We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid week bush break with partner and friend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nungubane Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2016

Easy drive from Gauteng on good roads - shaded parking at Welgevonden West Gate. Skigh picked us up and the game viewing started on the 35 minute drive to the Lodge.
All the staff turned out to personally welcome us with hot hand towels and welcome drinks.
What lovely friendly and enthusiastic welcome we had - put us in a good mood to enjoy our 2 night stay.
Particularly enjoyed the luxury rooms with private viewing decks and attention to every detail.
Food was ala carte and beautifully prepared by cook Livingston and served by Lizzy - always with a smile and good humor. Good wine list.
Skigh, our ranger guide really went out of his way to provide value on our morning afternoon/evening game drives. Very experienced and knowledgeable - we love the bush and learnt lots of new facts about nature from him.

Room Tip: Room 5 is quiet with own deck and stunning bathroom with a view. But all 5 rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dietvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

We took our son and his new wife to Nungabane for 2 nights. It was her first visit to SA and her first experience of the bush, wildlife and game drives. We all had a wonderful time, the lodge is small, the rooms are beautiful and pretty private from one another. The staff were incredibly friendly and Livingstone and Anna provided beautiful food, humor and personal touch service, nothing was too much effort. The reserve setting is stunning and our sightings were very good, our guide Josephat did his best to give us the biggest variety of animal sightings as well as an overall view of the countryside itself. The hot water bottle touch on early morning drives was incredible. The reserve unfortunately lost many of its lions to disease in December 2015 leaving only one female currently, however they did tell us there are more lions going to be released soon, but this was probably an aspect which was a little disappointing for us. Overall it was a really lovely experience.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed in Nungubane for 4 nights and enjoyed an unforgettable vacation. We were greeted by the steff with refreshments after a 3.5 hour drive from Johannesburg. Ski and Lisa ,who mange the place were very warm and introduced us to the wonderful staff. Livingstone the chef prepared wonderful gourmet meals . Josaphette our ranger was the highlight. Very knowledgeable. Arranged the wonderful games - morning and evening. He is familiar with every track, animal, plant and had answers to all our questions and requests.
The place is located in the midst of The Welgevonden Private Game reserve. Not crowded. Beautiful set up and a very high class Lodge. If you are looking for nature in its best - this is the place. Although we did not see all the big 5 ( missed the leopard and Buffalo) we saw and mainly learnt a lot.
The following day we were joined by another family from South Africa and enjoyed the company - all together 10 on the Safari Jeep.
It was perfect.
Highly recommended!!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank Qawsedrftg12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016

We stayed at Nungumbane Lodge for 3 nights and had a wonderful time there. Food was great and we especially enjoyed our gamedrives with Josphat and his stories and facts about the animals we saw. It was amazing to see a cheetah being chased by baboons and we were glad Josphat turned out to be an elephant whisperer when two young male elephants expressed too much intrest in the car we were in. I still vividly remember Josphat instructing the elephant "No boy! no!" and yes...the elephant listened. Staff was very friendly and catered to the pregnancy dietry requests. Oh yes and an excellent place to do a wedding proposal. Thanks to the staff who set up the evening meal on our private deck and decorated our bedroom and bathroom in a manner well suited to the romantic occassion. Thank you my friends!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Botte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

So we arrive at Welgevonden and within 20 minutes we witness what many only get to see on David Attenborough docos. Our amazing guide Josefat spots a cheetah mother and her two cubs. We follow them a short distance and then we notice the mother eyeing a group of unsuspecting impalas. She calls quietly to her cubs who instinctively know to be quiet and stay put. The next thing we know she bolts out of the bush at full throttle and unleashes all her wild predatory instincts to take down a young Impala. We can't believe our luck - we're speechless! Anyone who has spent time in the bush game viewing could go years and never whiteness what we did! Bucket List stuff! ......and this happened before we had even checked in! Nungubane is perfect for those who want an authentic bush experience a mere 2.5 hours drive from Joburg. The lodge itself is run by a lovely team of people who go to great lengths to make your stay so personalised and memorable. Josefat was our very experienced and insightful guide who made sure we saw something different each game viewing opportunity. Loved our time in the bush and would highly recommend Nubgubane to couples and families with young kids. Wonderful stay!!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welgevonden Game Reserve
8 km away
Mhondoro Game Lodge
Mhondoro Game Lodge
#1 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
175 reviews
3.7 km away
Nedile Lodge
Nedile Lodge
#4 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
198 reviews
4.7 km away
Fifty Seven Waterberg
Fifty Seven Waterberg
#3 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 km away
Jamila Game Lodge
Jamila Game Lodge
#7 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
112 reviews
15 km away
Kololo Game Reserve
Kololo Game Reserve
#2 of 40 in Vaalwater
447 reviews
14.7 km away
Clifftop Lodge
Clifftop Lodge
#5 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nungubane Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nungubane Game Lodge

Address: Welgevonden Game Reserve, Welgevonden Game Reserve, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Welgevonden Game Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Welgevonden Game Reserve
Price Range: €329 - €487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nungubane Game Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and South African Hotels so you can book your Nungubane Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nungubane Game Hotel Waterberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing