We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love it here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Astroea Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Mahebourg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2017

After our second visit to Astroea Beach Hotel, it has become a firm favourite in our family. We love the friendly and caring staff, who go out of their way to make you feel at home and welcome. Each of them bring such warmth to the environment and overall experience! The rooms are, I would say, of 3-star quality but are completely comfortable and perfect for a beach holiday. You don't feel too precious walking into the bungalow with a body covered in beach sand and sunscreen. The food is for the most part, delicious. Obviously there will be meals one doesn't particularly enjoy, but that is nature of having individual tastes. We spent Christmas at Astroea, and they went out of their way to make our time with them extra special; with hand-written notes, beautifully decorated tables and a scrumptious Christmas eve meal we had a wonderful Christmas. Having chosen the all-inclusive package, we had no issues with enjoying majority of what the hotel had to offer in terms of food and drinks. Our only complaint, especially as South Africans and wine-lovers, we felt the wine on offer in the all-inclusive package was of a very poor quality. The whiskey was also not very nice. There are definitely better budget-friendly options out there. All in all, our family loved our 9 days at Astroea and can't wait to return. Thank you!

Room Tip: The bungalows / rooms at the front (rather than the back) have better access to the beach and nicer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CoolioCandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... P, Guest Relations Manager at Astroea Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Dear CoolioCandy,

Thank you for your loyalty to Astroea Beach and also for sharing your experience to other reviewers. We are delighted to read your appreciation on the different services offered and that our overall team’s professionalism, and helpfulness contributed to make your stay memorable once again.

We will share your comments to all our team members here at Astroea Beach and we are looking forward to welcome you back in a near future.

Sincerely yours,
Nanda Appadoo
Hotel Manager


(jjeanmore@southerncrosshotels.mu)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

A great small hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is located right by the sea and you are just metres away from the coral so if you like snorkelling it's great (plus they provide free equipment). The staff where very helpful organising taxis and an excursion for us to go see the giant tortoises on a nearby island. The all inclusive pack was great and they are also happy to prepare a different meal if you don't fancy what is on the menu. They made a birthday cake for my partner making her day special without being asked. The room was nice and spacious we stayed in one of the first floor rooms with great sea views.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jonomo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... P, Guest Relations Manager at Astroea Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Dear jonomo88,

Thank you for having chosen Astroea Beach and for posting your review following your recent stay with us.
We very much appreciate your valuable comments and we are delighted to know that our staff met your expectations.

Your kind words have been conveyed to the team who are all eager to welcome you again soon.

With kind regards
Nanda Appadoo
Hotel Manager


(jjeanmore@southerncrosshotels.mu)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017

We have selected Astroea Beach Hotel to spend our whole honeymoon there. Our main criteria was to have privacy in an atmosphere that can be seen in Bounty-commercials.

After the first few hours, we have already started to plan our next trip due to the very positive shock that we experienced. The location of the hotel, the kindness of the staff, the hospitality and the nature was a real dream.

We recommend this particular hotel for couples and honeymooners and those people who really want to relax, calm down and would like to avoid the crowd and wants to have a unique holiday.

The location of the hotel is very comfortable (the airport is few minutes with a car, and Mahebourg the city is in the near as well, if you would like to go shopping), and has an own beach which is a good spot to do snorkeling. (The snorkeling equipment and kayak is free of charge!). 24/7 security and reception service is a minimum, like the beach towel. The WiFi connection is reliable and free of charge of course.

We have selected one of the bungalows (No. 202). However the hotel has apartments in the main building too. All the bungalows and apartments are with own terrace. Most of them is at the beach-front. All of them are few metres from the beach.

The dishes were very delicious, fresh and tasty, we never eat there anything bad.

We recommend you to rent a car being able to have small trips in parallel to your beach-life.

The hotel accepts local currency and also the main ones, like EUR.

We tried the massage as well that the travel agent and the hotel organized. After this experienced, we decided to have it more times. The 90 minutes relaxing massage is equal to the nirvana. :o)

We could not ask anything that the staff of the hotel could not make it possible. We visited several countries already, including ones far away from Europe. However, we never experienced such a customer-oriented behavior.

After we arrived back to our home country, we agreed that this hotel was the best choice for our honeymoon.

We hope you will also like as much as liked it! Enjoy and relax it! :o)

Room Tip: Room number 202
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fejeregyhazikozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... P, Guest Relations Manager at Astroea Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Dear fejeregyhazikozo,

Thank you for having chosen Astroea Beach for this special occasion and also for posting a review on Trip advisor. We are delighted to read your appreciation on the different services offered and that our overall team’s professionalism, and helpfulness contributed to make your stay memorable.

We will share your comments to all our team members here at Astroea Beach and we are looking forward to welcome you back in a near future for your wedding anniversaries..

Sincerely yours,
Nanda Appadoo
Hotel Manager


(jjeanmore@southerncrosshotels.mu)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

We booked here for our honeymoon. We were told at point of booking to expect a 3star hotel that is of 5star quality - the food and service is of 5 star quality as is the view, however the room was dirty and simply wasn't up to any hotel standard whether it be 3 or 5 star! If the furnishings of the rooms and also the floor of the balcony area (Room A110) were to be modernised and CLEAN this hotel would undoubtedly be 5 star due to the hotel staff and the hotel location.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Lulu_Stevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit here in Nov 16. Best suited to couples with no kids i.e. a small hotel without loads of facilities. Extremely relaxing, with absolutely first class, friendly service from an excellent team without exception. Food was great. Rather unusual that you order your dinner at breakfast, but I guess with only 16 rooms, they need to get their ordering right. If anything on the menu didn't appeal, they would willingly arrange something else. As an extra, their grilled lobster was to die for! Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Standard room not so good (had shower problems), we moved to a comfort room.. Better for beach view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... P, Guest Relations Manager at Astroea Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2016

Dear Stephen L,

We would like to express our appreciation to you for having chosen Astroea Beach and also for sharing your recent experience among us to the Trip Advisor community. It is very encouraging for us to read that our services and benefits fully lived up to your expectations.

Your warm compliments will be shared to all Astroea team to continually motivate them in providing the excellent service that our guests deserve.

We look forward to having you back with us soon.

With kind regards

Nanda Appadoo
Hotel Manager



(jjeanmore@southerncrosshotels.mu)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahebourg
1.6 km away
Preskil Beach Resort
Preskil Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Mahebourg
2,603 reviews
5.8 km away
Holiday Inn Mauritius Mon Tresor
Holiday Inn Mauritius Mon Tresor
#1 of 1 in Plaine Magnien
385 reviews
43.4 km away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 km away
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Grande Riviere Sud Est
546 reviews
24.1 km away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#1 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
890 reviews
1.4 km away
Le Peninsula Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astroea Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astroea Beach Hotel

Address: Coastal road, Pointe d'Esny, Mahebourg, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Grand Port District > Mahebourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Mahebourg
Price Range: €93 - €189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Astroea Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away and forget everything else in this exclusive boutique hotel, hidden between the powdery white sand and magical turquoise lagoon of Pointe D'Esny, in the south-east of Mauritius. Exclusively for adults, this haven of peace in the evocative charm is ideal for couples on honeymoon to reconnect and escape the pace of modern life. Between idleness, play, pleasure reading, surrounded by staff dedicated to your every single whim and fancy, time stands still, and indulge in all your desires and pleasures without a second thought. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astroea Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astroea Beach Hotel Mauritius/Mahebourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing