We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
140
24
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
24
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hour drive from joburg animals including animal sightings comfortable rooms top class lion kill great attention to detail south africa fantastic food wonderful experience main gate special thanks great sightings our honeymoon fj lizzie bush
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Beautiful lodge, really friendly staff, excellent food. Chalets were spotless, great views, very comfortable beds and a fireplace for the cooler evenings.

Saw loads of interesting animals on the game drives. Elephants, lions, lots of white rhino, buffalo, giraffes, hippo, cheetah out hunting impala.

I cannot recommend this place enough! All the staff were great, looking forward to going back one day soon.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

This is a small quiet lodge in the Welgevonden game reserve; but, great for a peaceful getaway, and not too far from Johannesburg.

The game rangers are wonderfully knowledgeable and open to many questions. Viewing of smaller game is excellent. We were lucky enough to see a cheetah on the hunt...

The staff are friendly, accommodating, and give you just the right personal touch to make you feel at home.

My only 'complaint' is that there is communal dining which can be fun when getting to know people. But, is not ideal for a romantic weekend. This is easily remedied if you let the staff know beforehand and they can arrange a romantic dinner in your room with candles, lit fire place and all the trimmings...

We had a great time and would recommend it as great value for money...

Date of stay: June 2016
Thank Anthony Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Convenient and comfortable getaway. Close to JHB (3hr drive).
Staff was great, Skye the ranger and manager was excellent at hosting with great knowledge of the reserve. The only thing better than Livingstone the chef's food was his great character.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016

Easy drive from Gauteng on good roads - shaded parking at Welgevonden West Gate. Skigh picked us up and the game viewing started on the 35 minute drive to the Lodge.
All the staff turned out to personally welcome us with hot hand towels and welcome drinks.
What lovely friendly and enthusiastic welcome we had - put us in a good mood to enjoy our 2 night stay.
Particularly enjoyed the luxury rooms with private viewing decks and attention to every detail.
Food was ala carte and beautifully prepared by cook Livingston and served by Lizzy - always with a smile and good humor. Good wine list.
Skigh, our ranger guide really went out of his way to provide value on our morning afternoon/evening game drives. Very experienced and knowledgeable - we love the bush and learnt lots of new facts about nature from him.

Room tip: Room 5 is quiet with own deck and stunning bathroom with a view. But all 5 rooms are very nice.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dietvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

We took our son and his new wife to Nungabane for 2 nights. It was her first visit to SA and her first experience of the bush, wildlife and game drives. We all had a wonderful time, the lodge is small, the rooms are beautiful and pretty private from one another. The staff were incredibly friendly and Livingstone and Anna provided beautiful food, humor and personal touch service, nothing was too much effort. The reserve setting is stunning and our sightings were very good, our guide Josephat did his best to give us the biggest variety of animal sightings as well as an overall view of the countryside itself. The hot water bottle touch on early morning drives was incredible. The reserve unfortunately lost many of its lions to disease in December 2015 leaving only one female currently, however they did tell us there are more lions going to be released soon, but this was probably an aspect which was a little disappointing for us. Overall it was a really lovely experience.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews