We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
121
28
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
28
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews communal kitchen two twin beds main street leaving towels stocked with dishes adirondack chairs boat rentals room number great place to stay short walk to downtown absolutely stay here again lake placid area quiet location heated pool stayed here for nights excellent stay fire pit
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the Town House Lodge in Lake Placid when we came to town for a wedding. The Town House Lodge was centrally located, right in the middle betwern the two venues we were attending functions at. The room we had was very small, wood paneled, very basic, utilitarian. Not nearly as spacious or nicely decorated as the ones shown in the photos I saw on Trip Advisor which gave the look of a nice bright lodge decor. This is a true motor lodge. You pull right up to the door of your room. However, it was sufficient for the time we spent there. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom, while very clean and functional, was very cramped, the corner shower door opening right into the toilet. Overall, I was a bit disappointed in the room, but the people were very nice and the grounds were perfectly kept, including a nice bon fire in the evenings complete with ingredients to make your own s'mores! A very clean, classic, cute traditional motor lodge.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Cindycct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackI348, Owner at Town House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Cindy, we do have a great location for Lake Placid! Being right in the middle of everything which makes it easy to get to most locations by walking. I'm sorry to hear you didn't think the images on our Trip Advisor page were a great representation of the rooms. We price our rooms based on size, so the bigger ones that are a little more spacious are a little more expensive. Whereas, the ones that are a little smaller (the one you booked) are a little cheaper in price. Let us know when you come back and we would be happy to upgrade you to a bigger room based on availability! Our staff works very hard to make sure everyone is happy and the rooms are perfectly clean! We hope to see you back here again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked a trip to Lake Placid for a long week-end and a stay at the Town House Lodge. The place was just about all we needed for this trip...Clean and comfortable room.. walking distance to the downtown area and Mirror lake... The fire pit and the large Adirondack chairs around it was a plus. The communal kitchen was pretty cool and a great place to have a fresh cup of coffee every morning. Owners and staff were pleasant to deal with.. Definitely would stay there again..

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Peppers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackI348, Owner at Town House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hey Peppers 7......

We are excited that you stay was excellent! We are glad that you found the rooms to be Clean and comfortable! We are also happy that you got to take advantage of the amenities at the Lodge (Fire pit and the communal kitchen). And finally, we are happy to hear that you would definitely stay here again!!! Thank you for a great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

This was our third trip to Lake Placid, but our first stay at Town House Lodge. It exceeded our expectations, and we will definitely plan another stay for next year. Our suite was very clean, tastefully decorated, and very comfortable. We enjoyed the fire pit our first evening in town, complete with supplies for s'mores, and the communal kitchen had fresh hot coffee every morning. The owners and staff were friendly and accommodating. Town House Lodge is a complete package.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackI348, Owner at Town House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Hi Melissa! Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Lodge! The fire pit has been a great hit this summer/ fall! It's a great place to unwind after a long day in the mountains. We have a great staff who all work hard to make sure everyone is happy and comfortable during their stay. Hope to see you back here again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

This place is amazing !!! Staff is super friendly and very helpful!!! They have a heated pool with a grill, a kitchen common area with a full oven/stove, microwave, ice bin, big fridge with all the condiments you’ll need. Coffee is made and ready in the morning with real or to go cups. Common area has a comfy couch and a big TV. All dinnerware, regular, cocktail and wine glasses are provided. They have a great big fire pit with nice Adirondack chairs around it and they make a fire in the evening complete with a wheel barrow full of wood left for guests to enjoy. They even have the stuff so you can make s’mores laying out. There is a view from the fire pit looking across the street down the hill to the lake with the mountain behind it. The rooms are nice and very clean. It is walking distance to the the quaint downtown Lake Placid area. I give it a 11 out of 10 !!!

Room Tip: The couple of rooms I saw were just as clean and nice as ours
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackI348, Owner at Town House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Hey Ken! Happy you chose to stay with us during your stay in Lake Placid! We promise that the next time you're here will be have someone other than Alex lite the fire for you at night... although it was entertaining! We love having the new communal kitchen because it's a great place for guests to gather. Thanks for giving us an 11 out of 10! We hope to see you back here again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

We booked based on trip advisor reviews but I was skeptical because the price seemed too good to be true. We loved this place! The room was spotless and had small touches like quality soaps, towels and kitchenette items. Grounds well maintained and although we didn’t use the pool it is pretty and private. Easy walk into town. The owner Jack chatted with us in the morning and gave us good hiking suggestions. We took his advice and had a wonderful day. Do not hesitate to book here- just lovely!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank cjtjjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackI348, Owner at Town House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

So happy to hear you loved your stay at the Lodge. We try to keep the prices down so that the rooms can be affordable to everyone! We believe it's the small touches that make people feel most at home. We have a great pool area, and are so sad when we have to close it for the season! Jack has lived here his whole life, so he knows all the secret spots on where to go! Stop in the office any time and we can give you suggestions on what to do. Thanks for the awesome review, and we hope to see you here again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews