We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours
Ranked #2 of 2 Food & Drink in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: For the discerning traveler, NOT TO BE MISSED! We offer daily private and semi-private wine tours,cooking classes,island adventures and more... Never more than 6 persons, you are guaranteed a private tour feeling at a semi private price! You will visit vineyards and wineries as we travel the island and of course, drink some of the most distinctive wines Greece has to offer. Learn how the ancient, indigenous varieties are transformed into the world famous VinSanto, the crisp, bold fresh whites and the mellowed oak fermented whites. Discover the new and surprising reds, all paired with local, traditional dishes. We also offer customized food/island events.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 2 December 2011

My fiance and I stayed in Oia in September and Tony, the proprietor at the Sea Capt's House, highly recommended we go on a wine tasting with Phenix. We set up the excursion and are so glad we did! Phenix is a wealth of knowledge about the island and about wine. We had an absolute wonderful time and really enjoyed the wines. She introduced us to the Mavrotragino and it is an outstanding wine. I haven't been able to find it here in the states, but I hope someday we can because it is something to experience. She also shared with us the tradition of Vinsanto being opened for a daughter's wedding, so we bought a couple of bottles for future occasions. :)

I highly recommend doing this early in your vacation because Phenix provides some excellent recommendations of things to do during your visit. And you also may decide to visit some of the wineries again. Phenix talked about pairing her culinary skills with her love of wine and I hope one day she is able to do that for all to share.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    4
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elkridge, Maryland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Scenic Wine Tasting with Excellent Guide”
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Our guide Phenix was punctual, and she was very knowledgeable of the island and all of the wine she introduced to us. She was able to create a very pleasant atmosphere within the group, despite the fact that we had all only just met. Along with an endless knowledge of wine, she possessed extensive knowledge of the food industry and was able to pair different wines with meals for those of us on the tour. Several stops along the way were some of the most scenic that we did not previously have access to or knowledge of. Her enthusiastic demeanor made this an excellent tour. May seem pricey, but the cost includes transportation, scenic stops, wine tasting at three different wineries and delicious hors d'oevres at the last winery. We highly recommend this tour!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank matt_torps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Wine Tour”
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We toured three wineries with Phenix in October of 2011 while on our honeymoon. The tour was semi-private and reasonably priced. Phenix is EXTREMELY knowledgeable about food and of course wine, and knows Santorini wines as well as the locals! She has a great personality and was so fun to spend the afternoon with. She took us to three great but not overcrowded wineries, all of which provided generous tastings and attentive staff. The tour wrapped up with a great lunch at the last winery. Along the way she taught us not only about local wine, but all about the island as well. We learned a ton and had a great time doing it. This is a must-do activity while in Santorini. Try the Mavrodragano!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“SAFOWI - Great Santorini wine experience!!”
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We arrived on RSSC Voyager , Phenix picked
us up right in Fira - one block from the tram.
What a fabulous experience & wine education.
We visited 4 fabulous small vineyards around the Island
including walking through vineyards to see how
the vines grow in Santorini.
Then off to Oia for a fabulous lunch on the bay.
Awesome day - We highly would recommend SAFOWI.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank salbucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience - seemed pricey at first but felt totally worth it in the end”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Phenix was a great host - she took us to three vineyards and along with the wine tasting we also got a chance to see the rest of santorini.we actually learnt a lot about the santorini wines....the small group also ensured good attention to all 3 couples and spirited comaraderie ( pun intended :-)
p.s: the 80 euros per head sounded steep at first....but am glad we did the tour. it was an afternoon full of wine, food and island stories, making it an experience to cherish!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank shwetashukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours also viewed

 

Been to SAFOWI Santorini Food and Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing