We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
28
44
34
16
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
44
34
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmemory foamhistoric hotelrooms are quiethot tuban older hotelgreat ratewould stay here againup to datemain streetjillmoritzlakemattressesclosetrateskeyssauna
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2017 via mobile

We recently stayed at this inn while attending winter events in Lake Placid. The entry way and adjacent living room with fireplace is inviting. Check in is informal. Each room is decorated differentlly, uniquely and adequately. Rooms are quiet. There is a hot tub and pool table. There is a tavern located on the first floor which serves good food.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank luv2flyNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

We were on a NY road trip passing through Lake Placid. We stayed one night. I'm sorry but I would not stay here again. It was not what we expected and we did not have much choice of hotels for our date I think because it was a holiday weekend. The bed was comfortable but there were holes in the ceiling and floor for the plumbing, you could feel the dirt on the mini blinds. It rained and the rain water coming in the window near the a/c then showed all the dirt on the blinds. You could hear when people took a shower in another room and used the toilet from another room. The floors in the hallway made a creaking noise. We could hear the people go to their rooms at 2:00 a.m. The staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: maybe stay on the top floor so you can't hear other people using the shower/toilet???
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TravelGirlJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Bad part:
wow, where to begin? Door was jammed, almost impossible to open or close. The tiles in the bath are almost all loose--like they weren't actually glued down. The walls and floors are thin. We clearly heard every person who walked up the stairs, or in their rooms, at all hours. (BTW--putting up a polite sign about not talking and treading softly in the hallway would be a REALLY good idea!) Breakfast in any form? No--just the product of an ancient coffee/tea maker. We had the impression that the owners are just riding out their investment until the last drop.
And all this for $355 (including tax) for two nights. (!)
We would perhaps stay here again....if all other hotels in Lake Placid burned down.

Good part:
good location, walking distance to either Mirror Lake or Lake Placid; easy to park; friendly staff;

Room Tip: rooms on higher floors, should be less noise; rooms in different hotels!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

My wife and I decided to join some old friends for a weekend in Lake Placid (in August). It seemed like most things were sold out (and/or very expensive) so I called the Pines Inn. I loved the style of the place, having been there a few time to eat at the always good 'Redneck Bistro'. It is an old Euro style hotel which has remained pretty old fashioned. I got the manager on the phone and she promptly found us a room and at a great rate.

The hotel itself is wonderful. There is a huge lounge inside with old style furniture and decor (you can almost imagine Teddy Roosevelt striding in) and a nice porch outside with great seating. There is no elevator and you have to use some narrow staircases to get to your room. Rooms are very small and simply furnished. Everything is clean and tidy although there are some small things like peeling wallpaper here and there... which adds a bit of charm to be honest.

Service is very good: very polite and friendly. Rates are great for Lake Placid. Yes, you have to do without electronic doors, elevators, and the latest gimmicks and technology. They do have free Wi-Fi and AC. Rooms are small but very nice. If you are coming to Lake Placid to explore, this is a great place to stay. It has free parking and is within walking distance of downtown.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Went hiking in the Adirondacks with a bunch of friends, and the Pines was the ideal location for everything we needed to do. The porch was great to hang out and have our morning coffee, as well as have a nightcap at the bar downstairs, and the hosts were extremely attentive and friendly. It was a quick walk into town when we wanted to go exploring, and a 10-20 minute drive to the hiking trails we wanted to hit up.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BlairW213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill S, Owner at The Pines Inn of Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you! Love that you enjoyed the Inn and the Adirondacks! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews