We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to unwind”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect place to unwind”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Stayed at the Tortuga Beach for a week in February and couldn't recommend a more relaxing holiday. From being greeted with a welcome drink upon arrival, I was impressed with the quality and friendliness of all the staff. Not a single person at Tortuga passed me all week without a smile or a hello.

Accommodation was excellent. There were 2 of us and we had a bedroom and a bathroom each if we'd wanted it! Large living space with either roomy balcony or terrace. Maid service was impeccable, every day the suite had been cleaned within an hour of us leaving for the pool.

The pools themselves are decent sizes, but quite cold, even in the blazing sun. There's a pool with a bar and music (quite lively) and a similarly sized quiet pool (bliss in the late afternoon.) Towels are provided, and we had service from the bar around the quiet pool which was lovely.

Food wise, I'd say one of the best AI's I've ever been to. Spices, the main restaurant, always had an impressive variety, certainly something for even the fussiest taste buds. All served hot as well, despite what ive read here. O'Grille, the beach bar/restaurant would cook you fresh meat and fish as you desired (and does table service at lunchtimes which is a nice change from the buffet.) Wasn't so impressed with Aqua, the a la carte restaurant - food wasn't brilliant but again, it was nice to have a four course meal and take your time over dinner.

As a whole, this place was perfect escapism - good food, great weather (but take warm clothes for the evenings, the wind makes it chilly), lots of drinks (cava - pretty good and the beer is excellent, despite it's 5.6% strength!), great staff and amazing beaches.

Come here and enjoy a blissful week of total relaxation. As they say over on Cape Verde.... "No Stress!"

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank discopolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TortugaManager, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear discopolis,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa and for having taken the time to write a review on our hotel.

I’m glad that your one week holiday with us was relaxing and that you were pleased with our staff, our rooms, our restaurants and our food. This year it has been exceptionally “cold” between January and February in sunny Sal, however, it will warm up soon enough for the rest of the year.

I hope that you will return to visit us again soon.

Best Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,382
    998
    430
    148
    81
See reviews for
904
1,588
30
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool UK
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I stayed here with my family just after it opened and returned for a half term week in the sun staying 15-22nd February. The improvement from a newly opened hotel to a fully fledged operation is very noticible. The staff whilst friendly on the first visit are much more switched on now but they still have they same relaxed attitude. Several names spring to mind for excellent service, Daniel, the 2 O'Grille Jose's, Gildo IAntonio & Iven from the Animation Team who all worked tirelessly and all were excellent with our son ( 5 Year old)

The rooms are still as good as I remember them previously, spacious, light, clean with 2 seperate bedrooms and bathrooms. We had a room overlooking the main pool and would sit there several nights watching the sunset - magical.

Whilst all inclusive is a great concept, we do go out of resort to experience other restaurants and on this trip it was no different. We walked out one day and had lunch at Ponta Preta Beach, a bar that is literally on the beach in the middle of nowhere, a 10 minute walk along the beach. The sea here is not as rough as by the hotel and me and my son went swimming and did a bit of bodysurfing !!! We also went around Santa Maria and tried a couple of places - just look at Tripadvisor for some further suggestions.

Back to the hotel - The food here was never cold as some have complained. We ate in Aqua for 2 nights (bookable) and at the O'Grille along with the new pool restaurant ("Waterside" I think). Spices restaurant quality is great and there is enough choice for anyone unless you subscribe to the gluttony approach that some have to AI.

I agree with some of the later comments about the pools being cold, but after a couple of times up & down the pool that didn't bother me or my son.

The weather was sunny for the week, though it was breezy at times - that is Cape Verde.

If you are looking to relax, sit in the sun & experience a bit of local culure then this is the place for you, if you want to eat as much as you can and sit around a stage whilst the entertainment team mime to dodgy pop music then you have the wrong place. It's a place to relax.

Room Tip: Upper pool floor facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank lennyg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TortugaManager, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear lennyg,

I’m very pleased that you’ve chosen to visit us again for the second time with your family, and that you have taken the time to write this review, we greatly appreciate it.

It’s very good to know that our accommodations are according to your standards, and that you and your son were pleased with our staff and their services. I will pass on your acknowledgement to them and I’m sure that they will be delighted to hear from you.

I’m happy to know that you’ve enjoyed your dining experience with us at Spices, Aqua and Ogrill and that you’ve had the chance to try out the new pool side restaurant, Waterside.

Once again thank you for writing your review, we at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa hope to have the pleasure of having you and your family as our guests again very soon.


Best Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We just had a few days to spend on the Island of Sal, so we went for the best hotel we could find. We arrived in the evening and all you could see from the sky was a dry land. So we were very surprised to actually discover the resort, very green (with some help, obviously) and with a nice beach. The suites are very nice, comfortable, as you would expect. And of course, it remains a resort: alike bungalows as far as you could see, restaurants full on peak hours, average food & drinks, which makes sense in an all inclusive concept.
Just a few advice: avoid peak hours for breakfast/lunch/dinner by going earlier or later, preferably have breakfast in the pool restaurant, you have less choice, but at least, you could sit ourdoor when having breakfast and don't have to line up.
And be patient with the staff, they are really nice and are really willing to help you, so just keep in mind you're on holidays, and don't stress if things take a bit of time.
To make the best out of your stay, get out of the resort!
Do walk out of the resort beach, if you head on the left side along the water, you will find beautiful spots.
Do visit Santa Maria, it is a nice little village, and if you walk down the main street, you will find the surfers spot: rental material for wind sports and a nice little bar/restaurant facing the water.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TortugaManager, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear J H,


Thank you for having chosen to stay with us at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa and for having taken the time to write this review on our hotel.

I’m happy that you were pleased with our gardens, our rooms and our beach. I agree with you, those who would prefer to have a quiet lunch should always try to avoid the peak hours.

We hope that you will return to visit us again in the near future.


Best Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I've just retruned from a stay at this wonderful hotel. I'm not normally one for writting things on review sites, just reading them. however, after staying at the Tortuga, It has encouraged me to break the habit! The room was stunning, felt really luxury and was always kept imacculate and i know it seems daft, but if you are of the same mind you'll know what i mean, but the shower was brilliant, a true power shower, a must after any day at the beach or up at the salt lake! The food was fantastic! all really fresh and often cooked infront of you to your taste! The pool was great, and plenty of beds and fresh towels. as for the YHI spa, i treated myself to a deep tissue massage which was extremely relaxing and good value. lastly the staff throughout the resort were extremely helpful and couldnt do enough to make my stay as relaxing as possible! All in all, i will definately be paying the Tortuga a return visit!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Bigalwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TortugaManager, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Bigalwood,


Thank you for having chosen to stay with us at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa and for having taken the time to write this review, we greatly appreciate it.

I’m very pleased that you were satisfied with our room and the shower, as well as the restaurants and the service offered by the Yhi Spa. Our staff always strives to offer our guests the best holiday experience through their services, attentiveness and friendliness.

My staff and I are already looking forward for your return visit in the near future.


Best Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a 7-day all-inclusive holiday at this small hotel. We were worried having read some poor reviews but our fears weren’t justified. Our 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom suite was spacious, clean and comfortable and looked out onto one of the pools.
The food was excellent with a good choice although the buffet restaurant tended to get a little crowded at times but this may be solved when the extension is finished. There are other restaurants available at the hotel if you prefer. The tuna and swordfish were beautifully cooked and very tasty and there was always a choice of meats and salads with plenty of fresh fruits and lots of different desserts. Pasta was always available for the less adventurous. All the staff we met were friendly, helpful and alert.
Having eaten a great deal more than we should have, we would try to walk it off by strolling along the beach. It was quite windy and overcast whilst we were there but we still enjoyed our stress-free break. We took the hotel bus into town and walked back along the beach over the huge sand dune whilst watching the acrobatics of the kite surfers.
The island is quite barren but is very interesting and easy to explore using one of the reasonably priced 4X4 hire cars if you want to go it alone. Due to the size of the island it is almost impossible to get lost.
A very relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank LadyMaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TortugaManager, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear LadyMaude,


Thank you for having chosen to spend your 7 day all-inclusive holidays with us at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa and for having taken the time to write this review.

The reviews written by our guests, are according to their personal opinion and preferences, even though they aren’t always what we expect, we greatly appreciate them for they serve as guidelines for us to improve the quality of our services, and positive reviews serve as a motivation for us and they mean that we are on the right track.

I’m very pleased that you’ve enjoyed your dining experience at our restaurants and that you were pleased with the service offered by our staff.

I sincerely hope that you and your husband will return to visit us again soon for some more relaxing holidays.


Best Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
2.5 km away
Hotel Morabeza
Hotel Morabeza
#4 of 20 in Santa Maria
736 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
#6 of 20 in Santa Maria
2,430 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
#12 of 20 in Santa Maria
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
#14 of 20 in Santa Maria
1,897 reviews
2.9 km away
Odjo d'Agua Hotel
Odjo d'Agua Hotel
#11 of 20 in Santa Maria
471 reviews
0.4 km away
Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Urbanizacao da Cabocan | ZDTI Ponta Preta, Cape Verde - Sal, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4111, Cape Verde
Phone Number:
Region: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Maria
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Maria
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5 star Melia Tortuga All-Inclusive Resort is located in the southeast of the island Sal, only a few minutes from the colourful town Santa María and Amilcar Cabral international airport. During your stay you will find relaxation and fun right on the fabulous Algodoeiro beach, with its white sand and turquoise waters. The resort offers spectacular suites and villas with up to 4 bedrooms, private garden and swimming-pool. Set in gardens there are 2 magnificent adult pools and 2 pools for children. Experience Yhi Wellness with sauna, Turkish bath, whirlpool, thermal circuit, fitness facilities, massage and beauty treatments. Dining options include a variety of 4 restaurants and bars, offering a selection of international and local cuisine. The Melia Tortuga All-Inclusive is also the perfect destination for windsurfing, kitesurfing or scuba diving. Events for up to 200 people can be organised in 2 meeting rooms with natural daylight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Melia, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa Cape Verde/Ilha Do Sal - Santa Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing