We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
21
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rock hyrax walking safari permanent structures tsavo west delicious food game drives conservancy footprints sundowners community leopard tents camp birds kilimanjaro opportunity meals
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2018

Our two days at Kipalo Hills were two of the most memorable of our two week safari. I could not recommend this place highly enough.

Firstly, the setting is stunning. This is a corner of wilderness nestled into some hills in its own conservancy on the borders of Tsavo West. The hills and the surrounding area afford the opportunity for some fantastic game viewing but just the views and a feeling of remoteness are enough to make this place feel special.

The staff are up there with the best that you will experience. They could not do enough to make sure that our stay was as comfortable as possible. We arrived on my birthday and they made every effort to make the evening special, with a walk, exceptional bush dinner and night drive. All our meals were fantastic - some of the best I have ever had from a safari camp.

At the time of writing the tents were mobile safari style tents which were great and are positioned to make the most of the views. I gather that these are gradually being upgraded to permanent structures.

At the core of Kipalo Hills is a commitment to conservation. The staff are happy to show how the income from the camp goes into community based conservation. It is a very impressive project and worth finding out about.

This place is definitely worth a visit and I would suggest an absolute minimum of two nights but ideally 3 or more. We'll be going back!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn H, Director of Sales at H12 Kipalo Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Hi Jack,

We are most pleased that you had an enjoyable and memorable experience. We are thrilled that you were able to hear about the work we are able to do in conservation which would not be possible without our guests contribution in conservation fees.

Thank you for the incredible review! We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Perhaps you would like to visit us a H12 Delta Dunes (Tana Delta) or H12 Ngerende (Masai Mara) in the future.


Best wishes,
Your H12 Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

Fantastic outstanding location in the private conservancy next to Tsavo West.
Place to be and to come back. Excellent service. Superb kitchen..
Walking Safari... sundowner on the Rocks.... really on the Hill... next to leopard if you are lucky.
Safari to explore, like Tsavo east and west or just relax in a beautiful and peaceful surroundings.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Engelbert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

The camp was exceptional. The tenets were very clean and the bush walks and sundowners were spectacular. The staff was very friendly, my young girls felt so at home. They still keep saying they would like to go back. The swimming pool had a beautiful scenery to enjoy.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Minal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016

My family and I just returned from a brief stay at Kipalo Hills, which our 15 year old daughter did not want to end. The main lodge is beautiful with its makuti roof and and the views are breathtaking. We had a wonderful dinner with homemade butternut ravioli and chicken with a citrus sauce. The entire staff was welcoming and the service was terrific. The lodging is currently tents but we were able to get a quickly peek at the new permanent structures which are being put into place. They are going to be amazing when finished. We did not make use of the pool but did have a nature walk in the bush before departing early in the morning with a knowledgeable member of the Kipalo team. We look forward to going back to this secluded spot in nature.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank mcnev7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

This is truely a 'bucket list' place to visit. Off the beaten track a little and into a beautiful oasis nestled at the base of Kipalo Hills Tsavo. Lovely scenery, beautifully designed camp with a swimming pool, and all the creature comforts you could want. The guided walks, delicious food, legendary sundowners and the wonderful staff made this place our favourite Kenyan holiday location. I will never forget! Thank you for your friendliness and hospitality.
Sue and Cornel
Perth Western Australia

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews