We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
48
35
9
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
35
9
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river the main road lovely pool great stopover night stop pool area tent crocodiles history mombasa camp game coast drive antelope luxury lodge
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2016

Spent a night at Man Eaters on my way to Mombasa and i must confess this place is beautiful. the staff are so friendly and warm. the tent has the best view or River Tsavo which flows right next to the swimming pool. if you're lucky like i was, you'll get a chance to see a hippo and crocodile from your room. Everything about this place is excellent.

Room Tip: all rooms have a direct view of River Tsavo
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Janelynn2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We stopped at this lodge on the way down to the coast. There were only 4 other guests, with none expected the day weft. We were put in a tent next to the other guests, despite the fact there were so many empty tents. Our tent had rubbish outside it in the bush. Some of the staff (Rosemary, Donald and Benson) were very good and friendly, others not so. The food lack inspiration, was over cooked and not fresh. Lights in our room did not work. Sleep was interrupted by the nearby train station and the ambiance was interrupted by a radio playing behind our tent.
This could be an excellent stop over place, but its untidiness, poor food and lack of wifi do not recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mgambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Our visit to Man Eaters was a very pleasant and enjoyable stay. The setting is unique, along the river. A very relaxing, peaceful getaway. Would definitely go back! It is exciting to learn of the history of the name, "Man Eaters" , as well!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

it is the best camp I used in my last trip.
the camp is by the river, each tented room got a patio and the restaurant got a lovely view on the river (at night a leopard use to walk around to let you get some photos!
excellent services and food too!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agogi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Just two km off the main Nairobi Mombasa highway, almost exactly half way, and with traffic as it is these day on this road, it was a welcome relief!
Also value for money!

This Tented camp although outside the park, is only a ten minute drive to either Tsavo West or East Gates.

I stayed with the family my wife, two children ages 15 and 12. The bonus for us I suppose we were one of the only guests and were treated really well.

The tents are large right on the river, and comfortable,( maybe need better pillows or bring your own), with excellent verandahs.

The swimming pool is very pleasant, with a well stocked bar, and very cold beers and cokes after a dusty, and somewhat frantic drive down the highway.

The hero of this camp is NOAH, an excellent chap who serves with a smile and a joke and catered for all our cold drinks and many questions.

The food is fine, a buffet affair, maybe the deserts could be a bit better.

With the little bit of history, as you have to drive through the old Tsavo rail way station, famous for may reasons, including, the man eating lions of old ,it really sets the scene(we saw elephant on the railway track as we drove out!).

My only small issue is would be nice to have a few more smiles from the front of house staff as you are being given your tent keys, they did seem rather down on the day of our stay.

HIghly recommended!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews