We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why isn't this place condemed?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercury Grand Hotel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Why isn't this place condemed?”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The only thing I can trully think to say is that the owners of this place must have strong ties to the local building inspectors and health department, as this place needs to be condemed and the owners sued for pain and suffering for anyone having to work there. If the law states that it is a good enough establishment to operate in its current capacity then the law needs to be changed. Buyers beware this place is not what it claims. A corporate logo and some locks on small cold rooms. A hotel does not make.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nosugarcoating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    26
    17
    34
    77
See reviews for
38
54
21
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

This hotel is quaint, clean and my room has always been very nice. Lena, Sanjay( manager) has always been nice and courteous to me. Food is good and other staff are pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fanni07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

One of the most customer-insensitive hotels I have ever stayed at. Came in late and was assigned a room at the end of the longest hall. Carting two large bags, I arrived only to find the key card didn't work. After a long process, I was shifted to a closer room, only to discover the next morning that there was no shower curtain. The free breakfast was a disaster, with many hot food containers either empty or containing dried-out, over-cooked, inedible food. The attendant in the room left for a back room when I arrived and I never saw her again, so I couldn't complain. When I mentioned my concerns to the front desk about the room and breakfast, I was greeted with an indifferent and unresponsive, "sorry 'bout that" (that's a direct quote). No sense of concern was expressed and that sentiment clinched it for me. Never again will I stay at this or any other Clarion. It was awful.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaB30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Poughkeepsie hotels

San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2011

There was no elevator and no one even offered to help us to our room on the 2nd floor with our bags. It was like they closed the doors in 1972 and reopened yesterday. Accustic ceiling tiles, mold and basic disrepair. The lack of fire sprinklers in the rooms was alarming. The linens were clean and the bartender was nice.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terry a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

When you walk in the roof leaks into 4 buckets. When you walk to your room the ceiling is practically falling down. If you go to the vending machine it's out of order and yes it's got a leak overtop of it. If you go to breakfast expect a dirty kitchen with overbooked and gross food. If you complain to GM expect them to say too bad no refund.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Onestay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poughkeepsie hotels
1.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
3.6 km away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
417 reviews
4.3 km away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
272 reviews
4.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
1.4 km away
Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie
Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie
#9 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercury Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercury Grand Hotel

Property: Mercury Grand Hotel
Address: 2170 South Rd, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-5847 (Formerly formerly Clarion Hotel )
Region: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercury Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Mercury Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Poughkeepsie
Clarion Hotel And Conference Center
Best Western Poughkeepsie
Poughkeepsie Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing