We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”
Review of China Famous Foods

China Famous Foods
Ranked #59 of 203 Restaurants in Fira
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just finished a late lunch at this busy establishment. Most of the diners were Chinese so that plus the good reviews made our decision. The food is delicious. Great healthy choices including tofu and lots of veggie dishes. Great break from Greek food. Leaving in the morning but would go back if we were staying longer.

Thank FancyMare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin Z, Manager at China Famous Foods, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your review! Although our main targeted guests are Chinese travellers, we also put in efforts to make our food accepted by western guests, and we are really glad to hear that you enjoyed our food! I'll be delighted to share your compliments with our team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We were walking around Fira and noticed about 15 people eating here around 11.30 am. I felt this was a good indicator, at 12.30 we went there for something to eat we got the last table, food was delicious and cooked fresh so be prepared to wait a while for it. We were in Fira 3 days and had lunch here each day
500ml Heineken only €3, inexpensive great value, great food. Thank you very much

Thank Gerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

Had the pork dumplings and it was gd. Overall, taste was authentic and much much better than other stores. Would recommend this restaurant for your Chinese food cravings. This is more typical Chinese Sichuan food style though.

Thank t0ngdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin Z, Manager at China Famous Foods, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Thanks for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018 via mobile

We went for a late dinner. Decided we needed a change of pace from the Greek fare we have been enjoying. Very glad we did.

It was busy at 2130 a good sign. We did get a table the waiter was very pleasant and also told us food could be 30 minutes. That was fine with us but nice if you were in a hurry for something.

We ordered steamed pork dumplings, spring rolls and noodles with seafood. The only surprise was the waiter came back and said they were out of dumplings, the last order went to the table across.

Heresy! Out of dumplings. Deeply saddened.

Anyway, we recovered and went with the chicken fried rice. Oh, we changed our mind on the seafood and asked to change to pork and pickles noodle soup. Not a problem.

Meal came in much less than 30 minutes but would have been worth the wait!

This was simply some of the best Asian we have had in a very long time. Noodle soup was absolutely delicious! Fried rice was perfect and was not saturated with soy like North American rice. This was white but so much more flavorful. Spring rolls were hot and very tasty.

We were very pleased and glad we made the change up. Pricing is very good. Less than €30 with a beer and wine.

Probably would have given a 5 dot if they had the dumplings!

Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin Z, Manager at China Famous Foods, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Hey Joe!

Thank you so much for your sincere review! I'm sorry to hear that you didn't have the chance to taste our dumplings. We (our boss) handmake then daily and it was unfortunate it ran out as you ordered :(

We source mostly our food locally, but a lot of our food and spices came from China so we could make sure that we've got the authentic taste.

I'll pass you words along to our kitchen and wait staffs and I'm sure they'll be glad to read it!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile

Avoided this place as this is really bad Chinese we started it but left most of it as it tasted like something from the weekend before it was total rubbish
On a good note the beer was fine and the wine was ok but the rest errr

1  Thank douglas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin Z, Manager at China Famous Foods, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Hey Doug,
Thanks for your review and I'm sorry to hear about what you had experienced. We import most of our raw food daily from local sources across Santorini and nearby islands while making sure everything stays fresh. Could you name us dishes that you had, so that we'd be able to identify the reasons that made you think our food came from "weekend," and make necessary improvemens.
On the side note, please feel free to talk to our servers if there's anything unsatisfactory about your meal and we'd be glad to help you out!

Thanks!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed China Famous Foods also viewed

Fira, Santorini
Fira, Santorini
 
Kamari, Santorini
 
Santorini, Cyclades
Kamari, Santorini
 

Been to China Famous Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing