We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clarion Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hampton Inn Oneonta(Oneonta)(Great Value!)
US$256
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
US$214
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Oneonta Cooperstown Area(Oneonta)(Great Value!)
US$254
US$244
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 88(Oneonta)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$233
US$208
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
53
60
51
27
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
60
51
27
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdowntown oneontafront desk staffbusiness travelerthe room was nicebeds were comfortablehousekeepingclerkny
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2017

The location, behind the Main Street in town, is advantageous because you don't have to eat breakfast at the restaurant in the hotel where you can wait thirty minutes for a couple of eggs! This is the best feature of the hotel.
Otherwise, the staff acts as if your every request (.e.g., a late checkout) puts them out - or the housekeeping staff. We went swimming in the very small indoor pool, only to find not enough towels. We asked for more, and got one (count 'em, 1) more towel of the small variety. The rest were "in the wash." OK, but a good hotel / desk staffer gets towels from the rooms to make it work. Not here though.
Halls smell of smoke, and are dingy and poorly lit. Our room had stains on the carpet. The under window air conditioner / heater was LOUD. The internet was free, and slow enough to be called overpriced. We were on the second flooor on the Main Street side (actually the rear of the hotel).
Finally, at checkout, a charge was added to the bill for housekeeping. It was small, $2 per night. But what was this for? Front desk staff answer was that it paid for the room cleaning. Huh? If I don't pay this I get a rooom with dirty sheets & towels? Never mind, we paid it just to be done with this place, and will not return.
I suggest you don't go here either.

Room Tip: Chose one in some other hotel!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cardinal2B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

We are pleased you find our location convenient to the local shops and restaurants. We do try to accommodate guest requests whenever possible. This cannot always happen due to occupancy demands and business levels. Generally the weekends are our busiest time and that can have an impact.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Where to begin: Front desk, check-in experience was very unprofessional. I know the name of the receptionist that greeted me but won't reveal so she can keep her job. She was unfriendly to say the least. The so-called hotel suite was terrible. The pull-out love seat was unusable and the staff advised that my son should sleep on the floor because there were no rollaway beds available - that was their best solution! The room was not 100% clean and the 5th floor hallway had a strong stench of mildew.

The hotel is need of refurbishing! Water stains from a leaky roof were all over the room. The air conditioner / heater is outdated and extremely loud. Wish I had remembered ear plugs to drown out the noise.

My parents room smelled of cigarette smoke and the toilet overflowed with a simple flush!

The train that passed by at 3 AM sounded its bell and one would have thought it was the alarm clock! I heard my neighbor coughing all night. I will never return to this property unless the entire staff is replaced, the rooms upgraded, and the customer service improves!

The manager did provide a financial remedy but it still would not inspire me to return to this property.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank deemo815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Although Clarion Hotels are not the crown jewel in the Choice Hotels empire, our room was large, clean, and well equipped. The beds were comfortable. We asked for a room for the disabled, and were pleased that the bathroom had a roll-in shower with a flexible hose, and that the toilet had grab bars on both sides, rather than the usual one. The only improvement possible would be to add to the grab bar in the back of the shower another one on the side wall.

The rate does not include breakfast, but there i an adjoining grill that serves omelet breakfasts at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arlingtonfoodie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thank you. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The Clarion Brand of Choice Hotels does not include breakfast as the Clarion brand offers a restaurant onsite.

Please come back and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

It was the only hotel I could find for under $200 on short notice in a 40 mile radius from the weekend even my fiance and i were attending. The staff was really friendly and helpful even when we asked what the night life was and what there was to do around. The rooms were very clean and nice. There was a coffee pot, a mini fridge, and even cocktail glasses. The towels were big and soft. For the night we were definitely impressed. Thinking of booking again for next summers trip.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ashleigh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. It is nice that you found our downtown location convenient to the local night life. We are glad you found our staff friendly and the hotel nice and clean.

Come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Location was good, overall the appearance seemed good until we got off the elevator and then I would say it seemed a bid run down. It strike us right away that the hallways were dirty. The room seemed fine though.

Room Tip: Second Floor has a direct exit onto shopping street
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Margaret,

Thank you for your input. We had gone through the hotel and installed energy efficient lighting in the hallways. Unfortunately, the bulbs did not provide the desired illumination we had hoped for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews