We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nungubane Game Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Nungubane Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2017

Absolute best place to take a break !! Great park and game, kindest staff ever, excellent food and perfect terrace/pool for sundowners, not to forget the in-camp hide by the waterhole to spot animals during breaks. Highly recommended to anyone

Room Tip: all rooms are the same and fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie_KSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
67
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2017

Front being met at the lodge by all the staff and their friendly attitude right throughout the trip it was just a joy!
Jacque the guide was incredible as well as entertaining. Highly recommend! Enjoy the company of both the staff and the guests and just escape from the world.

Room Tip: Just enjoy the stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett0730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016

Our stay at Nungubane couldn't have been more perfect. Staff were warm and welcoming. rooms were lovely, and the food delicious (the chef even went above and beyond for a vegan member of our party!). And our guide Josphat was amazing. Full of fun facts and knowledge of the bush, a genuine passion for the subject and a joy to be with.

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woudenberg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2016

Excellent game lodge! We saw lots of animals, only a few jeeps are at the same spot. Very nice game drive, but also great view from the lodge itself, so even during breakfast or lunch there is a lot to see. Very friendly people that help you with everything. Luxurious lodges, great experience!

  • Stayed November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bosjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2016

It was a birthday weekend getaway and we were extremely spoilt that no words can express how we feel. The staff are extremely professional yet warm and friendly and very accommodating. We felt that the staff made our memories very special. Livingstone the chef is excellent and a perfectionist in everything he makes and it's served with such creativity, we were more than filled with each meal. Ann and Liz are both welcoming and their welcome smiles will remain in our hearts forever. These ladies went out of their way to create a romantic ambience in our chalet from patio to bedroom to bathroom, making it exciting and oh so unbelievably romantic and loving for us. We also appreciated the gardener who made sure the surroundings were in tip top clean and neat and tidy conditions. Phillipa in her true English style stole the days as she owned the game reserve and in utmost game ranger style gave us an incredible experience of sightings and visuals as we made our way across the hectares and hectares of reserve. In true fearless form she ensured that all our game drives made for an absolutely wonderful and engaging experience including our personalised picnic, drink breaks and our ramblings through the bushes. She is a dynamic spark in the jungle!. We totally enjoyed our stay will definitely be back for more........

Room Tip: All rooms face the same way
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colleenpaul123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welgevonden Game Reserve
3.7 km away
Nedile Lodge
Nedile Lodge
#1 of 1 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
5.0 km away
Jamila Game Lodge
Jamila Game Lodge
#5 of 15 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
8.0 km away
Mhondoro Game Lodge
Mhondoro Game Lodge
#1 of 15 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 km away
Kololo Game Reserve
Kololo Game Reserve
#2 of 37 in Vaalwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
36.0 km away
Clifftop Lodge
Clifftop Lodge
#3 of 15 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
8.9 km away
Makweti Safari Lodge
Makweti Safari Lodge
#2 of 15 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nungubane Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nungubane Game Lodge

Property: Nungubane Game Lodge
Address: Welgevonden Game Reserve, Welgevonden Game Reserve, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Welgevonden Game Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Welgevonden Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nungubane Game Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Nungubane Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nungubane Game Hotel Waterberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing