We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Beer Selection” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bacchus Restaurant Bar & Billiards

Bacchus Restaurant Bar & Billiards
Ranked #10 of 96 Restaurants in New Paltz
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Beer Selection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Bacchus is THE place to go if you like beer, though their prices can be a little steep depending on your selection. The restaurant offers a great menu as well as bar food. Good live bands on friday and saturday nights.

Helpful?
Thank Lanes1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    47
    30
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Go there for the beer or bar atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

People go here for the beer selection. The food, not so much. However, their bar menu is probably better than most. Regular menu- overpriced and the food is average. Try to crab avocado dip- yum!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing beer selection, good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

Went in a party of four for dinner and drinks. One of the specials on tap was a cider- something I highly appreciate as I'm a fan. They have a separate menu for their beers- three+ pages in tiny font.
There are two levels to Bacchus- the main floor with attached billiards hall (the latter being very chilly) and a second floor that overlooked the first. We went and were told that we could sit anywhere and chose the second floor. The service was slower, but that could be chalked up to our location- we were the only people in our section. As the night progressed and the second floor became busier, the frequency of water fill-ups and drink refreshing became better as well.
The food- I had the steak, which was properly cooked to order- medium rare- something that is not often done correctly. The others in the party had the pumpkin ravioli (I'm told it was delicious) and, for the vegetarian, a salad with fried goat cheese.
We did not feel rushed out when we had finished our meal, and the server had no problem splitting our bill into the four separate checks.

Very nice place, cozy, interesting bathroom graffiti, good food and great drinks.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank xidaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Beer Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

If you want to hit the New Paltz bar scene Baccus is a must. This place has every beer you can imagine! The staff is friendly, the food is delicious, and they have a good sized billiards room with wait staff. Besides the attitude from the young girl waitress in the billiards room when I asked how much to play, I had the best time. They even have live music at night too and a small outdoor seating section, what else do you need?

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridge, NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Have been going to New Paltz for over 30 years and this was my first time to Bacchus...With 400 beers on the menu and an extensive wine list you can't go wrong. I had the wine tasters special and it was perfect. Three delightfully served wines..Excellent chef..we enjoyed the filet mignon ( cooked perfectly) and the tuna...Nice selection of appetizers and deserts also.......We sat in the window section which gave us a nice view of the comings and goings.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank keys4mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bacchus Restaurant Bar & Billiards also viewed

 

Been to Bacchus Restaurant Bar & Billiards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing