We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
140
24
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
24
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hour drive from joburg animals including animal sightings comfortable rooms top class lion kill great attention to detail south africa fantastic food wonderful experience main gate special thanks great sightings our honeymoon fj lizzie bush
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

We took our son and his new wife to Nungabane for 2 nights. It was her first visit to SA and her first experience of the bush, wildlife and game drives. We all had a wonderful time, the lodge is small, the rooms are beautiful and pretty private from one another. The staff were incredibly friendly and Livingstone and Anna provided beautiful food, humor and personal touch service, nothing was too much effort. The reserve setting is stunning and our sightings were very good, our guide Josephat did his best to give us the biggest variety of animal sightings as well as an overall view of the countryside itself. The hot water bottle touch on early morning drives was incredible. The reserve unfortunately lost many of its lions to disease in December 2015 leaving only one female currently, however they did tell us there are more lions going to be released soon, but this was probably an aspect which was a little disappointing for us. Overall it was a really lovely experience.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed in Nungubane for 4 nights and enjoyed an unforgettable vacation. We were greeted by the steff with refreshments after a 3.5 hour drive from Johannesburg. Ski and Lisa ,who mange the place were very warm and introduced us to the wonderful staff. Livingstone the chef prepared wonderful gourmet meals . Josaphette our ranger was the highlight. Very knowledgeable. Arranged the wonderful games - morning and evening. He is familiar with every track, animal, plant and had answers to all our questions and requests.
The place is located in the midst of The Welgevonden Private Game reserve. Not crowded. Beautiful set up and a very high class Lodge. If you are looking for nature in its best - this is the place. Although we did not see all the big 5 ( missed the leopard and Buffalo) we saw and mainly learnt a lot.
The following day we were joined by another family from South Africa and enjoyed the company - all together 10 on the Safari Jeep.
It was perfect.
Highly recommended!!

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Qawsedrftg12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016

We stayed at Nungumbane Lodge for 3 nights and had a wonderful time there. Food was great and we especially enjoyed our gamedrives with Josphat and his stories and facts about the animals we saw. It was amazing to see a cheetah being chased by baboons and we were glad Josphat turned out to be an elephant whisperer when two young male elephants expressed too much intrest in the car we were in. I still vividly remember Josphat instructing the elephant "No boy! no!" and yes...the elephant listened. Staff was very friendly and catered to the pregnancy dietry requests. Oh yes and an excellent place to do a wedding proposal. Thanks to the staff who set up the evening meal on our private deck and decorated our bedroom and bathroom in a manner well suited to the romantic occassion. Thank you my friends!

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Botte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

So we arrive at Welgevonden and within 20 minutes we witness what many only get to see on David Attenborough docos. Our amazing guide Josefat spots a cheetah mother and her two cubs. We follow them a short distance and then we notice the mother eyeing a group of unsuspecting impalas. She calls quietly to her cubs who instinctively know to be quiet and stay put. The next thing we know she bolts out of the bush at full throttle and unleashes all her wild predatory instincts to take down a young Impala. We can't believe our luck - we're speechless! Anyone who has spent time in the bush game viewing could go years and never whiteness what we did! Bucket List stuff! ......and this happened before we had even checked in! Nungubane is perfect for those who want an authentic bush experience a mere 2.5 hours drive from Joburg. The lodge itself is run by a lovely team of people who go to great lengths to make your stay so personalised and memorable. Josefat was our very experienced and insightful guide who made sure we saw something different each game viewing opportunity. Loved our time in the bush and would highly recommend Nubgubane to couples and families with young kids. Wonderful stay!!

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights at Nungubane Game Lodge in March 2016. It is an amazing place - the staff are so welcoming and friendly, and the facilities are beautiful. We saw so much on our game drive, and it is a much more intimate setting than at the larger parks. Our guide Josephat was extremely knowledgeable and an amazing tracker. It is an easy drive from Johannesburg, definitely worth the trip!

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stacey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews