We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They say we want to "exceed your expectation" and they did!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Rochester University
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Rochester
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Our Family went to see our son compete in the Head of the Genesee Rowing Regatta.

This hotel is closest to the finish line but beyond that, the staff are funny, fully engaging and professional every step of the way. We had a river view room and it was late when we checked in and the woman at the front desk confirmed we had one city view room and one "ocean view room" - such clever humour! Pool is great and indoors with a lovely view of the river. Weekend buffet is spectacular with an omelette station and the weekdays buffet is very good but no omelette station. The hotel is very clean, happy staff there to assist with any need you may have. Well done Staybridge and thanks for exceeding my expectations! You kept your promise!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2016

I have spent 14 days (September 2016) in this hotel due to my research/business trip. My room was located in the 4th floor with beautiful view on the river. It was nice to hear frogs and different bird kinds during breakfast from the outside terrace. Room was very nice, large and clean. Perfect addition is complimentary laundry at the basement- detergent can be bought in "Pantry" on reception desk. Breakfasts are good and from Monday to Wednesday they have the "Social" - event aimed to establish communication among hotel guests, accompanied by food and drink. Personel was kind and helpful. Only negative thing was non-functional pool and some quite noisy device above my bathroom (probably ventilation system). But still, this would be my choice again.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Filip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

We spent the Meliora weekend at Rochester, and the Staybridge was an excellent place to stay. This isn't the Four Seasons, so if you're going expecting luxury or rooms service you'll be disappointed. But the rooms were clean, the furnishings certainly adequate, the bed comfortable and the river view lovely. The bathroom layout was odd, with the sink next to the bed, but we could live with that.The location is perfect for those visiting the University of Rochester; if you're purpose is to visit the city itself perhaps there are better options in the downtown area with more amenities. If you're going to visit your child at college, this is an excellent option. What stood out was the friendliness and helpfulness of every single staff member we met, especially those at the front desk who unfailingly greeted us with a welcome and a smile no matter what time of day.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chookoo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Great location when stayed here for 5 nights for graduation at Univ of Rochester. We had an excellent time and enjoyed the river views. This is really the best place to stay in town. We had a nice large suite with a full kitchen. There is a very nice fire pit sitting area for drinks and enjoying the views. You can easily walk to the campus from your room. We drove for graduation as it was a long walk in high heels.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sunshinewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016

This hotel is nice and has a lot of positives but the pool is closed indefinitely for repairs. No one told me that when I made my reservation. When I got there and found out the pool is closed our family was very upset as that is what we were looking forward to. The front desk told me they don't know when the pool will reopen . So if you intend to use the pool call the hotel first before making a reservation. Other than that, rooms are nice and clean and breakfast is good and staff is nice.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank worldtraveler635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2016

Dear worldtraveler635,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We greatly appreciate your kind words regarding our staff and we're glad you enjoyed the breakfast. We have taken note of your comments regarding the pool being closed and apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Please be assured that necessary steps will be taken to correct this point that you have raised to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
9.3 km away
Hampton Inn Rochester-Greece
9.2 km away
Homewood Suites Rochester/Greece
3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Rochester - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Hyatt Regency Rochester
Hyatt Regency Rochester
#21 of 29 in Rochester
1,183 reviews
3.5 km away
Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown
1.9 km away
Ramada Plaza Rochester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Rochester University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Rochester University

Address: 1000 Genesee St, Rochester, NY 14611-4106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rochester
#7 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range: €93 - €143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Rochester University 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated along the scenic Genesee River overlooking the University of Rochester the Staybridge Suites Rochester University Area is the perfect choice for university visitors. The hotel is a short walk to UR River Campus, minutes to Eastman School of Music and University of Rochester Medical Center campus including Strong Memorial Hospital, Golisano Children’s Hospital and Rochester Institute of Technology. Guests choose Staybridge Suites for spacious river view suites in a park like setting minutes to downtown Rochester, Highland Park and ROC airport. Staybridge Suites offers complimentary full breakfast buffet served daily and social receptions Mon-Wed nights. The hotel boasts a fitness center, business center, outdoor living area, fire pit, heated pool, bike rental, Genesee river trail access and boat docks. Best hotel for guests attending the Lilac Festival, Fringe Festival, Xerox Rochester International Jazz Fest, Corn Hill Arts Fest, Park Ave Arts Festival and Image Out Fest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites Rochester University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Rochester University Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing