We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent personalised treatment and overwhelming service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nungubane Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nungubane Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Excellent personalised treatment and overwhelming service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2016

It was a birthday weekend getaway and we were extremely spoilt that no words can express how we feel. The staff are extremely professional yet warm and friendly and very accommodating. We felt that the staff made our memories very special. Livingstone the chef is excellent and a perfectionist in everything he makes and it's served with such creativity, we were more than filled with each meal. Ann and Liz are both welcoming and their welcome smiles will remain in our hearts forever. These ladies went out of their way to create a romantic ambience in our chalet from patio to bedroom to bathroom, making it exciting and oh so unbelievably romantic and loving for us. We also appreciated the gardener who made sure the surroundings were in tip top clean and neat and tidy conditions. Phillipa in her true English style stole the days as she owned the game reserve and in utmost game ranger style gave us an incredible experience of sightings and visuals as we made our way across the hectares and hectares of reserve. In true fearless form she ensured that all our game drives made for an absolutely wonderful and engaging experience including our personalised picnic, drink breaks and our ramblings through the bushes. She is a dynamic spark in the jungle!. We totally enjoyed our stay will definitely be back for more........

Room Tip: All rooms face the same way
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colleenpaul123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
67
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

This was our first safari experience. We recently stayed for a week and had the best time.

The staff were outstanding at every turn and we felt as though we were welcomed into their Nungubane family. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble for them, without exception.

The food was delicious and the accommodation was secluded, spacious, very clean and well decorated. They were only 5 rooms which many a maximum of ten guests could stay, which I believe is the same for the other lodges in the reserve. It felt very exclusive.

We went on every game drive that we could and the staff were happy to take us, even when we were the only ones. We saw so many animals, birds and beautiful views and Sky and William (the incredibly experienced rangers) were only too happy to share their extensive knowledge of the bush with us. Highlights included seeing a cheetah and her cubs hunting, a close up encounter with a heard of elephants and watching white rhino roll on their backs next to the truck as is they were pet dogs.

I have limited experience of Safari holidays but the reserve seems well run and has conservation and research at the forefront of its aims. Welgevonden recently had an issue with a disease that killed off many of their lion but we were still lucky enough to see one of the males and two females. It is very large and every time we came across an animal it felt very special. I am sure there are other reserves which pack in the "big 5" for the tourists but the welfare of the animals is clearly the priority and this was important to us. They work hard to tackle poaching and it was lovely to see so many of the endangered white rhinos.

If I could score this lodge and reserve higher I would do so and would not hesitate to recommend it. Thank you again to all the staff for a wonderful holiday which we will always have very fond memories of.

Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine7974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2016

Beautiful lodge, really friendly staff, excellent food. Chalets were spotless, great views, very comfortable beds and a fireplace for the cooler evenings.

Saw loads of interesting animals on the game drives. Elephants, lions, lots of white rhino, buffalo, giraffes, hippo, cheetah out hunting impala.

I cannot recommend this place enough! All the staff were great, looking forward to going back one day soon.

  • Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

This is a small quiet lodge in the Welgevonden game reserve; but, great for a peaceful getaway, and not too far from Johannesburg.

The game rangers are wonderfully knowledgeable and open to many questions. Viewing of smaller game is excellent. We were lucky enough to see a cheetah on the hunt...

The staff are friendly, accommodating, and give you just the right personal touch to make you feel at home.

My only 'complaint' is that there is communal dining which can be fun when getting to know people. But, is not ideal for a romantic weekend. This is easily remedied if you let the staff know beforehand and they can arrange a romantic dinner in your room with candles, lit fire place and all the trimmings...

We had a great time and would recommend it as great value for money...

Stayed June 2016
Helpful?
Thank Anthony Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2016

Convenient and comfortable getaway. Close to JHB (3hr drive).
Staff was great, Skye the ranger and manager was excellent at hosting with great knowledge of the reserve. The only thing better than Livingstone the chef's food was his great character.

  • Stayed June 2016, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welgevonden Game Reserve
3.7 km away
Nedile Lodge
Nedile Lodge
#1 of 1 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
20.6 km away
Marataba Safari Lodge
Marataba Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Thabazimbi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
5.0 km away
Jamila Game Lodge
Jamila Game Lodge
#5 of 15 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 km away
Kololo Game Reserve
Kololo Game Reserve
#2 of 37 in Vaalwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
36.0 km away
Clifftop Lodge
Clifftop Lodge
#3 of 15 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
8.0 km away
Mhondoro Game Lodge
Mhondoro Game Lodge
#1 of 15 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nungubane Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nungubane Game Lodge

Property: Nungubane Game Lodge
Address: Welgevonden Game Reserve, Welgevonden Game Reserve, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Welgevonden Game Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Welgevonden Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nungubane Game Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Nungubane Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nungubane Game Hotel Waterberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing