We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you feel you need entertained 15 hours day then go for it” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Domaine de Soleil Plage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vitrac
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Domaine de Soleil Plage
Certificate of Excellence
barnstaple
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you feel you need entertained 15 hours day then go for it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Where to start? We've been to this campsite a few years ago and it's gone so far downhill it's hard to believe.
The positves: Right on the river with beautiful views and the site itself is kept clean and tidy. Tucked out of the way so reasonably safe for kids with lack of traffic and no one passing through or by to cause concern. The pools are are large and entertaining and the shop, bar and restraunt are have a good selection and not too badly priced.
The negatives: Expensive for what you get. I can only think that the money you pay goes on the entertainment....which, if that's the case, best avoid this campsite. It used to be peaceful and calm with a bit of entertainment, but now it's in your face entertainment all day. The kids get chucked out of the pool for various antics to take place and you get badgered by weirdos in costume trying to get you to join in. Loud music by the pool, a nice man who drives round the pitches with loud music and "hey everbody...disco disco/party/rock n roll/BBQ/etc..." leading up to the evening's entertainment fest that can be guaranteed to go on well past 2300/midnight or whenever they feel like stopping.

Apart from the overbearing entertainment, the campsite also seems to be overly noisy. It was probably just the time of year but when you can hear every bodily function from every tent, caravan and motorhome, maybe the pitches are quite close together. Another thing on pitches, there are only a few riverside pitches that you do pay a premium for, they can be hit and miss with size and views due to trees - and be prepared for regular visitors as many people like to wander onto them to take in the river view.

At the end of the week, service gets a little worse as the staff seem to relax and get a little drunk in the early evening meaning you become an inconvenience rather than a customer. If you feel you need entertained 15 hours day then go for it, but with the amount of campsites in the Dordogne, i think you can find something better for less.

It's a shame to say it, but it's not as good as it once was only a short time ago with true commercialisation coming to the fore and we'll never be back! :-(

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank devndaysout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    69
    31
    9
    3
See reviews for
168
77
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed in a Chalet which has adequate facilities for a family holiday , the campsite is very family friendly, all staff are very friendly and extremely helpful, the site is clean and well kept, the swimming pool is clean and well maintained. The restaurant and take away are very reasonable.
Can't wait for next holiday at Soleil.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

It probably doesn't help that we had torrential rain on the first night and we were flooded. There was no provision for this and when the road flooded as well as our pitch we were told that the week previously the site sent a lorry to clear it all up. This did not happen and all the mud was dragged through our tent, shower block and everywhere and the owners did nothing about it. We were even charged £3 to dry our sleeping bags in the camp laundry. If the weather had been OK then our view would still have been that everything was badly planned. The site office, pools etc. was a considerable walk from the main site. The bar left the windows open so that every evening the campers were blasted with loud music into the night. The beach which was the main feature could not be viewed from the encampments and a hedge row had been planted which blocked the view of the river. The beach itself could have been cleared of weeds and logs with a minimum of effort. The facilities were cubicles full of sinks and inadequate amounts of showers and toilets. Even then the sinks only ran hot water so teeth cleaning had to be done in hot water.
I do not mind paying a premium price for camping if the site is good but 390 euros for 6 nights was extreme. A little thought and alterations would make this a premium site but deifintely not at the moment.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wonderwelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We have a great week here in late June, after a week at a very family friendly campsite at Chambord. With eurocamp, which here is lucky to have just 25 pitches and a great couple who have a great life servicing all us campers. With no other such companies on site, and about 250 pitches, this is a bit unusual for a Eurocamp site.

An unusual feature was that a very large proportion of the site was occupied by early retireds in their campavans. Perhaps that happens in June before the summer rush, and perhaps they were all on their way to Alpe d'Huez for the Tour, but it certainly makes a difference to the atmosphere on the campsite. Perhaps it is the future of the better campsites of course, as these are the people with time and money in future, what with the squeeze on the incomes of working people to pay for the leisure of the far too early retired.

And the clientele at the restaurant. And indeed lead to a peaceful swimming pool (which is terrific - as beautiful a place to swim as you could imagine and absolutely perfect for a 2 and 3 year old just learning to swim.

Reception helpful and Eurocamp couple perfect - and very helpful to us as we had to move mobiles in the middle of our stay after Eurocamp had bungled our booking.

Mobile homes a bit more packed in than in most other sites I have visited (over 30 years), but we were lucky in having one which was next to children's play area and in effect had a huge "emplacement".

The restaurant was pretty good of the sort in those sites which try to have real French food. But not half as good as they think it is, and not nearly as good as the restaurant which overlooks it from the road towards Sarlat. Service was very friendly but poor, they seemed to be a lot more focused on a camera crew making a promotional video and planning the karaoke. The self-service, which is served by the same people as the restaurant, was overwhelmed on even normal June business. Perhaps the staff will be more into the job by summer.

The shop is disappointing, especially as the site is a long way from anywhere (perhaps we felt this more than usual, as it applies to may sites, as we have already been to Wassenaar and Chambord this year and Benodet last year and all were within a walk of shops.

As anyone reading this will know, this is a beautifully situated campsite, on a bend in the Dordogne, with its own little beach, quite safe swimming in June (and perhaps very little water later), and canoes available at the entrance to the site. Easy access to all the main Dordogne sites, although I suspect that in summer the roads into and out of the site could become very busy. The campsite itself was very peaceful, and I suspect stays that way in the summer, which is pretty unusual.

We went to most of the obvious places. Sarlat market was a nightmare parking even in June, so good luck to any of you at the busy time. Worth the effort though, although not as good as it was 25 years ago (nor am I of course). We liked St Pompont as a quiet retreat, and the Bar Restaurant lunch should be experienced. And the views from the garden at Marqueysac was well worth the visit (and I say that having had to be persuaded by my wife to go there).

My one concern was too many people here drive too fast.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank outandaboutandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meath
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Stayed in the Chalet Palace. Accommodation was very good and everything we needed was supplied - fridge (with freezer compartment), tv (french stations only), microwave, kettle, two-ring cooker. No toaster or grill supplied. Both bedrooms were ensuite with showers which was great. As we had travelled lightly we rented sheets and towels which were of good quality. Only criticism was there were a number of roosters in the field directly behind the chalets and they woke us every morning at dawn so bring the ear plugs. Not a sound on site at night and no noise tolerated after 11pm. Pool was excellent and kids loved it but there is NO lifeguard on duty at any time. The river with the man-made beach beside the site is absolutely breathtaking. There is no town or village within walking distance which I personally missed a little for somewhere to go for a stroll in the evenings. A car is definitely needed for this site. Staff were very pleasant and even organised an emergency dental appointment for my husband when he broke a tooth. I would have no hesitation in recommending this site to anybody but I do not think I would return solely for the reason that there was little activity for kids my age 13+16 and no get-together area for them to meet up with other kids their ages. Geared more for younger children but had a thoroughly great holiday there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happygirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vitrac
3.0 km away
Hotel Le Clos Roussillon
4.6 km away
Abbys Hotel
Abbys Hotel
#8 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
4.7 km away
Le Mas De Castel
Le Mas De Castel
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Hotel Restaurant Plaisance
2.9 km away
Le Relais du Touron
Le Relais du Touron
#1 of 3 in Carsac-Aillac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
13.6 km away
Camping Les Charmes
Camping Les Charmes
#2 of 3 in Saint-Andre-d'Allas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Soleil Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Soleil Plage

Property: Domaine de Soleil Plage
Address: Lieu Dit Caudon, 24200 Vitrac, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda > Vitrac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Vitrac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Domaine de Soleil Plage, a 5-star campsite, ideally located on the riverside of Dordogne, at 6km from Sarlat and Domme, in the heart of the most beautiful castles and prehistoric sites of the french department Dordogne-Perigord. At Soleil Plage, you will find many outdoor and aquatic activities : sandy beach, canoe base, fishing, heated aquatic complex with slides, an indoor swimming pool, tennis ground, crazy golf, walking trail and in high season many activities throughout the week : aquafun, disco evening, tournaments, loto bingo, concert... We offer others services : Restaurant with local produces, snack and take away, bar and a little shop. We propose different kind of accomodations : chalets and mobil-homes with dishwasher and shaded camping pitches. In low season, we organize your family or professionnal events in half-board or full board. Award of Best Camping Europe ANWB, Top ten Eurocamp and best welcome Alan Rogers. Recommended by guide books like Michelin or The Routard. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Domaine De Soleil Plage Hotel Vitrac
Domaine De Soleil Plage Vitrac, France - Dordogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing