We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much to see/do”

The Strong National Museum of Play
Book In Advance
More Info
US$15.00*
and up
The Strong Museum Admission
Ranked #1 of 117 things to do in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Strong is a highly interactive, collections-based museum devoted to the history and exploration of play. It is one of the largest history museums in the United States and one of the leading museums serving families. The Strong houses the world's largest and most comprehensive collection of historical materials related to play and is home to the International Center for the History of Electronic Games, the National Toy Hall of Fame, the World Video Game Hall of Fame, the Brian Sutton-Smith Library and Archives of Play, the Woodbury School, and the American Journal of Play. Together, these enable a multifaceted array of research, exhibition, and other interpretive and educational activities that serve a diverse audience of adults, families, children, students, teachers, scholars, collectors, and others around the globe.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

There is interactive play.
There are aquariums.
There are very old games/toys in order of time spans.
A large carousel and town setting at the entrance.

Thank 507poconomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strong M, Manager at The Strong National Museum of Play, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Thank you for providing a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,937)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"sesame street"
in 155 reviews
"butterfly garden"
in 151 reviews
"video games"
in 121 reviews
"all ages"
in 302 reviews
"toy hall of fame"
in 59 reviews
"mini wegmans"
in 46 reviews
"taco bell"
in 33 reviews
"pizza hut"
in 31 reviews
"pinball machines"
in 40 reviews
"grocery store"
in 66 reviews
"berenstain bears"
in 24 reviews
"food court"
in 86 reviews
"great place for kids"
in 44 reviews
"fairy tale"
in 20 reviews
"train ride"
in 32 reviews
"young at heart"
in 26 reviews
"kids and adults"
in 58 reviews
Filter

45 - 49 of 1,937 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2018

We have been going to The Strong for 10 years. My 12 year old still loves it and my 8 year old always has a blast. We love the new additions. The employees have always been so helpful and kind. The food court offers something for everyone: Subway, Taco Bell, Pizza Hut and Bill Grey's that is called the Skyliner Diner - a 1950s diner. If you visit Rochester, this is the place to go. Aside from all the great things for kids - the second floor has an extensive video/arcade games to play with tokens (purchased with cash/debit/credit card). Adults will enjoy this as well. So much to see and do. Amazing collections of toys from the 1800s to the present.

1  Thank BellaBast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strong M, Manager at The Strong National Museum of Play, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

It is great to hear that you continue to enjoy all that the museum has to offer. Thank you for your review and for your continued support!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

This museum is a gem. Well done historical displays of many games, toys, video games, arcades and even sporting pursuits. Hands on in many areas and good for all ages. Programs are offered regularly. Plan for a morning or afternoon. Ample parking. Facility is well maintained and presented. A cool original diner is located in the lobby atrium.

Thank Howard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strong M, Manager at The Strong National Museum of Play, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

We appreciate your feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed the exhibits as well as the diner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

I must admit.... My wife and daughter were not looking forward to this trip that my son and I had planned. But they were soon loving the place....my tip is that if you have teens start with the second floor since that's what they will find more interesting.

Thank cooldad5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strong M, Manager at The Strong National Museum of Play, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

It is great to hear that your whole family enjoyed the museum and the second floor in particular. Thank you for providing a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2018

If you enjoy going to the museum, it's a very good one! I'll be back again with my kids! Such a special day for us! Thnks!

Thank taylelumaol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strong M, Manager at The Strong National Museum of Play, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you and your family soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Strong National Museum of Play also viewed

 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to The Strong National Museum of Play? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing