We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good food”

Erie Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 42 Restaurants in Port Jervis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 5 November 2018

Have never had a bad meal here. Menu offers lots of variety and a good price range depending on how hungry you are or how much you wish to spend. They also usually offer several specials each day for even more variety. Ordered a flight of beer ($8) to sample four different types of autumn delights at the bartender's discretion. Bartender chose well - we enjoyed all four, most especially the Pumpking Ale which we might never have tried otherwise. Then came the French onion soup - still the best in the tri-state area that we've ever had. Tons of delicious cheese on top and broiled to perfection. Very highly recommend. Wings with blue cheese dressing and celery were also very good - not as large or as many flavors to choose from as those served at The Grill nearby in Matamoras, but still good. Pastrami Reuben with dill spear and small cup of cole slaw were also very good ($7.95). Steak dinners at a nearby table looked phenomenal. Service was also friendly and helpful. It was very busy and bustling on a Sunday evening when we went around 5:30 p.m., but they had plenty of staff, and we didn't have to wait for a table.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

We were in town for the street fair and decided to stop here for lunch.. thankfully it was the right choice.
The place has so much character and the food was great... best wings we’ve had..
Will definitely be back when in the area....

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank greeneyes132018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018

Met my best friend from high school and we decided to eat dinner. I had the Big Blue Burger...it was loaded with blue cheese on top and loaded with flavor! It was also very juicy, not at all dried out. Our waitress had a delay in getting our order in but she offered us free dessert to compensate...a nice surprise. Great atmosphere with old time trains around and real wood designs from long ago.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathy A F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

Place is very nice inside, menu is extensive, steak seems to be their top plate. Baked potato was not hot, and we were never asked if we would like a glass of water. Just saying!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 181hughd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Visited for the second time after a rafting trip with a big group. The first time just for drinks which were fine and this last time for dinner and drinks. The food took over and hour to be served and when everything came out we were so disappointed. Steak was well done when asked for medium rare, fish and chips where over fried and hard like a hockey puck, French dip was dry and chicken marsala was flavorless. Very poor quality food on top of that. The waiter didnt approach us to ask how we were doing so we decided to look for her and she said she would tell the manager. Manager comped three of the six meals but still got stuck with a 120 check plus tip and she never came out to apologize or anything. Such a horrible experience. We will never be back.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Lauren V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Erie Hotel and Restaurant also viewed

Matamoras, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Port Jervis, NY
 

Been to Erie Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing