We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“So scenic, convenient to the Adirondacks !!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Rustic Log Cabin

Front of cabin from Route 73
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of cabin from Route 73
McIntyre Range from back of property Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Front of cabin from Route 73
McIntyre Range from back of property
Living Room
Living Room
Master Bedroom
2nd Bed in Master Bedroom
2nd Bedroom with loft
Kitchen with Bathroom Door showing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Lake Placid, New York

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brenda M
1 review
“So scenic, convenient to the Adirondacks !!”
Reviewed 25 December 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Hi

Great stay, in July 2013 !!
Hiked Mt Marcy, went to John Brown Farm, some park trails.
The cabin is great, Liked the landscapes painted very much !!
Owners are very nice !!
Bons, our k9 kid, enjoyed it very much also !!

Brenda Macdonald

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric B
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great for families, plenty of room”
Reviewed 12 March 2016 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Stayed at the Old Wheel for a week in August 2015. Cabin itself is great. Very large, very clean. It has a large back deck and also a screened in porch in the front. I loved the location at the corner of 73 and Adirondack Loj Rd. Its only a few minutes drive to Lake Placid proper but far enough away to be out of the hustle and bustle of town. We hiked up Cascade and Giant and they were both a short drive from the cabin. The view from the back of the cabin was amazing. I would give this cabin 5 stars but its right on 73 so its not exactly the quietest location. I wouldnt call it noisy but occasionally the trucks coming down the hill would use the Jake brake which was annoying and people definitely do NOT obey the speed limit on the way down the hill. That being said I highly recommend this cabin for families, groups of friends etc.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollee011
Cottekill, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our relaxing stay at this unique cabin!”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We liked the history of this cabin and the interior set-up. It was rustic and old fashioned- a unique Adirondack experience.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShannonK1...
Hannibal, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place for our girls trip!”
Reviewed 26 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My 3 friends from high school and I all turned 40 this year and decided to take a trip together. We picked this lovely, rustic cabin since it had plenty of space and beds for the 4 of us. We were thrilled when we arrived! It was so cute inside!! All the little nick-nacks around the rooms were a nice touch! There was everything we could have ever needed, and then some! Plenty of dishes, pots & pans, blankets, pillows, you name it. This place had it. We would definitely stay here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelly f
Kingston, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Cabin”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I stayed with my friend and her 2 kids. We loved it! The cabin was very clean and comfortable. We are going back next summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$175
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing