made to accommodate our needs. Highly recommend this resort on a beautiful property, regardless of the time of year. The waterfalls and trails were great this time..

Date of stay: January 2018
1  Thank stephaniev261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Just here for a weekend -- great time had by our three families. There's a special kind of family magic in this Round Top-Cairo area. But, also, how can you not have fun at a place like this? Riedlbauer’s has expanses of green lawns, flowers, lawn chairs, and large trees all set around various accommodations and the main houses. Beyond the sweep of lawn, just past tennis court and gazebo, is the sparkling large pool and the huge hot tub. On the other side of the tennis court is a shuffleboard court (our families had a fun competition :-) and playground. Beyond that a pond w/ boats! Turn right, take a short walk through pines and, behold, a beer garden w/ music (a band playing when we were there!) and a golf driving range! This little entertainment oasis sits dramatically below wooded hillsides and trails.

If weather is poor, inside can be found another pool and hot tub (!), video games, pool table and FuBball games, Ms. Pacman, a TV, and charming bar and snackbar. Best of all, maybe, is the nature that awaits a short hike away. We all had fun in the cool streams and waterfalls after short hike to them on a hot day. I almost expected to find Rip V. Winkle sleeping in the ferns it was so pretty & classic upstate New York. Finally, rooms & beds fall somewhere between Hampton Inn and Maine cabin spartan. Bathrooms are quite nice, and both are very clean. Common rooms in most of the buildings are cozy, and I saw a late night card game in action in our building. Lots of balconies too. As for breakfast, it was more good food than we expected, and both room and set tables so pretty. Riedlbauers peeps were also quite friendly. The only negative I can think of is that the German music playing outside could be mixed with some non-German.

Room tip: The Jagerhaus (?) rooms are among the smallest & most 'motel-ish.' Others are nicer.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Goodmanri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

I have to believe that most of these reviews are in house. Upon check in, we were asked to pay a 50.00 advance for gratuity which we politely declined. Rooms are gross (don’t even get me started on the bathrooms), old and grungy..musty..paper thin walls and holes in screens allowing bugs in...which, by the way there are MANY a variety. I get that this is the mountains..but I don’t need spiderwebs and prey hanging like drapes at every turn as I enter the room to remind me of that.
The staff seems ok..but with an air of “you get what you get” mentality. The dinner offerings are a good example of this. Family style dinner typically offers a choice or delivery of at least two different entrees and sides..this is not the case here. Expect one entree, one side and a salad. One type of dessert. Food just ok. Also strange is the bar tender who asks you if you have your old glass when you go to order a second drink at the bar. Bring your own food and snacks, unless you are ok with being redirected between meal times to a sole vending machine consisting of Doritos and Cheetos.
Indoor pool appears old, cloudy and dank. Oh and you are asked to buy towels for the pool if you did not bring your own, as guests are not permitted to use room towels there.
Entertainment is..interesting. Picture your grandpa at the keyboard playing the chicken dance and the hokey pokey with a German flair. This was probably the most redeeming part of this experience, where the time warp/ surreal feel was most forgiving....albeit cringe-worthy at times. They do give out free post cards of the resort so don’t forget to take advantage of this perk before you leave. ;)

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
5  Thank JerseyHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews