We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveller rating
119
109
53
22
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
109
53
22
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbasketball courtfull kitchentwo bedroom suitered robinlonger stayyoga roompull out bedkitchen areaindoor poolgreat amenitieshot tubparking lotwafflesfour nightsbusiness triphome away from homeextra pillows
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 317 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

We were upgraded to two bedroom suite with a fireplace. The room was clean and spacious. It met our expectations for a Marriott Residence Inn. The staff were friendly and attentive. We would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

Our family was in town to visit Vassar College, and the location was very convenient for that purpose. The room was roomy, and the beds were comfortable. It's always nice to see friendly staff. The breakfast, was standard, and served it's purpose.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gelo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

After spending a night at home with no power following the Nor’easter storm that hit the Hudson Valley - we reserved a couple nights here to wait for power to return. It was not as close as we would have liked, but there were no closer properties with availability.

The hotel is located within easy walking distance of a few good eateries and coffee places , such as Starbucks, Bonsai and Red Robin.

The one bedroom suite that we reserved was fine. The free breakfast was pretty decent.

What was a bit surprising is that the hotel did not offer any free coffee, fruit or cookies in the common area. I thought that most of these kind of hotels had things like lemon water, coffee and at certain times some free fruit or cookies. Even if they did not do such things normally - with so many people coming in to stay due to the power outages - it would have been a welcome gesture for the displaced families.

Another issue was the availability of extra pillows. We had two teenagers that had to share the pull out sofa... but only one pillow was provided in the room and they had no extra pillows to give us.

Yet another issue was the pool/whirlpool area. There were no towels available at the pool and the place was a bit of a mess with so many visitors just throwing the used towels everywhere. The next day that I went to the pool , fresh towels had still not been restocked.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seif F, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Bill R-

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay with us at the Residence Inn Poughkeepsie. We are so glad we were able to provide accommodations during the storm which left so many without power. We love that our location close to so many restaurants and shopping was convenient for you. We hope that you will stay with us again, and hopefully under much more pleasant circumstances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

Stayed here for two nights recently. I really wanted to give this a better rating. The decor is updated and pleasant, the rooms are good size, plenty of space for a couple and a dog. They are pet friendly (extra fee) and the front desk and management were all very nice and helpful. But...the breakfast service and the man working the area were very much below par. First day, came down with plenty of time left, and there was hardly any food. A big tin of hard, cold scrambled eggs and some wheat bread for toast. This was an hour before it was to shut down. But worse was that there were no plates, bowls, etc. When I asked, a rude gentleman said they were coming, but it took 10 minutes for any plates to show up. Forget about utensils. First day, the utensils were filthy, so much so that every guest down there was hovering around asking for clean utensils. They never came. I ate with my fingers. Second day, went even earlier. Still a bunch of unappetizing scrambled eggs and no utensils. I was more vocal this time, and the same man brought four dripping wet forks out and put them in the container. I did report this to the front desk, and the clerk apologized profusely and said she would alert the manager. Other than the breakfast, the only complaints were that no toiletries were left in the room and there was some uneaten candy on top of the refrigerator. Otherwise, all was clean and very comfy bed.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helenann2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seif F, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Helenann2k-

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel at the Residence Inn Poughkeepsie. We are pleased to hear your interactions with our front desk and management were pleasant. We are very sorry to hear of your negative experiences during breakfast. We certainly will review with our team and identify areas of improvement immediately.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel last summer when we came to drop our son to the college and we were so happy with our stay that we decided to choose it this time as well.
Spacious room, great location, warm and friendly staff makes it a great place to stay.
Loved our stay here.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank binduborle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews