We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Coco Villa(Mahebourg)
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Auberge Le Saladier(Mahebourg)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
3Ds International Tourist Home(Mahebourg)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Caze Roche(Mahebourg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mascareign(Mahebourg)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveller rating
200
60
19
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
60
19
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall hotelcomfort roomcoral reefblue bayfishboutique hotelluxe roomsilver serviceevening meal at breakfastindian oceanspecial mealidyllic locationlunch menurelaxing holidaybeach shoesstayed here for two weeksbus or taxi
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 289 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

A great small hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is located right by the sea and you are just metres away from the coral so if you like snorkelling it's great (plus they provide free equipment). The staff where very helpful organising taxis and an excursion for us to go see the giant tortoises on a nearby island. The all inclusive pack was great and they are also happy to prepare a different meal if you don't fancy what is on the menu. They made a birthday cake for my partner making her day special without being asked. The room was nice and spacious we stayed in one of the first floor rooms with great sea views.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jonomo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... P, Guest Relations Manager at Astroea Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Dear jonomo88,

Thank you for having chosen Astroea Beach and for posting your review following your recent stay with us.
We very much appreciate your valuable comments and we are delighted to know that our staff met your expectations.

Your kind words have been conveyed to the team who are all eager to welcome you again soon.

With kind regards
Nanda Appadoo
Hotel Manager


(jjeanmore@southerncrosshotels.mu)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017

We have selected Astroea Beach Hotel to spend our whole honeymoon there. Our main criteria was to have privacy in an atmosphere that can be seen in Bounty-commercials.

After the first few hours, we have already started to plan our next trip due to the very positive shock that we experienced. The location of the hotel, the kindness of the staff, the hospitality and the nature was a real dream.

We recommend this particular hotel for couples and honeymooners and those people who really want to relax, calm down and would like to avoid the crowd and wants to have a unique holiday.

The location of the hotel is very comfortable (the airport is few minutes with a car, and Mahebourg the city is in the near as well, if you would like to go shopping), and has an own beach which is a good spot to do snorkeling. (The snorkeling equipment and kayak is free of charge!). 24/7 security and reception service is a minimum, like the beach towel. The WiFi connection is reliable and free of charge of course.

We have selected one of the bungalows (No. 202). However the hotel has apartments in the main building too. All the bungalows and apartments are with own terrace. Most of them is at the beach-front. All of them are few metres from the beach.

The dishes were very delicious, fresh and tasty, we never eat there anything bad.

We recommend you to rent a car being able to have small trips in parallel to your beach-life.

The hotel accepts local currency and also the main ones, like EUR.

We tried the massage as well that the travel agent and the hotel organized. After this experienced, we decided to have it more times. The 90 minutes relaxing massage is equal to the nirvana. :o)

We could not ask anything that the staff of the hotel could not make it possible. We visited several countries already, including ones far away from Europe. However, we never experienced such a customer-oriented behavior.

After we arrived back to our home country, we agreed that this hotel was the best choice for our honeymoon.

We hope you will also like as much as liked it! Enjoy and relax it! :o)

Room Tip: Room number 202
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fejeregyhazikozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... P, Guest Relations Manager at Astroea Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Dear fejeregyhazikozo,

Thank you for having chosen Astroea Beach for this special occasion and also for posting a review on Trip advisor. We are delighted to read your appreciation on the different services offered and that our overall team’s professionalism, and helpfulness contributed to make your stay memorable.

We will share your comments to all our team members here at Astroea Beach and we are looking forward to welcome you back in a near future for your wedding anniversaries..

Sincerely yours,
Nanda Appadoo
Hotel Manager


(jjeanmore@southerncrosshotels.mu)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

We booked here for our honeymoon. We were told at point of booking to expect a 3star hotel that is of 5star quality - the food and service is of 5 star quality as is the view, however the room was dirty and simply wasn't up to any hotel standard whether it be 3 or 5 star! If the furnishings of the rooms and also the floor of the balcony area (Room A110) were to be modernised and CLEAN this hotel would undoubtedly be 5 star due to the hotel staff and the hotel location.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Lulu_Stevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit here in Nov 16. Best suited to couples with no kids i.e. a small hotel without loads of facilities. Extremely relaxing, with absolutely first class, friendly service from an excellent team without exception. Food was great. Rather unusual that you order your dinner at breakfast, but I guess with only 16 rooms, they need to get their ordering right. If anything on the menu didn't appeal, they would willingly arrange something else. As an extra, their grilled lobster was to die for! Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Standard room not so good (had shower problems), we moved to a comfort room.. Better for beach view too,
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... P, Guest Relations Manager at Astroea Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2016

Dear Stephen L,

We would like to express our appreciation to you for having chosen Astroea Beach and also for sharing your recent experience among us to the Trip Advisor community. It is very encouraging for us to read that our services and benefits fully lived up to your expectations.

Your warm compliments will be shared to all Astroea team to continually motivate them in providing the excellent service that our guests deserve.

We look forward to having you back with us soon.

With kind regards

Nanda Appadoo
Hotel Manager



(jjeanmore@southerncrosshotels.mu)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2016

My partner and I visited this hotel over Easter. We struggle to imagine experiencing another getaway as blissful as this one! The hotel was ideal; with a boutique intimate set-up, you don't get the feeling of overcrowding at any time and it's the perfect environment to relax and unwind. Pointe d'Esny has some incredible beaches and a short walk to the left leads you to a starfish beach, where you can literally dig your feet into the sand and discover an array of starfish. It wasn't uncommon to be the only people on one of these beaches, a luxury you don't experience very often.

The hotel food was delicious, especially the seafood. We absolutely adored the king tiger prawns and the special Lobster dinner and have been raving about these meals to our friends and family ever since. The staff were equally as amazing and catered to our every request, including the special Lobster dinner prepared for us on our last evening, with a bespoke menu and a beautifully presented table they really went all out to make our stay wonderful. The cocktail bar is ideal for a pre/post dinner drink and kept us watered whilst we chatted through the evening.

All in all a wonderful vacation and a really stunning part of the island. Thank you Astroea, we hope to return one day!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ttroe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... P, Guest Relations Manager at Astroea Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2016

Dear Tem T,

Thank you for having chosen Astroea Beach and also for posting a review on Trip advisor. We are delighted to read your appreciation on the different services offered and that our overall team’s professionalism, and helpfulness contributed to make your stay memorable.

We will share your comments to all our team members here at Astroea Beach and we are looking forward to welcome you back in a near future.

Sincerely yours,

Nanda Appadoo
Hotel Manager


(jjeanmore@southerncrosshotels.mu)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews