We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$298
US$260
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel North Woods(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$188
US$178
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Adirondack Inn(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$242
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$419
US$359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Peaks Resort(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$321
US$277
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Lake House(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$275
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$598
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,278)
Filter reviews
1,278 results
Traveller rating
1,035
149
51
29
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,035
149
51
29
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbowling alleymovie theaterthe indoor outdoor poolkanu restaurantkanu loungebedroom suitethe ice cream parlorfull kitchenwasher dryergames roomturn down servicevalet servicekamp kanutwo lanefree popcornheated floorscookies
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 1,278 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2017

We had a three night stay in mid October that exceeded our expectations. We've been to Lake Placid several times, this was our first stay at the Whiteface Lodge. Our suite was perfect and every room looked out on to Whiteface Mountain. Hey, I can see Whiteface Mountain from my walk in shower (with the bathroom door open!) Rooms and common areas are beautifully decorated, and everything was clean. We ate breakfast each morning at the buffet in Kanu, had dinner one night in Kanu, and another night in the Kanu Lounge. The food was good at each. I do have to say that our server in the restauarant and another staff person at breakfast were not up to the friendly and professional standards that *every* other staff member we encountered exemplified. Minor, yet worth mentioning because they definitely didn't fit the norm. Our server in the Lounge, Sable (pretty sure that's correct!) was absolutely outstanding! My husband and I each had spa services, at different times on different days. I had a glitch with my spa reservation, but it was quickly resolved by Jodi, one of the hotel managers, and Mark, the spa manager, so many thanks to them! All of our treatments were very enjoyable.
The pool and hot tubs were immaculate and it was fun to sit in the hot tub with snowflakes landing on my head!
We have all intentions of a return visit within the next year. Obviously, we love this place!

Room Tip: The views of Whiteface are just spectacular, especially on a frosty fall morning.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Linyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

We spent thanksgiving at the Whiteface Lodge. The rooms and very large and nice. They even leave you a “late night snack” if you arrive late which is a nice touch. There are lots of activities at the hotel - movies, game room, etc. Lake Placid is a nice place to visit for a long weekend even if you do not ski.

I️ have to comment about one thing that we really didn’t like. Our package came w breakfast. The buffet was not terrible but we opted to order off the menu. After waiting an extremely long to be served (well after the buffet ended) we were definitely served items from the buffet (mangled bacon, cold potatoes). It was absolutely disgusting. Such a shame being that the property was very nice. We decided to pay for breakfast off site after that. We did mention it to the property but did not get a response.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Happytravelinfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

November (2017) was our 3rd trip to Whiteface. We are always treated well by the everyone there and the resort itself is top notch. We purposely go during the slow season in order to relax, and it really is like a private vacation. Our 4th trip is already booked for January (2018.) This time we are bringing kids to ski at the mountain but I think they will love the game room and the theatre at the hotel. Fantastic place.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lisadaniels88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

My Wife and I stayed at the Whiteface Lodge between November 5th - November 7th. We arrived around 3:30 even though Check-In is at 4:00, and we were allowed to check in and get to our room. You are required to use your room key card to use the elevator, which on the first try did not work. That problem was quickly solved by reissuing us two new key cards.
Inside the room was Spectacular. There was a kitchenette, which had a refrigerator/freezer, Dishwasher, Stove and Oven, Microwave, Plates Glasses and Utensils, and a sink with a water filter on the faucet.
In the Bathroom the floors were heated. The bathtub was a Jacuzzi Tub. The bathroom itself was a little cramped.
The Main room was Large. There was an island and a small dinning table. A desk, Phone and notepad. There was a loveseat across from a gas fireplace with the Television above it. The bed was comfortable for being in a hotel. There were two bay windows one at the end of the bed and one on the side of the bed.
In the main hotel building were all of the amenities. Which you could walk across the courtyard or take an underground walkway. There was the Spa, Movie Theater, Game Room, Mini-shop, Fitness Room and all of the dining rooms. The Theater played three movies a day the first one starting at 3:00, The second at 6:00 and the third one at 9:00. There was also popcorn for the guests to take. The Game Room had an assortment of tabletop games including air hockey and pool. There was also a bowling alley that was closed for maintenance.
The Lounge and Dining Rooms were very Adirondack Themed. Although the complimentary breakfast was disappointing, the drinks we had in the lounge were good. The breakfast was a buffet and the food was cold.
The Staff was very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: The building with the suites is quiet and was practically unoccupied. It also has the indoor and outdoor pools and hot tubs.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank valerie2962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

First time stay, will definitely return! Amazing resort in a wonderful Adirondack setting. Staff was extremely accommodating, and friendly. The atmosphere was relaxing and beautiful, a true asset to Lake Placid. This is a must see resort!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews