We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trip of a lifetime!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nungubane Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nungubane Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Yoncalla, Oregon
1 review
“Trip of a lifetime!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2015

I hope some day I can return with family and have them experience this magical setting. Josphat was an outstanding guide and diligent tracker, trying to find the Big 5 and as many other animals as he could get us to. The food was perfect and there was lots of it. The lodge was comfortable and welcoming. The huts had great views, beautiful furniture, and a very neat bathroom. The staff was attentive and welcoming. Put this on your "must do" list!

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same and wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2015, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jannelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
67
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2015 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at Nungubane. The first night was special; they had arranged an outdoor dinner and a camp fire and we slept in the open, under the stars, in a guarded camp. We saw lots of animals, but the leopards were shy, unfortunately. Excellent food and good game drives. The bungalows were very nice with the outdoor shower as a bonus.

Stayed October 2015, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Baesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundsvall, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2015

Visited Nungubane for the third time with our family and friends and was not dissapointed. The staff was so welcoming and perfectly service minded. They went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and we felt as being "at home" on arrival. We aso had the opportunity to make some extra activities arranged by the lodge and that was awesome. Jacques and Josphat gave us great guidance at the game drives and knowledgeable answers on our questions. This time we were not so lucky wih the cats, seeing only one lion at distance on six drives. Well that's also part of the challenge at safaris, you never know exactly what you will see.
Rooms are really nice and the the main building is very cosy. Food was very good and it was plenty of it as ususal!
If hope we will be able to come back!

Stayed October 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank Lotta Å
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2015

Home from home.... I could not recommend it enough!
This lodge was a wonderful place to visit with my family, the team at the lodge couldn't do enough for us, it was an amazing experience.
Lizzie, Anna and the rest of the team made our trip fabulous, they catered for the most fussy, the helped without being asked and they went above and beyond to make the trip so special. The food was amazing, Livingstone creating some fantastic dishes, my only unfair complaint was there was too much!!! I definitely needed some exercise on my return home :)
Josphat, our ranger, took us on 10 amazing game drives. His passion for the environment and the animals was unbelieveable. We learnt every day, we saw some amazing sightings, finished off with a lovely drink in the bush every evening.
Safari is one of my favourite holidays, Nungabane is definitely one to put on your list.
5* stay whilst felling you are in a homely lodge, I really couldn't recommend it enough!

Room Tip: Every room has a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2015, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helenlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2015

We spent two nights in what I have to say was a fantastic room. We really felt spoilt by the staff. They made us feel so welcome and catered for every need. An outdoor shower just cannot be beaten! The room is luxurious and comfortable with its own patio. Beds are turned down at night and sleeping in the absolute peace and quiet is pure bliss.

2 game drives per day do not leave for much relaxation time inbetween but they are well worth it as in the 4 game drives we had we saw 4 of the Big 5 (sadly no leopard) as well as a Cheetah. Rhino are plentiful and there are 2 Lion prides to search for. We were lucky enough to see both.

Room Tip: here are only 5 rooms, all offering the same or similar views and amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welgevonden Game Reserve
3.7 km away
Nedile Lodge
Nedile Lodge
#1 of 1 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
5.0 km away
Jamila Game Lodge
Jamila Game Lodge
#5 of 15 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
8.0 km away
Mhondoro Game Lodge
Mhondoro Game Lodge
#1 of 15 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 km away
Kololo Game Reserve
Kololo Game Reserve
#2 of 37 in Vaalwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
36.0 km away
Clifftop Lodge
Clifftop Lodge
#3 of 15 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
8.9 km away
Makweti Safari Lodge
Makweti Safari Lodge
#2 of 15 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nungubane Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nungubane Game Lodge

Property: Nungubane Game Lodge
Address: Welgevonden Game Reserve, Welgevonden Game Reserve, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Welgevonden Game Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Welgevonden Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nungubane Game Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Nungubane Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nungubane Game Hotel Waterberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing