We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgettable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nungubane Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nungubane Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Unforgettable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent two nights at Nungubane Lodge which were FANTASTIC. Game drives with FJ were amazing, accommodation and food were outstanding. Thank you for a most memorable stay at your wonderful lodge.
Thank you so much!

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Epanagope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
67
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our best game experience ever. We saw lions mating and we had a heard of elephants pass our vehicle at a distance of about three meters. We saw more in three days than we had ever seen before and a lot was at closer range than we previously experienced. Our ranger FJ was often the first to find many of our sightings.The accommodation , food and service were excellent and all the staff are such happy , pleasant people.

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Herman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived in Cape Town and we are reflecting on out 3 nights, 5 game drives at Nungabane lodge. From the moment FJ met us at the west gate, the experience was memorable and his welcome and demeanour set the tone for the rest of our stay. Hats off to the gentle giant (FJ) who can even make an 0530 wake-up call a pleasurable experience. The attentive staff made our stay something to behold, but in a cast of many stars we have to single out FJ. He has both the guests and the animals interests at heart throughout and his passion and knowledge is there to see and hear. That said, the ladies of the house weren't to be outdone and their singing performance over dinner, may well see them all on Broadway some time soon. The entire experience will never be forgotten and we will definitely be back again to see the how the vast variety of animals have flourished in a truly natural and ecological environment. Well done to all those involved with the Nungabane Lodge, a job well done, in a simple yet perfect manner. To close, the final evenings touches in our lodge, epitomised the passion of each and everyone, thank you

Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank missjobrown29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nungubane is a fabulous game lodge in an excellent game reserve. Jonathan and Karen, our guide and hosts, are exceptional. We had an amazing holiday. 5*+ service and an experience never to be forgotten. Forget Kruger, Nungubane is the best

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jeremyjacobs1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

We have just spent a lovely relaxing weekend at Nungubane. We had fantastic game drives and saw Cheetah and/or lion on every drive plus interesting encounters with other animals. Our guide FJ was excellent - well informed and honest with his information. Karen, Jonathan and the staff were very hospitable and also good company. Our best visit to Welgevonden in 3 years of going there.

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welgevonden Game Reserve
3.7 km away
Nedile Lodge
Nedile Lodge
#1 of 1 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
20.6 km away
Marataba Safari Lodge
Marataba Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Thabazimbi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
5.0 km away
Jamila Game Lodge
Jamila Game Lodge
#5 of 15 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 km away
Kololo Game Reserve
Kololo Game Reserve
#2 of 37 in Vaalwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
36.0 km away
Clifftop Lodge
Clifftop Lodge
#3 of 15 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
8.0 km away
Mhondoro Game Lodge
Mhondoro Game Lodge
#1 of 15 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nungubane Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nungubane Game Lodge

Property: Nungubane Game Lodge
Address: Welgevonden Game Reserve, Welgevonden Game Reserve, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Welgevonden Game Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Welgevonden Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nungubane Game Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Nungubane Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nungubane Game Hotel Waterberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing