We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,062)
Filter reviews
1,062 results
Traveller rating
855
155
36
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
855
155
36
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brackish water seafood platter bush babies our honeymoon stone town every morning infinity pool palm trees indian ocean low tide captain ali sea breeze no air conditioning little touches masai guards absolute paradise sun hats
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 1,062 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2018

We had such an enjoyable time at this resort. The staff is super friendly, attentive and courteous. The setting is ideal--restful, quiet, private and beautiful!! The food was superb--so fresh, healthy and tasty! And the rooms were great, with big verandas and porches. One night we slept outside all night, enjoying the plethora of stars and the fresh sea breezes. Truly idyllic in every way!!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONGWEBEACH, Manager at Pongwe Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us.Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to working with you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

The most beautiful beach with spacious and clean bedrooms and happy friendly staff who were so keen to help make our experience as good as it could be. We loved the food, although the choice was limited, to our minds this meant a very fresh and well thought out menu. Watching the bush babies in the bar before dinner with a drink was a real treat. Snorkelling on the reef and lying on the beach just magical…

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank alrandom1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONGWEBEACH, Manager at Pongwe Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Thank you so much for sharing your review with us. We do appreciate your feedback as they help us so we can better ourselves. We will put all aspects raised into consideration. Many thanks again for choosing to stay with us.

We are looking forward to hosting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

It was an amazing hotel with private white beach and individual cottages. The hotel room was very comfortable and clean, very hot water for showering, wifi very quick, and restaurant delicious & reasonable price. When we checked in, there was a glass of mocktail to welcome us. There were also loads of activities, such as fishing, snorkling, kyake, etc. However, there was no individual safe box in each room, if you want to store your valuable stuff, you have to go to the reception every time you leave the room. We found it quite inconvenient and did not do so, and unfortunately lost 50 USD in the room......

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank srsrsunrui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONGWEBEACH, Manager at Pongwe Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Many thanks for your review. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We are greatly puzzled to know that you lost your money during your stay with us. It is unfortunate that this issue was not brought through to the management during your stay as we would have investigated further and dealt with it while you were still at the hotel. However we will do the best we can to get to the bottom of this matter and if anyone from the hotel is surely responsible they will be dealt with accordingly. As much as we pride in our service and staff we want you our guests to enjoy and have memorable stay with us and not to worry about your valuables. We would like to apologize for any inconveniences caused during your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

We ended our big safari holiday with four nights at Pongwe beach and were not disappointed. The group had traveled from New Zealand and had received mixed reports about Zanzibar in general so felt a little bit of trepidation before arrival. Our prearranged collection from the airport was there as expected, the vehicle was very comfortable and quite suitable for five plus luggage. The front office at Pongwe was friendly, efficient and the arrangements for leaving valuables in the safe was very good. Each of our three rooms were clean, spacious and beautifully positioned right on the beach as advertised. Everything about Pongwe was exactly as advertised. The food was excellent, staff friendly and very fast to respond to all our needs. When on the beach you only needed to place a small flag out on the sand and a member of staff would attend you you within a moment or two, no need to wave the flag! We were five people in three different rooms so extras at the bar and our lunches were charged to three different rooms for five days. After each day we signed a chit to approve our purchases so over the few days we did this a number of times between us. Not once was there any error in their recirding or in their accounting. This is a reassuring thing to note.
One of our party lost a phone, after returning home it was found on the beach, returned to the office and is winging it’s way back to the owner. Without exception we had a great stay at Pongwe and if it were nearer to NZ would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sbusby949866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONGWEBEACH, Manager at Pongwe Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Many thanks for choosing to stay with Pongwe Beach Hotel. it was a pleasure hosting you and delivering the best service to you. Great thing the phone was found by one of our staff member and it has been returned to the rightful owner. Once again many thanks for your review and we hope to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018

The people who work at Pongwe is what really makes this a great hotel! They are super friendly and go out of their way to make your stay the best! The restaurant has tasty food. There are snorkels, masks and flippers to borrow as well as a few open sea kayaks and bikes. The pool is great with lovely views. (The pool water is a bit brackish). the bungalows have lots of natural light and have ceiling fans and mosquito nets- they are quite pleasant. The beach is also one of the best on Zanzibar. At high tide there is still a sandy beach (unlike many beaches we went to in Zanzibar). The shallow beach is affected at low tide but there is considerably less seaweed than other places.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bhhamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONGWEBEACH, Manager at Pongwe Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Thanks for leaving a review, and mentioning our staff. We have taken note of the areas raised. The team here at Pongwe Beach Hotel is thrilled to hear such good feedback, and we’re proud to be a slice of paradise. We look forward to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews