We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Magical View” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SPHINX Restaurant

SPHINX Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 178 Restaurants in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Clearwater
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

This is by far the most wonderful restaurant on the island. The view is absolutely stunning. The service was excellent and the food was wonderful. We will definitely visit again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ClearSkiesAhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    186
    90
    41
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

We were referred to the Sphinx by the staff at the hotel where were staying. We asked for a place that would have a both good food and good views. The Sphinx was quickly recommended. We were not disappointed. We relied on the waiter to help us make our choices for both dining and drinking. He was spot on for both. Our table was at the edge of the outdoor dining area affording us beautiful views of the Caldera. All told it was a real treat in all areas.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A STUNNING LOCATION, DELICIOUS FOOD AND GREAT SERVICE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

We went to Sphinx for our wedding rehearsal dinner the night before our wedding.
We had our own private area with uninterupted views over the caldera.
We had 36 guests attending and everyone had a fantastic night.
Julia, the owner, ensured everything ran so smoothly. We first met her in May on our visit to Santorini and I have to compliment her on her excellent communications with us and organisational skills. She set the private area up beautifully with flowers and lanterns on all the tables.
The food was excellent - especially the cod and the Greek delights for dessert - (delicious!) as was the service.
Highly recommended!
Thank you!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank livetosurfUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mixed Review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

This place is right off of Gold Street and is a good place to watch the Fira sunset. I ordered the chicken with tarragon sauce. It was very delicious and was a big portion, which is good because it was a bit pricey. I would recommend asking for a couple of plates. Order two dishes and SHARE. The sauce became heavy, so quit while you're ahead. Only eat a quarter of it. My friend's risotto had a thick and heavy consistency. I would only recommend this place for the sunset view.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NowhereGuest2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Calling the day before, getting "the last table with view" and learning the same morning that the "annual firework on the vulcano" was that night, what could we expect more than excellent food and service.
We will come back next time we are on Santorini.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SPHINX Restaurant also viewed

 
Fira, Santorini
 

Been to SPHINX Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing