We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nungubane Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

Arrived in Cape Town and we are reflecting on out 3 nights, 5 game drives at Nungabane lodge. From the moment FJ met us at the west gate, the experience was memorable and his welcome and demeanour set the tone for the rest of our stay. Hats off to the gentle giant (FJ) who can even make an 0530 wake-up call a pleasurable experience. The attentive staff made our stay something to behold, but in a cast of many stars we have to single out FJ. He has both the guests and the animals interests at heart throughout and his passion and knowledge is there to see and hear. That said, the ladies of the house weren't to be outdone and their singing performance over dinner, may well see them all on Broadway some time soon. The entire experience will never be forgotten and we will definitely be back again to see the how the vast variety of animals have flourished in a truly natural and ecological environment. Well done to all those involved with the Nungabane Lodge, a job well done, in a simple yet perfect manner. To close, the final evenings touches in our lodge, epitomised the passion of each and everyone, thank you

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank missjobrown29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Nungubane is a fabulous game lodge in an excellent game reserve. Jonathan and Karen, our guide and hosts, are exceptional. We had an amazing holiday. 5*+ service and an experience never to be forgotten. Forget Kruger, Nungubane is the best

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jeremyjacobs1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017

We have just spent a lovely relaxing weekend at Nungubane. We had fantastic game drives and saw Cheetah and/or lion on every drive plus interesting encounters with other animals. Our guide FJ was excellent - well informed and honest with his information. Karen, Jonathan and the staff were very hospitable and also good company. Our best visit to Welgevonden in 3 years of going there.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Group of 10 (exclusive use of the lodge for 4 days) supplied our dietary requirements as requested - 2 Pesco-Vegetarians, the rest a mix of low carb and low salt.

Vegetarian options were boring, except for one amazing aubergine starter. It was so good that I requested more of that for my evening meal. The fish option for the Pesco-Vegetarians, was terrible, overcooked inedible piece of kingklip. Although we had requested low carb, one meal was a huge bowl of spaghetti (with minimal sauce)! To be fair one of our group rated the spaghetti 7/10 - so it was not bad for people not minding high carb.

On the positive side, the cook, "Livingston", was most obliging and when we sent back the spaghetti and requested green salad and smoked salmon - he obliged!

Other meals that were rated high, was the 1st night in the boma where a variety of braaied/roasted meats were provided, was a hit - mainly because of the variety which included ox-tail.

But food was not why we spent 4 days at Nungubani - it was to see the big 5! Our game ranger, "FJ" was enthusiastic and determined in making sure we saw the best of the Welgevonden private game reserve. He was particularly keen on cats and we saw plenty lion and cheaters. We also experienced a really scary up close encounter of an elephant bull.

Our rooms at the lodge were spacious and well separated to have a feeling of privacy and each has a balcony that can see for ever (over the trees below) to the horizon.

Overall the our Nungubane 4 day stay was enjoyable - just food needs a bit of work.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank GadgetmanStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017

Perfect visit to Nungubane. Very professionally managed. Luxurious rooms and a beautiful lodge, excellent staff and delicious cuisine. Wonderful game drives, including an up-close with a stunning male lion after a very recent kill. Stunning setting. Easily accessible from Jo'burg. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank adunlop2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welgevonden Game Reserve
8 km away
Mhondoro Game Lodge
Mhondoro Game Lodge
#1 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
175 reviews
3.7 km away
Nedile Lodge
Nedile Lodge
#4 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
198 reviews
4.7 km away
Fifty Seven Waterberg
Fifty Seven Waterberg
#3 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 km away
Jamila Game Lodge
Jamila Game Lodge
#7 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
112 reviews
15 km away
Kololo Game Reserve
Kololo Game Reserve
#2 of 40 in Vaalwater
447 reviews
14.7 km away
Clifftop Lodge
Clifftop Lodge
#6 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nungubane Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nungubane Game Lodge

Address: Welgevonden Game Reserve, Welgevonden Game Reserve, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Welgevonden Game Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Welgevonden Game Reserve
Price Range: €322 - €489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nungubane Game Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and South African Hotels so you can book your Nungubane Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nungubane Game Hotel Waterberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing