We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Great Service, Thin Walls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Whiteface Lodge
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Went for a 2 day getaway with my husband. The lodge had a nice rustic decor, seemed clean and well maintained. The staff was very nice. We did feel that the place is a bit overpriced. The main problem is that the walls and doors between the rooms are not well insulated and we were able to hear our neighbors in the next room laughing and chatting which was very annoying especially at night. We complained and switched to room that was empty on either side. We were able to do this because it was quiet midweek, I would hesitate to come back here because of this. Also beware the beds are very very soft pillow top - if you like that great, if not you won't be able to sleep well.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hfd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

951 - 955 of 1,174 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2012

My husband and I were looking for a lodge for our trip to Lake Placid and Whiteface fit the bill perfectly. We had a small kitchenette, but used it only to store things and for snacks to enjoy in the room. The rooms were spacious, clean and very pretty. Great, large bathroom and 1/2 bath.
The lodge itself is really beautiful - and if you are looking for a lodge atmosphere, this is the place to stay. Every space is beautiful, well maintained, and looks like it is in pictures - really. The facilities are unequaled in Lake Placid (even at Mirror Lake). Pool, hot tubs, gym, movie theater, platform tennis, restaurant, bar (we loved hanging out in the lounge) - everything was perfect. The Lodge has access to Lake Placid, which is useful. We were there in May, and it was quiet -and we liked that. Close to hiking and LP, the town. The town is also perfect for a week trip - some restaurants and shops - nice walk around Mirror Lake.

Room Tip: We liked the mountain view - but some of them overlook the parking lot. So, ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkWeGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We visited Whiteface Lodge over the New Year’s weekend for four nights. The lodge is very pretty and designed beautifully, the rooms are spacious comfortable. The lounge is wonderful and comfortable. The building is impressive!

My disappointment is related to the quality of staff and the cleanliness of the hotel. What makes a hotel great are the details which are missed over and over again at Whiteface.

Almost the entire staff seemed new and untrained. The restaurant was poorly managed. The hostess was not easy to deal with and was in a bad mood the entire weekend, there always seemed to be a wait for breakfast even when tables were open. The breakfast (which was included in the price) was buffet and the food in trays were cold at points and were not refilled as quickly as they needed to be. The dinner served in the restaurant was ok but they served a very funky seared tuna which I wished I had returned. The wine sommelier was terrific and made a mediocre meal enjoyable. The hotel also serves food in the lounge which was also spotty in quality. Overall food quality was inconsistent, sometimes really good and sometimes not good at all. On a positive note coffee was delicious.

We visited for four nights and for one whole day our room wasn't cleaned, we asked twice for the cleaning staff to come up and they never did. We didn't receive turndown service that day nor did we receive an apology from the hotel when we expressed frustration the next day.

We used the complimentary valet service to park our car in the heated garage, which sounds great, unfortunately we had to wait 45 minutes for our car to be retrieved from the garage, anyone with kids knows this is a nightmare scenario. At one point during the weekend we called for our car and it never showed up! just pathetic.

We're fairly well traveled and take two or three trips a year, we travel to hotels with a broad range of prices and $700 is at the high end of what we pay for hotels, I believed Whiteface was going to deliver on the quality and it fell far short of it. A huge disappointment. A hotel with a rating this high should definitely be better.

There were bright points to the weekend. Tom the fireplace guy was delightful, very friendly and nice to chat with, he was full of helpful information about the hotel and town. Scott the sommelier was a treat to share time with, he was very knowledgeable and helpful to the wait staff. The coffee was very tasty.

I would not recommend Whiteface Lodge to a friend and I don't plan on going back, big disappointment.

Room Tip: I was in four rooms on this trip 2 in the main building and 2 in the back building, all were nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Docranium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin S, General Manager at The Whiteface Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

We would like to start by offering our sincerest apology regarding your disappointment during your recent stay with us. One thing the Resort and Staff take pride in is the impeccable service and ability to anticipate our guests needs. We seemed to fall short of this in your case and we all will take your comments to heart. As a General Manager it is most difficult to read this kind of feedback, not just from an operational perspective, but from the fact that we let you down. I greatly appreciate the time you took to write this comment as it makes us better at what we do, unfortunately it was at your expense. I would like to have you back on the property to allow us the opportunity to give you the service we can deliver and most importantly that you deserve.
Please let me know how I can be of assistance in getting you to The Whiteface Lodge so we can show you the service we are capable of delivering.
Thank you,
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I had the privilege of staying at the Whiteface Lodge over the new year holiday. Wow. What an experience. The first thing you will notice is the exquisite detail of the facilities. The smiling faces of the doormen welcome you to the warm feel of the lobby. Check in was easy and informative. And the rooms - well you have to experience the rooms first hand. I travel quite a bit and never feel at home..this changed everything. I will definitely be back and look forward to it. Kudos the the management and staff for running what I feel like is the first true 5 star experience I have ever had. Thank you!

Room Tip: Every room is a suite with a pull-out couch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Our family of four had an amazing time at the Whiteface Lodge. The prices are high but you get so much for it as you are being treated like royalty. What we enjoyed there: from the ice skating rink, with skates and hot chocolate, to the old-fashioned game room with many unusual table games such as curling and a bowling alley. From the outdoor jacuzzi to a full kitchen with filtered tap water. The service was great and the food even for health nuts like us outstanding. And I forgot to mention the wooden furniture, the decor and all the holiday decorum, which made it very comparable to a stay in the Swiss Alps.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamar E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
2.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 32 in Lake Placid
1,345 reviews
1.5 km away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#10 of 32 in Lake Placid
443 reviews
2.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
2.3 km away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
3.6 km away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#15 of 32 in Lake Placid
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whiteface Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whiteface Lodge

Address: 7 Whiteface Inn Lane, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1275
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: €257 - €503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Whiteface Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Adirondack Mountains, this exclusive resort is a haven of comfort and elegance. A retreat where guests can relax in sumptuous all suites resort and enjoy superb cuisine. A refined atmosphere, log architecture, fire places, world class spa, year round activities and the Canoe Beach club on Lake Placid. The Lodge is both a family friendly destination and an adult playground or romantic escape. A Member of Leading Hotels of The World and the most Luxurious Full Service Resort in the Adirondacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Whiteface Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing