We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveller rating
65
90
71
44
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
65
90
71
44
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews attached garage wedding venue hudson river walking bridge shuttle bus buffet style decent size very nice hotel stayed two nights poughkeepsie area grandview maureen bride thermostat walkway
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 299 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2018

My husband and I attended a wedding at The Grandview and the Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel is where we stayed at for the night. There were plenty of parking (Civic Center park Building) and this hotel has a nice bar at the lobby. This hotel has plenty of rooms and offers buffet breakfast as well.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya R, Front Office Manager at Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Thank you & we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

We had hoped this might be a well-refurbished old hotel. Alas, no. Just old in a bad way -- tired. The breakfast was filling, but a decidedly down-market version of the now standard buffet. Won a road trip, and have enjoyed much nicer accommodations for $50 less a night. You would think, for $200 a night, they could do better than plastic glasses. The key advantage is that it's one block from the excellent Millhouse Brew Pub.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank museum-a-day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya R, Front Office Manager at Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Thank you for your comments, sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

This place is horrible!!! From the gross parking garage, to the nasty elevators to get you from the parking garage, to the carpets in the hall, to the stinky smelly hallways. If it wasn’t for the fact that I was here for a wedding, I’d had left. The room smelled musty. I sprayed it with perfume to help us get through the night. There is no fitness center, no pool, no spa. Their breakfast is nasty. I had to leave to find a restaurant to eat and get some coffee. Please don’t waste your time if you can help it.

Date of stay: July 2018
2  Thank enjoyinglifelawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya R, Front Office Manager at Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Thank you for your review! We're so sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

In town for a class reunion and thought booking in the city a good idea versus the plentiful chain hotels out on Rt 9, and of course intrigued by the "Grand" in the name. While the lobby and bar look good -- and were chock full of wedding guests getting ready for their main events -- and there are plentiful function rooms, when I got to my room -- after having to park in an adjacent multi story garage, drag suitcase to garage elevator, down to hotel lobby and then up to my room (unpleasant also late at night) -- it was decent motel quality at best. Spacious room, big bed, tons of pillows, desk, table and chair with window overlooking the parking garage roof and bridges over Hudson beyond. As one other reviewer said, hard finding an outlet including nothing near bed with which to charge the phone I also use as my alarm clock. Boring decor, but again, not critical as long as amenities ok. Towels were more cheap motel grade, and although there was a refrigerator and microwave, with "Grand" in the name, I had rather thought there might be a mini bar. If you have to stay in the city, ok, but brace yourself for basic motel everything at what was a very high price for the June weekend. If you don't fancy wandering around a parking garage alone at night looking for the elevator, you won't care that parking is free. Breakfast is too. That's something suppose. Never again.

Room tip: As for room with view toward the river
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya R, Front Office Manager at Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Thank you for your review! We are sorry to hear of your complaints, we do appreciate that you stayed with us for 2 nights.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

What a dump. The room was worse than you might find at Motel 8 spartan. Disgusting Bathroom had a tiny sink and a tub. They wanted a deposit for the remote on the TV!

There are no good hotels in Poughkeepsie. So if thinking of sending your kid to school here consider Boston or Baltimore Great schools and hotels!!!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank JazzyMom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya R, Front Office Manager at Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Thank you for your review! Our bathrooms come equipped with all standard size sinks, bathtubs, showers, and toilets. We don't understand your comment about the TV remote, since we have NEVER ask any guest to "leave a deposit for the TV remote"! We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you disliked the great outstanding Marist College, Vassar College and The Culinary Institute of America, all in Poughkeepsie. Good luck on your journey for a great school!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews