We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
25
7
3
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
7
3
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews night's rest sardine run hot water fish the river frustration meals
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

Neat, very warm, staff is efficient and friendly. Price reasonably well. It's no 5star but you will enjoy a good night's rest. The view however is of 5 star quality, a fishing lake with boats and ducks wondering about.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank LwaziM20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon M, Owner at The Spotted Grunter Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Hi Lwazi, thank you for staying at the Spotted Grunter Resort and for your positive review. We are making improvements daily and hope to se you again soon!

Regards

Vernon Malyon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

Such an awesome, quiet place with all the luxuries of a top star place.

Food was great, staff is super friendly (like small town friendly). Other guests all talkative, very funny barman.

It was really relaxing to be there even though it was for work. With the distant ocean in your ears, the river flowing by in your eyesight and looking up into the massive cliffs it really makes you forget about the frustrations of life and work.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank DiamandiCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon M, Owner at The Spotted Grunter Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Greetings DiamandiCD, thank you for your positive review, hope to see you again soon!

Regards

Vernon Malyon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay, good service and friendly people. We used the Dinner Bed and Breakfast and the food was excellent. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. We can recommend any time.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sandraoQ1731LH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon M, Owner at The Spotted Grunter Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Good day Riaan and Sandra, thank you for your positive response. We are continuously making improvements to make your stay a memorable one. I will forward your comments with regards to the food to our chefs, thank you! Hope to see you again soon!

Regards

Vernon Malyon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016

Stayed in room 1, next to the bar and main enterance, music loud until early morning. Booked for 4 addults and got a room big enough for max 2 + 2 children. Only 2 patio chairs, no aircon, 2 bath towels and no toiletries and coffee, tea sugar or milk. Misleading Advertisement that all toiletries and coffee will be provided as well as how it look. No cuboards, drawers or bedside tables. Main bedroom size 2x3m infested with musquitoes. Tv so small can't see on it. 2nd bedroom consist of 2 Singlebeds, dining table inbetween the 2 beds, kitchen and lounge in one space. No privacy as people dining can look into the 2nd bedroom/kitchen/lounge. Bathroom small but the shower even smaller 600x600mm, can't evn move in the shower. Hot water intermitted because of low waterpresure for the gasgeyser. No breakfast included. All this for R2000.00/night. After complaining the manager/owner was appologetic and said they will look at the pricing and problems. The best part of the stay is the garden and the river in front of the property.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 1-10,
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 612marindap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 31 December 2016

Thank you Marinda fro your review.

Firstly, your booking was not confirmed as no proof of payment of deposit was submitted as per our request at the time of your enquiry. On your arrival, which was at peak season, we went out of our way to accommodate you and and showed you the only room we had available. A large sign at the entrance to our establishment indicated that there would be live music that particular evening. When you enquired if there was air-conditioning in the room we had made available to you, we responded that it did not, however there are two ceiling fans in the cabin, we gave you the opportunity to inspect the cabin, which you did. We also advised you to try our neighbouring resort as they perhaps they could assist with an air-con equipped room, which you did.

You returned to us accepting the cabin we made available to you. The self-catering cabins are exactly that, they do not include tea, coffee or shampoo. We accept that there should have been four towels and apologise for that. Our self-catering units have 2 chairs inside and 2 chairs outside on the patio. There are also common areas on the premises with numerous tables and chairs. We are not aware of any misleading advertising, we have different options available at the resort, self-catering, bed and breakfast as well as dinner bed and breakfast. Each of which entitles the guest to different options. Each cabin is provided with a electric mosquito repellent as well as pads, which is very effective if used correctly. We don't know the exact size of the bedroom but it does accommodate a double bed quite comfortably. The shower is 900mm x 900mm, not 600mm x 600mm and is a standard shower unit. The TV screens are small but they are adequate and we have never received any complaints about their size. All the showers are gas heated and if operated properly are very effective.

As pointed out to you on your arrival, myself and my wife Cindy are the new owners of Spotted Grunter. We took over on 1 August 2016, in that short while we have made numerous positive changes to the resort and are constantly putting a lot of time, money and effort into improving the resort. As you say, Cindy did speak to you about your concerns on your departure and we value all feedback, positive or negative as we strive to make the Spotted Grunter the destination of choice for all visitors to Port St Johns and again apologise for any inconvenience. Please pop in the next time you are in Port St Johns so we can show you some of our other rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Its so relaxing and chilling there and lots to go view in and out doors river rides are available canoe rides bird life , fishing release fishing , lovely views , booze cruise , short distance from town , lovely atmosphere , nice people that run the place , its so chilled and mind relaxing , lots to do , different life style when it comes to blowing off the stress , TV available DS TV .

Room Tip: Rustic relaxing romantic river views from rooms
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 509garyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 January 2017

Thank you Gary for visiting us and enjoying this wonderful part of the world. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews